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Apprentice Auctioneer
An apprentice auctioneer is a person who is licensed as an
apprentice for the purpose of learning the profession of
auctioneering, and who is sponsored and employed for
compensation by a qualified auctioneer.

Auctioneer
A licensed individual who sells or offers or attempts to sell
property at auction. 

An auction is a method for the sale or lease of property, or any
interest in property, by means of a verbal exchange, regular mail,
telecommunications, the Internet, an electronic transmission or a
physical gesture between an auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer or
auction company and one or more potential purchasers or lessees
through the solicitation of offers, in the form of bids, in an effort to
advance the amount of the bids to obtain the highest or most
favorable offer.

Trading Assistant
An individual who, for a commission or fee, conducts or intends to
conduct a business within this Commonwealth of selling, or
offering to sell, the personal property of another through an online
trading assistant consignment sale transaction, or who performs,
or offers to perform, any of the functions or activities requiring
registration under section 5.1(a) of the Auctioneer Licensing and
Trading Assistant Registration Act. 
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Apprentice Auctioneer
Degree Requirement 
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*AL, KY, PA, TN, & WV do not require a degree, but require education from an
auctioneer school. (See Observations Page)
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* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been adjusted to
2-year reporting cycles.
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Continuing Education Requirement 
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Apprentice Auctioneer

MEDIAN: 

1 year YE
A

R
S

PA

Training / Experience Requirement 

HI

VA

ME

WV

VT

RI

MA

CT

NJ

DE

DC

MD

VT

RI

MA

CT

NJ

DE

DC

MD

1 Year Apprenticeship Length

States that do not license this occupation

2 Years Apprenticeship Length

0 CE hours

6 CE hours/ 2 yr

12 CE hours/ 2 yr

States that do not license this occupation

NH

3 States

CE Reporting Cycles

1 year

*8 states that license Apprentice
Auctioneers do not require CE.
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*WV requires a 2 year long apprenticeship unless the applicant attended
auctioneer school then he/she must only complete a 6 month long
apprenticeship.
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* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been adjusted to
2-year reporting cycles.
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Apprentice Auctioneer

Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $30 .00

(Pennsylvania)

M E D I A N :  

$ 1 0 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 2 1 0 . 0 0

( S o u t h  C a r o l i n a )
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
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U.S.
avg.

LOWEST: $50 .00

(Texas)

M E D I A N :  

$ 1 7 7 . 5 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 4 0 0 . 0 0

( S o u t h  C a r o l i n a )

7 States

3 States

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

2020   

PA

*LA does not renew Apprentice Auctioneer licenses.

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

 Endorsement 

Alabama

Florida

Louisiana

Ohio

South Carolina

Texas

West Virginia

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 
Kentucky

North Carolina

Pennsylvania**

Tennessee

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all
boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse
licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent
licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their
license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have
substantially equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a
provisional licenses for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the
necessary requirements, allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim.
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Apprentice Auctioneer



DC

PA

AL

VT

NH

NV

WY

WA

OR

CA

MT

AK

ID

UT

NM

TX

CO

FL

OK

SD

NE

KS

ND

MO

AR

LA

MN

IA

 IN  OH

WI

IL

TN

KY

 AZ

GA

SC

NC

ME

WV

NY
MA

HI

VA

RI

CT

NJ

DE

MD

pg. 5         2020   

THE STATE BOARD OF AUCTIONEER EXAMINERS  

Auctioneer
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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Auctioneer

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been adjusted to 2-year

reporting cycles.

PA

Training / Experience Requirement 

CT
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ND

2 years

1.35 years

0

1

2

MEDIAN: 

1 year

PA

U.S.
avg.

0 hours

5.083 hours

0

5

10

U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

6 hours

PA

5 States

7 States

1 State

CE Reporting Cycles
4 years

1 year

2 years

*The pie  chart excludes  states that require 0 CE.

0 CE hours

6 CE hours/ 2 yr

8 CE hours/ 2 yr

12 CE hours/ 2 yr

States that do not license this occupation

*NH requires a 6 month long apprenticeship unless the
applicant has attended auctioneer school then no
apprenticeship is required.

*NC requires a 2 year long apprenticeship unless the
applicant has attended auctioneer school then no
apprenticeship is required.

*SC and VT require a 1 year long apprenticeship unless
the applicant has attended auctioneer school then no
apprenticeship is required.

*WV requires a 2 year long apprenticeship unless the
applicant has attended auctioneer school then a 6
month apprenticeship is required.

No Apprenticeship Requirement

6 Month Apprenticeship Length

1 Year Apprenticeship Length

2 Years Apprenticeship Length

States that do not license this occupation
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* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.
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1 State
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Auctioneer

Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $25 .00

(Virginia)

M E D I A N :  

$ 2 0 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 4 4 4 . 5 0

( F l o r i d a )
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$178.56

PA U.S
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Renewal Fees
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$260.00

$220.42
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles

PA U.S.
avg.

LOWEST: $35 .00

(Indiana)

M E D I A N :  

$ 2 0 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 4 5 0 . 0 0

( I l l i n o i s )

2020   

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Quadrennial

Annual

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

 Endorsement 

Maine 

North Dakota

Washington

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 

Alabama

Arkansas

Florida

Georgia

Illinois

Indiana

Kentucky

Louisiana

Massachusetts

Mississippi

New Hampshire

North Carolina

Ohio

Pennsylvania**

South Carolina

Tennessee

Texas

Virginia

West Virginia

Wisconsin

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all
boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately
endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially
equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without
discipline against their license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a
jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal requirements for licensure, then the
boards/commissions may grant a provisional licenses for a period of such time to allow
the new resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing them access to gainful
employment in the interim. 
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Auctioneer

Vermont
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Trading Assistant

Pennsylvania  is the only state that regulates Trading Assistants in the United States.
Therefore, there is no comparable data on this occupation for the United States.

Trading Assistant-An individual who, for a commission or fee, conducts or intends to conduct a
business within this Commonwealth of selling, or offering to sell, the personal property of
another through an online trading assistant consignment sale transaction, or who performs, or
offers to perform, any of the functions or activities requiring registration under section 5.1(a) of
the Auctioneer Licensing and Trading Assistant Registration Act. 

The text of the Act can be found at the following link: 

https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/uconsCheck.cfm?yr=2016&sessInd=0&act=88
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Observation Section
Apprentice Auctioneer

AL, KY, PA: These states do not require a degree, but applicant must have obtained schooling from an auctioneer

school.

LA: Beginning in 2010, this state no longer requires continuing education. This state does not renew apprentice

auctioneers. 

TN: This state requires a high school diploma or GED and schooling from an auctioneer school.

WV: This state requires a 2 year long apprenticeship unless the applicant attended a nationally accredited graduate

school of autioneering then the apprenticeship length is only 6 months.

Auctioneer

AL: This state requires either the completion of auctioneer school and a 1 year apprenticeship or the completion of a 2

year apprenticeship.

FL, IN, LA, MA, ND, PA, TN, VA, WI: These states do not require a degree, but schooling from an auctioneer school is

required.

In Pennsylvania, the prescribed course of study in auctioneering shall consist of 20 credit hours of instruction in the

following areas of study: Audience communications, Procurement of merchandise for auction, Appraisal, Auction

law, Preparation for auction, and Conducting an auction  

GA, KY, MS, TX: These states require a high school diploma and schooling from an auctioneer school.

NH: This state requires either the completion of auctioneer school or the completions of a 6 month apprenticeship.

NC: This state requires either the completion of auctioneer school or the completions of a 2 year apprenticeship. 

SC and VT: These states require either the completion of auctioneer school or the completion of a 1 year

apprenticeship.

WV: This state requires either the completion of auctioneer school and a 6 month apprenticeship or the completion of

a 2 year apprenticeship.

Trading Assistant

Only Pennsylvania licenses this occupation.



Sources:
State Licensing Boards

Kansas
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Kentucky
https://auctioneers.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana
http://www.lalb.org/licensing.php

Maine
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/prof
essions/auctioneers/index.html

Maryland
Auctioneers licensed at the municipality level.

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/auctioneer-licensing

Michigan
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Minnesota
Auctioneers licensed at the municipality level.

Mississippi
https://www.auctioneers.ms.gov/

Missouri
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Montana
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Nebraska
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Nevada
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

New Hampshire
http://sos.nh.gov/auctioneers.aspx

New Jersey
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

New Mexico
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

New York
Auctioneers licensed at the municipality level.

North Carolina
http://www.ncalb.org/

Alabama
http://www.auctioneer.state.al.us/

Alaska
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Arizona
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Arkansas
https://www.aralb.com/

California
This state issues business licenses for auctioneers, but
not occupational licenses.

Colorado
This state issues business licenses for auctioneers, but
not occupational licenses.

Connecticut
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Delaware
This state issues business licenses for auctioneers, but
not occupational licenses.

District of Columbia 
This state issues business licenses for auctioneers, but
not occupational licenses.

Florida
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/auctioneers/

Georgia
https://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/9

Hawaii
This state issues business licenses for auctioneers, but
not occupational licenses.

Idaho
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Illinois
https://idfpr.com/profs/auctioneers.asp

Indiana
https://www.in.gov/pla/auction.htm

Iowa
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

North Dakota
https://psc.nd.gov/public/laws/lawsauctions.php

Ohio
https://agri.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/oda/programs/auct
ioneers/home/

Oklahoma
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Oregon
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Pennsylvania
https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsC
ommissions/AuctioneerExaminers/Pages/default.aspx

Rhode Island
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state as of 2015.

South Carolina
https://llr.sc.gov/auc/pub.aspx

South Dakota
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Tennessee
https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/auctioneers

Texas
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/auc/auction.htm

Utah
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.

Vermont
https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-
of-professions/auctioneers.aspx

Virginia
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Auctioneers/

Washington
https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/auctioneers/

West Virginia
https://agriculture.wv.gov/divisions/executive/Pages/Au
ctioneers.aspx

Wisconsin
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/Auctioneer/Defa
ult.aspx

Wyoming
Auctioneers are not licensed in this state.
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