Pennsylvania

Department of Transportation Bureau of Motor Vehicles
' Bureat)ofMoto,Vehic,es P Research and Support Operations Section
www.pa.gov/dmy P.O. Box 68031, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8031

Driver and Vehicle Services Update Bulletin

Josh Shapiro, Governor Mike Carroll, Secretary

BULLETIN NO. 25-07 April 2025

Act 89 July 2025

Act 89 of 2013, which became law on November 25, 2013, biennially amends many
sections of Title 75. Act 89 represents an investment in Pennsylvania’s future:
increasing public safety, driving commerce, creating jobs, and providing reliable funding
for our transportation needs without leaving the bill to our future generations. Based
on the 2025 CPI, effective April 16, 2025, the act amends the following sections of the
Vehicle Code:

e Section 1901 — The fee for Retired Persons Processing and Processing Fee in Lieu
of Registration Fee adjusts from $11 to $12.

e Section 1912 - The fee for passenger vehicle registrations adjusts from $45 to
$48.

e Section 1913 - The fees for motor home registrations adjust as follows:

o Class 1 from $83 to $88.
o Class 2 from $116 to $123.
o Class 3 from $149 to $158.

e Section 1914 - The fee for motorcycle registrations adjusts from $24 to $25.

e Section 1915 — The fee for motor-driven cycle and motorized pedal cycle adjusts
from $10 to $11.

e Section 1916 - The registration fee for trucks and truck tractors for Class 1
through Class 25. NOTE: As a result of these adjustments, fees for farm vehicles,
commercial implements of husbandry and farm equipment dealer registrations
are also affected since these fees are based on CPI. Please refer to Form
MV-70S, “Schedule of Fees,” for new truck registration fees.

e Section 1917 - The registration fee for motor buses and limousines adjusts as
follows:

o Seating capacity is up to 26 seats — from $16 to $17 for each seat.

o Seating capacity is more than 26 but less than 52 — from $414 plus $21
for each seat beyond 26 to $440 plus $22 for each seat beyond 26.

o Seating capacity is more than 51 — from $954 to $1013.

e Section 1918 - The registration fee for school buses and school vehicles adjusts
from $42 to $45.
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e Section 1920 - The fee for trailer registrations adjusts as follows:
o Class 2 trailer registration from $14 to $15.
o Class 3 trailer registrations from $43 to $46.
o Permanent trailer registrations from $210 to $223.
e Section 1920.1 — The fee for recreational and recreational cargo trailers adjusts
as follows:
o Class 1 recreational and recreational cargo trailers registrations from $14
to $15.
o Class 2 recreational and recreational cargo trailers registrations from $41
to $44.
o Class 3 recreational and recreational cargo trailers registrations from $108
to $115.
o Permanent recreational and recreational cargo trailers registrations from
$506 to $537.

Section 1921 - The fees for special mobile equipment registrations adjust from
$66 to $70.
Section 1922 - The fee for Implements of Husbandry registrations adjusts from
$33 to $35.
Section 1924(b) - The fee for farm vehicle certificates of exemption adjusts as
follows:

o Type A and B from $31 to $33.

o Type C from $64 to $68.

o Type D from $128 to $136.
Section 1925 - The fee for ambulance, hearse and taxi registrations adjusts from
$98 to $104.
Section 1959 — The fee for Messenger Service — Annual Registration adjusts from
$246 to $261.

PennDOT will begin accepting the new fees for the below renewal fees on April 24,
2025:

e Section 1926(a): The annual Dealer and Miscellaneous Motor Vehicle Business
Dealer registration fees adjust from $66 to $70.

e Section 1926(b): The Motorcycle Dealer registration fees adjust from $33 to $35.

e Section 1926(c): The Motor-Driven Cycle and Moped Dealer registration fees
adjust from $18 to $19.

The new fees will appear on renewal notices sent to customers for the above
registrations that have a current expiration date of July 2025 or later. PennDOT wiill



begin accepting the new fee on April 16, 2025, unless otherwise noted, for renewals
listed above that expire July 2025 or later.

The new fees will appear on renewal notices sent to customers for the above
registrations that have a current expiration date of July 2025 or later. PennDOT wiill
begin accepting the new fee on May 29, 2025, for renewals listed above that expire July
2025 or later.

For a complete listing of motor vehicle fees, please refer to Form MV-70S, “"Bureau of
Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees.” The most current version of this form can be found
on our website, www.pa.gov/dmv.
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