pennsylvania

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

Top 10 Questions Asked at...

Capitol Pavilion

1. How long does it take for a home plan to get approved?
Home Plans are investigated by parole agents. After they are submitted to your parole agent, the agent
will inform center staff. The process typically takes 14-28 days to complete.

2. Where can | do community service?
Any non-profit organization such as a soup kitchen, local churches, Salvation Army or Goodwill stores.

3. What counties are in our parole district?
Dauphin, Lebanon, York, Lancaster, Adams, Cumberland, Franklin, Perry and Juniata counties.

4. May | have a bike while I’'m here and where can | get one?
Yes. Residents are allowed to keep bikes for transportation. There is a community program called
Recycle a Bike where they can complete community service hours and build a bike of their own.

5. Who is our parole agent?
You will be informed of your assigned parole agent at the time of your arrival at the facility.

6. May | drive while I’'m here?

It is possible to drive if the individual resident is in good standing with the Pennsylvania Department of
Transportation (PennDOT) and has a valid license. It is ultimately approved or denied on a case-by-case
basis by parole or the Department of Corrections (DOC).

7. Why do | have to give the facility 40% of my paycheck?

This is to help you satisfy your financial obligations. If you follow the rules, you can request for a rent
waiver and the CFC is fairly efficient at approving waivers for complaint residents. Twenty percent is for
rent to the DOC, 10% is for your savings and 10% goes toward court costs and fines.

8. How do | get my ID/license?
Each person must go to PennDot with the following:
¢ A completed application for ID form
¢ Proof of identity and legal us presence (birth cert, passport)
e Social security card
* Proof of a Pennsylvania address (lease, current utility bill to current address, W2 form or a
letter of residency from a case manager)
¢ Payment of $30.50 in a check or money order made payable to the Commonwealth of PA

9. How do | get medical insurance?
You must sign up online (www.compass.state.pa.us) in the computer lab at the facility. You will then
need to call/check on the status online in one week to see any updates.



http://www.compass.state.pa.us/

10. How do | get my prescriptions?

You need to sign up as soon as possible for medical assistance and/or make an appointment with a
licensed doctor. The only other option at this time is to go to ER to get an emergency supply to hold you
over until medical assistance begins.



