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BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL 
AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS 

 

Instructions to Renew: 

 

Renewals are available 60 days prior to the license expiration date. You will receive an email notification from 

the Pennsylvania Licensing System (PALS) when your renewal is available. There are no paper renewal 

applications. Renewal applications must be submitted on www.pals.pa.gov.  

 
STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE: 

 
Osteopathic Acupuncturist, Osteopathic Physician Acupuncturist, Osteopathic Physician and 
Surgeon, Osteopathic Physician Assistant and Volunteer Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon - 
Licenses Expire October 31, 2024 

 
Osteopathic Athletic Trainer, Osteopathic Genetic Counselor, Osteopathic Perfusionist, Osteopathic 
Respiratory Therapist – Licenses Expire December 31, 2024 

 
 

 
 

 Users can visit the Support Tab to Contact the Board or for answers to Frequently asked Questions by 
clicking on Support located in the blue bar on the PALS website.  

A copy of the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act or Board regulations can be accessed through 
www.dos.pa.gov/ost by clicking the links titled “Law – Act 261 of 1978” or “Regulations” from the main 
page. 

For licenses that expire October 31, 2024, continuing education credits must be completed within the 

biennial period of November 1, 2022 through October 31, 2024. 

For licenses that expire December 31, 2024, continuing education credits must be completed within the 

biennial period of January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2024. 

Professional Liability Insurance requirement is one million per occurrence or claim and three million per 

annual aggregate.  For more details, please see Medical Care Availability and Reduction of Error 

(Mcare) Act. 

The list of approved Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training Continuing Education Providers 
can be found here. Do not upload your certificate of completion to your online application. Verification of 
course completion must be received electronically from the course provider.  

 

 
 
For additional details on CME requirements for each license, click here. 

 

 

HELPFUL INFORMATION 

CONTINUING EDUCATION AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 

STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE RENEWAL GUIDE 

http://www.pals.pa.gov/
https://www.pals.pa.gov/#/page/PalsSupportTicket?fc=renewals&sc=renewals9&tc=
https://www.pals.pa.gov/#/page/AnonymousSupportTicket
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ost
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/CH/Public/ucons_pivot_pge.cfm?session=2002&session_ind=0&act_nbr=0013.
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/CH/Public/ucons_pivot_pge.cfm?session=2002&session_ind=0&act_nbr=0013.
https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31.aspx
https://www.pa.gov/en/agencies/dos/department-and-offices/bpoa/boards-commissions/osteopathic-medicine/renewal-information.html
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Acupuncturists 
 Renewal Fee:  $80 
 Professional liability insurance in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is required.  

CE Requirement  
 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider (No exemption)  

 

Athletic Trainer 
 Renewal Fee:  $75 

CE Requirement  
 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider (No exemption) 
 Must hold a current BOC certification.  

 

Genetic Counselor 
 Renewal Fee:  $160 
 Professional liability insurance in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is required.    

CE Requirement  
 30 hours of continuing education applicable to the practice of genetic counseling (exempt if initial license issued 

1/1/2023 – 12/31/2024 and within 3 years of completion of genetic counseling degree program) 
 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider, which shall be counted 

towards the total 30 hours requirement (No exemption)  
 Credit will not be granted for courses in office management or practice building. 

 

Perfusionist 
 Renewal Fee:  $85 
 Professional liability insurance in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is required.    

CE Requirement  
 30 hours continuing education applicable to the practice of perfusion (exempt if initial license issued 1/1/2023 – 

12/31/2024) 
▪ 10 hours must be completed in Category 1 activities. 

 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider, which shall be counted 
towards the total 30 hours requirement (No exemption)  

 Credit will not be granted for courses in office management. 

 

Physician Acupuncturists 
 Renewal Fee:  $80 
 Professional liability insurance in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is required.    

CE Requirement  
 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider (No exemption)  

 

Physician and Surgeon  
 Renewal Fee:  $450 
 If you are actively practicing in Pennsylvania, professional liability insurance is required.    

CE Requirement  
 100 hours of Board-approved continuing education (exempt if initial license issued 11/1/2022 – 10/31/2024) 

▪ 20 hours must be completed in American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Category 1-A 
▪ 12 hours must be completed in activities related to patient safety or risk management. 
▪ The remaining hours shall be complete in AOA Category 1-A, 1-B or Category 2 or AMA Category 1 or 2 

 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider, which shall be counted 
towards the total 100 hours requirement (No exemption)  

 2 hours of Act 124 Opioid continuing education, which shall be counted towards the total 100 hours requirement 
(If you do not have a DEA registration and do not use another person or entity’s DEA registration to prescribe 
any controlled substances, you do not need to complete the Opioid CE.) 

 If your license is placed into Active-Retired status, you are exempt from all continuing education except the 2 
hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training and 2 hours of Act 124 Opioid continuing education. 

 Credit will not be granted for courses in office management or practice building.  
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Physician Assistant  
 Renewal Fee:  $80 
 Professional liability insurance in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is required.    

CE Requirement  
 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider (No exemption)  
 2 hours of Act 124 Opioid continuing education (If you do not have a DEA registration and do not use another 

person or entity’s DEA to prescribe any controlled substances, you do not need to complete the Opioid CE.)  
 Hold current NCCPA certification. 

 

Respiratory Therapist 
 Renewal Fee:  $60 
 Professional liability insurance in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is required.    

CE Requirement  
 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education 

▪ At least 10 hours must be obtained through traditional continuing education, such as classroom lecture, 
real-time web-cast or other live sessions where a presenter is involved. 

▪ No more than 20 hours will be accepted through non-traditional continuing education such as internet 
presentations, journal review programs, and prerecorded audio or video presentations. 

▪ No more than 8 hours will be accepted in advanced life support, including advanced cardiac life support, 
neonatal advanced life support/neonatal resuscitation and pediatric advanced life support. 

▪ One (1) hour must be completed in patient safety. 
▪ One (1) hour must be completed in medical ethics. 

 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider, which shall be counted 
towards the total 30 hours requirement (No exemption) 

 Credit will not be given for continuing education in basic life support, including basic cardiac life support and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

 Credit will not be given for courses in office management and financial procedures. 

 

Volunteer Physician and Surgeon 
 Renewal Fee:  $0 

CE Requirement  
 2 hours of Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training from an approved provider, which shall be counted 

towards to total CME hours requirement (No exemption)  
 2 hours of Act 124 Opioid continuing education, which shall be counted towards the total CME hours 

requirement (If you do not have a DEA registration and do not use another person or entity’s DEA to prescribe 
any controlled substances, you do not need to complete the Opioid CE.)  

 Volunteer physicians with both an active unrestricted DO license and active volunteer license must complete 
100 credit hours of continuing medical education as outlined under Physician and Surgeon. 

 Volunteer physicians who hold ONLY an active volunteer license (and the unrestricted license is in 
inactive/expired/active-retired status) are required to complete 20 hours of continuing medical education. The 20 
hours can be completed in AOA Category 1-A, 1-B or Category 2 or AMA Category 1 or 2. 

 

 

 

 


