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THE STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Certified Public Accountant 

An accountant certified by a state examining board as having

fulfilled the requirements of state law to be a public

accountant.

Public Accounting is the practice to perform or performing for

a client or potential client: (1) Attest activity. (2) Other

services involving the use of accounting skills, including, but

not limited to, management advisory or consulting services,

business valuations, financial planning, preparation of tax

returns or furnishing of advice on tax matters by a person

holding out as a certified public accountant, public accountant

or firm
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THE STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Certified Public Accountant 
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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Degrees:

Bachelors

States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations

States with 3 required examinations 



80 hours 78.4 hours

PA U.S
0

50

100

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

1 year
1.14 years

PA U.S
0

1

2

PA U.S.
avg.

* Experience scale

1 year = 1,600 hours -2,080 hours

2 year = 2,080 + hours 

8 States

22 States

20 States

CE Reporting Cycles

Continuing Education Requirement 
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THE STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Certified Public Accountant 

MEDIAN: 

1 yearYE
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S PA U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

80 hours

  0 CE hours (Wisconsin only)

80 CE hours/2 yrs

Training / Experience Requirement 

  1 yr

2 yrs

3 years

NV

WY

HI

WA

OR

CA

MT

AK

ID

UT

NM

TX

CO

FL

OK

SD

NE

KS

ND

MO

AR

LA

MN

IA

 IN  OH

 MI

WI

IL

PA

TN

KY

 AZ

VA

MS AL GA

SC

NC

ME

WV

NY

VT

RI

NH

MA

CT

NJ

DE

DC

MD

NV

WY

HI

WA

OR

CA

MT

AK

ID

UT

NM

TX

CO

FL

OK

SD

NE

KS

ND

MO

AR

LA

MN

IA

 IN  OH

 MI

WI

IL

PA

TN

KY

 AZ

VA

MS AL GA

SC

NC

ME

WV

NY

VT

RI

NH

MA

CT

NJ

DE

DC

MD
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2 years

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
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Certified Public Accountant 

Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $50.00

(FL, OK, SD)

H I G H E S T:     $ 6 9 0 . 0 0

( A l a s k a )

Fe
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$65.00

$174.05

PA U.S

0

200

400

600

PA

Renewal Fees

M E D I A N :  
$ 1 5 3 . 3 3

LOWEST: $10.00

(Nebraska)

M E D I A N :  

$ 1 5 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 1 , 1 3 0 . 0 0

(C o n n e c t i c u t )

2020    

22 States

21 States

8 States

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Triennial

Annual

U.S.
avg.

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

District of Columbia

Florida

Illinois

New Jersey

New York

Utah

Vermont

Wisconsin

 Endorsement 

California 

Hawaii 

Maine 

Virginia

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 

Alabama 

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

Colorado 

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Georgia

Idaho 

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New  Hampshire

New Mexico

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania**

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Washington

West Virginia

Wyoming

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all
boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately
endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially
equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without
discipline against their license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a
jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal requirements for licensure, then the
boards/commissions may grant a provisional licenses for a period of such time to allow
the new resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing them access to gainful
employment in the interim. 

THE STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Certified Public Accountant 
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States that do regulate this occupation: 

Alabama - Registered

Arkansas - Licensed

California - Registered

 Delaware - Permitted

Hawaii - Licensed

Indiana - Certified

Iowa - Licensed

Kansas - Licensed

Kentucky - Licensed

Minnesota - Registered

New Hampshire - *Grandfathered License

New York- *Grandfathered License

Oregon - Licensed

South Carolina - Licensed

South Dakota - Licensed 

2020   

THE STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Observation Section 

Public Accountants is no longer regulated in Pennsylvania but the following states still regulate it.

Wisconsin is the only state that does not require continuing education requirements for CPAs



Alabama
https://www.asbpa.alabama.gov/

Alaska
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/professi
onallicensing/boardofpublicaccountancy.aspx

Arizona
https://www.azaccountancy.gov/

Arkansas
https://asbpa.arkansas.gov/

California
https://www.dca.ca.gov/cba/

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Accountancy

Connecticut
https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Occupational-and-
Professional-Division/Occupational--
Profess/Certified-Public-Accountants

Delaware
https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/accountancy/

District of Columbia 
https://www.dcopla.com/accountancy/

Florida
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/certified-
public-accounting/

Georgia
https://gsba.georgia.gov/

Hawaii
https://cca.hawaii.gov/

Idaho
https://isba.idaho.gov/

Illinois
https://www.idfpr.com/profs/pa.asp

Indiana
https://www.in.gov/pla/

Iowa
https://plb.iowa.gov/

Kansas
http://www.ksboa.org/index.htm

Kentucky
https://cpa.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana
http://cpaboard.state.la.us/

Maine
http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/profe
ssions/accountants/cpa.html /

Maryland
https://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/cpa/

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-public-
accountancy

Michigan
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-
89334_72600_72602_72731_72855---,00.html

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/elicense/a-z/?id=1083-
231591#/list/appId//filterType//filterValue//page/1/so
rt//order/

Mississippi
http://www.msbpa.ms.gov/Pages/Home.aspx

Missouri
https://pr.mo.gov/accountancy.asp

Montana
http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/pac

Nebraska
https://nbpa.nebraska.gov/

Nevada
http://www.nvaccountancy.com/index.fx

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/accountancy/

New Jersey
http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/acc/Pages/default.a
spx 

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/accountancy.aspx

New York
http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/cpa/cpalic.htm

North Carolina
https://nccpaboard.gov/

North Dakota
http://www.nd.gov/ndsba/regulations.html

Ohio
http://acc.ohio.gov/Licensing/CPA-Certificate

Oklahoma
https://www.ok.gov/oab_web/About_the_Board/Rules
_Law/index.html

Oregon
https://www.oregon.gov/BOA/Pages/index.aspx

Pennsylvania
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsC
ommissions/Accountancy/Pages/default.aspx

Rhode Island
http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/accountancy/

South Carolina
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t40c002.php

South Dakota
http://dlr.sd.gov/accountancy/default.aspx

Tennessee
https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/accountancy.
html

Texas
http://www.tsbpa.state.tx.us/

Utah
https://dopl.utah.gov/cpa/index.html

Vermont
https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-
of-professions/accountancy.aspx

Virginia
http://www.boa.virginia.gov/

Washington
https://acb.wa.gov/

West Virginia
https://www.boa.wv.gov/

Wisconsin
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/Accountant/Def
ault.aspx

Wyoming
https://sites.google.com/a/wyo.gov/wyoming-cpa/
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