Pennsylvania Department of State

Annual Report to the General Assembly
on Business Fee Exemptions
for Veteran- or Reservist-Owned Small Businesses

February 5, 2018

The Department of State (“Department™) submits this report to the General Assembly pursuant to
51 Pa.C.S. § 9611(e), which requires the Department to annually determine the total number of
business fee exemptions applied for and issued and the total dollar amount of the exemptions and
submit a report to the chair and minority chair of the Veterans Affairs and Emergency
Preparedness Committee of the Senate and the chair and minority chair of the Veterans Affairs
and Emergency Preparedness Committee of the House of Representatives.

By way of background, Act 135 of 2016 exempts veterans and reservists starting a small
business in the Commonwealth from the payment of a business fee. The law became effective on
January 3, 2017.

A business fee is any fee required to be paid to the Commonwealth or a political subdivision for
starting or opening a business within Pennsylvania.! The term does not include a fee for
maintaining licensure or other requirement for continuing to operate a business.? A small
business must be independently owned, not dominant in its field of operation and employ 100 or
fewer employees.> A veteran- or reservist-owned small business must be owned and
controlled by a veteran/veterans or reservist/reservists.*

A veteran is an individual who served in the United States Armed Forces, including a reserve
component or the National Guard, and who was discharged or released from service under
conditions other than dishonorable.’ A reservist is a member of a United States Armed Forces
reserve component or National Guard.®

The filing fees for the following documents are waived by the Department’s Bureau of
Corporations and Charitable Organizations (“Bureau”), when the documents are signed by the
veteran or reservist and submitted with proof of the veteran’s or reservist’s status:

s Articles of Incorporation (for profit) - $125
e Articles of Incorporation (nonprofit) - $125
e Certificate of Organization - $125

151 Pa.C.S. § 9610.
1

362 Pa.C.S. § 2102.
451 Pa.C.S. § 9610.
351 Pa.C.S. § 9601.
651 Pa.C.S. § 9610.



Certificate of Limited Partnership - $125

Registration - Domestic Registered Limited Liability Partnership - $125
Foreign Registration Statement - $250

Registration of Fictitious Name - $70

The above-listed business formation documents may be submitted directly from the veteran or
reservist, or submitted through a law firm or service company. All formation/registration
documents must be signed by the veteran or reservist seeking the fee exemption and-attach along
with proof of the veteran’s or reservist’s status.

A veteran or reservist must provide the Bureau with proof of the veteran’s or reservist’s status at
the time the business application is submitted. Such proof includes a legible photocopy of:

A Federal DD-214 form

A Federal NGB-22 form

A valid Federal Veterans' Administration card or

A valid Department of Defense-issued military identification card’

Formation filings and proof of veteran/reservist status may be submitted to the Bureau online
through PENN File, by mail or via personal delivery.

The following table and chart illustrate the total number of business fee exemptions applied for
and issued to veteran- or reservist-owned small businesses in the prior calendar year and the total
dollar amount of these exemptions.

Number of Number
Filings Filings

2017 Submitted | Accepted | Fees Waived
January 48 32 $3,410.00
February 51 38 $4,325.00
March 143 97 $11,180.00
April 161 109 $11,815.00
May 182 102 $11,115.00
June 164 92 $10,445.00
July 227 156 $17,155.00
August 273 194 $20,820.00
September 222 160 $17,780.00
October 301 231 $26,320.00
November 258 187 $20,285.00
December 287 215 $23,730.00
Totals 2317 1613 $178,380.00

751 Pa.C.S. § 9611(b).



Number of exemptions applied for and issued
(by month)

Respectfully submitted,

flt Sois

Robert Torres
Acting Secretary of State
Pennsylvania Department of State






