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THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified General Appraiser
A person who holds a certificate issued under authority of

section 6(a)(3) of the Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act

(63 P.S. § 457.6(a)(3)) and who is authorized to perform

appraisals of all types of real property in non-Federally related

transactions.

Link to Pennsylvania's Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act: 
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/US/PDF/2008/0/0059..PDF#:~:text=98)%2C%2
0entitled%20%22An%20act,Certified%20Real%20Estate%20Appraisers%2C%20for

Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser

A person who holds a certificate issued under authority of section

6(a)(1) and (d) of the act and § 36.11 (relating to qualifications for

certification as residential real estate appraiser) and who is

authorized to perform appraisals of residential properties of one-

to-four dwelling units in all transactions, whether Federally-

related or non-Federally-related.

Licensed Appraiser Trainee
A person who holds a license issued under section 6(a.1) of the act

and § 36.12a (relating to qualifications for licensure as appraiser

trainee) and who is authorized to assist a certified residential real

estate appraiser or certified general real estate appraiser in the

performance of an appraisal.
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THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified General Appraiser
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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Degrees:

Bachelors

States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations
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3000 Hours 3011.77 Hours

PA U.S
0

2k

4k

PA U.S.
avg.

Continuing Education Requirement 

2020                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    pg. 2         

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified General Appraiser

MEDIAN: 

3,000 hours

H
O

U
R

S

28 hours 28.20 hours

PA U.S
0

20

40

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

H
O

U
R

S

PA U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

28 hours

28 CE hours/2 yrs 

30 CE hours/2 yrs

Training / Experience Requirement 

  3,000 Hours 

3,600 Hours 

CE Reporting Cycles

3 years 

2 years

1 year

43 States 

1 State 

6 States 

4 Years 
1 State

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.
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$225.00

$449.50

PA U.S

0

250

500

750

1000

*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles

PA

U.S.
avg.

pg. 3          

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified General Appraiser

Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $75 .00

(Oregon)

M E D I A N :  

$ 3 7 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 6 8 0 . 0 0

( R h o d e  I s l a n d )

Fe
e 

A
m

ou
n

t 

$405.00
$379.37

PA U.S

0

200

400

600

Annual Federal Registry Fee $40.00, this fee can impact
the initial licensing fee costs.

PA
U.S.
avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $96 .00

(Hawaii)

M E D I A N :  

$ 4 2 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 9 8 0 . 0 0

( M o n t a n a )

2020   

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

Triennial

1 State

33 States

17 States

Annual Federal Registry Fee $40.00, this fee can impact the
licensing renewal fee costs.

$320.00 to $405.00
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

Alaska 

District of

Columbia

Hawaii

Illinois

Maine

New Jersey

 Endorsement 

Florida

Mississippi

Nevada

North Carolina

North Dakota

Mutual Recognition
Language

Reciprocity 
Alabama 

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado 

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Georgia

Idaho 

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

New  Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania**

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all
boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse
licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent
licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their
license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have
substantially equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a
provisional licenses for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary
requirements, allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim.

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified General Appraiser

Ohio

Not Stated
in Legislation
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THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified Residential Real Estate
Appraiser

Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations

Degrees:

Associates

Bachelors
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3 years
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CE Reporting Cycles

Continuing Education Requirement 
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1,500 hours

2,176 hours

PA U.S
0

1k

2k

PA U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

2,500 hrs

H
O

U
R

S

PA U.S.
avg.

  28 CE hours/2 yrs

30 CE hours/2 yrs

Training / Experience Requirement 

1 year2 years

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified Residential Real Estate
Appraiser

  1,500 hours

  2,000 hours

  2,500 hours

4 years

28 hours 28.2 hours

PA U.S
0

25

50

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

H
O

U
R

S MEDIAN: 

28 hours

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

43 States 

6 States 

1 State
1 State

U.S.
avg.PA
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Fe
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A
m
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n

t 

$225.00

$445.48

PA U.S

0

250

500

750

*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles

PA

U.S.
avg.
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Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $75.00 

(Wisconsin)

M E D I A N :  

$ 3 6 2 . 5 0

H I G H E S T:  $ 7 2 5 . 0 0

(O r e g o n )

Fe
e 

A
m

ou
n

t 

$365.00 $372.29

PA U.S

0

250

500

750

PA U.S.
avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $167.00

(Maryland)

M E D I A N :  

$ 4 0 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 9 8 0 . 0 0

( M o n t a n a )

17 States

33 States

1 State

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

Triennial

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified Residential Real Estate
Appraiser

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.

Annual Federal Registry Fee $40.00, this fee can impact the
licensing  renewal fee costs.

Annual Federal Registry Fee $40.00, this fee can impact the
initial licensing  fee costs.

$280.00 to $325.00

45
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

Alaska

Hawaii

Illinois

Maine

Massachusetts

New Jersey

 Endorsement 

Ohio

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 

Alabama

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Idaho

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania**

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state professional
licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions
within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensees from other states,
territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in
good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction. If a licensee comes
from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal requirements for licensure, then the
boards/commissions may grant a provisional licenses for a period of such time to allow the new
resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing them access to gainful employment in the
interim.

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Certified Residential Real Estate
Appraiser
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THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Licensed Appraiser Trainee

Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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Degrees:

High School Diploma /GED

No Degree Required 

Not Licensed

States with 1 required examination 

States with 0 required examinations

States that do not license this occupation

*All states that require licensure for this occupation require that the
applicant complete 75 hours of qualifying real estate appraiser education.



CE Reporting Cycles

28 hours 27.9 hours

PA U.S
0

25

50

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.
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3 years

Continuing Education Requirement 
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PA U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

28 hours

Training / Experience Requirement 

  No Training / Experience Requirement

1 year

2 years
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THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Licensed Appraiser Trainee

*Certified Real Estate Appraiser
Trainee / Assistants do not have to
meet an experience requirement in

order to obtain a license. 

  28 CE hours / 2 yrs

30 CE hours / 2 yrs

14 CE hours / 2 yrs

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles. 37 States

10 States
2 States

*Pie chart  excludes unlicensed states, CO and WI 

State does not license this
occupation
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$150.00

$269.93

PA U.S

0

250

500

750

*To allow for comparisons, all fees have
been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles

PA
U.S.
avg.

pg. 15          

Initial Licensing Fee

M E D I A N :  

$ 2 1 1 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:  $ 6 8 0 . 0 0

( R h o d e  I s l a n d )

Fe
e 

A
m

ou
n

t 

$75.00

$227.21

PA U.S

0

200

400

600

PA

U.S.
avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $0 .00

(Wyoming)

M E D I A N :  

$ 2 0 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 8 0 0 . 0 0

( M o n t a n a )

18 States

25 States

2 States

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

2020      

Triennial

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Licensed Appraiser Trainee

LOWEST: $20 .00

(Wyoming)

states excluded from pie chart are CO,
D.C, MO, OK, WI and WY

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity
or Endorsement  

Maine

 Endorsement 

Alaska

Arizona

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Kentucky

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Nebraska

Not Specified
in Legislation

Reciprocity 

Alabama

Arkansas

California

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Louisiana

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

Pennsylvania**

South Carolina

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Wyoming

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensees
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal
requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional licenses for a
period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements, allowing them
access to gainful employment in the interim.

THE STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

Licensed Appraiser Trainee

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Rhode Island

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Washington

West Virginia



States with 1 Regulatory Body for Certified General Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Estate Appraisers, and Certified Real Estate
Appraiser Trainees:
Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board
Alaska Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers
Arizona Real Estate Appraisal Division
Arkansas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
District of Columbia Board of Real Estate Appraisers 
Florida Real Estate Appraisal Board
Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board
Hawaii Real Estate Appraiser Program
Idaho Real Estate Appraiser Board
Illinois Real Estate Appraisal Administration and Disciplinary Board
Indiana Real Estate Appraiser Licensure & Certification Board 
Iowa Real Estate Appraiser Board
Kansas Real Estate Appraisal Board 
Kentucky Real Estate Appraisers Board 
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board
Maryland State Commission of Real Estate Appraisers, Appraisal Management Companies, and Home Inspectors
Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Appraisers 
Minnesota Real Estate Appraisal Advisory Board 
Mississippi Appraisal Board
Missouri Real Estate Appraisers Commission
Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers
Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board
New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers Board 
New York State Board of Real Estate Appraisal
North Carolina Appraisal Board
North Dakota Real Estate Appraiser Qualifications and Ethics Board
Ohio Real Estate Appraiser Board
Oklahoma Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Oregon Appraiser Certification and Licensure Board
Rhode Island Real Estate Appraisers Board
South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board 
South Dakota Appraiser Certification Board 
Tennessee Real Estate Appraiser Commission 
Utah Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Virginia Real Estate Appraisers Board 
West Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
(These states are depicted in red)

States with 1 Regulatory Body for Certified General Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Estate Appraisers, Certified Real Estate Appraiser
Trainees Certified Real Estate Evaluator :
Delaware Council on Real Estate Appraisers
Pennsylvania State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers 
(These states are depicted in blue)

States with 1 Regulatory Body for Certified General Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Estate Appraisers, Certified Real Estate
Evaluators:
Colorado Real Estate Appraisers Program 
(These states are depicted in yellow)

States with 2 Regulatory Bodies for Certified General Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Estate Appraisers, Certified Real Estate
Evaluators:
Wisconsin Real Estate Appraisers Board and Wisconsin Department of Revenue
(These states are depicted in green)

States with 2 Regulatory Bodies for Certified General Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Estate Appraisers, Certified Real Estate
Appraiser Trainees, and Certified Real Estate Evaluators:
California Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers and California State Board of Equalization 
Maine Board of Real Estate Appraisers and Maine Revenue Services, Property Tax Division
Michigan Board of Real Estate Appraisers and Michigan Department of Treasury, State Tax Commission 
Nevada Real Estate Commission and Nevada Department of Taxation
New Hampshire Real Estate Appraisers Board and New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration 
New Jersey State Real Estate Appraiser Board and New Jersey Department of the Treasury 
Texas Real Estate Appraiser Commission and Texas Tax Professional Advisory Committee 
Vermont Secretary of State's Office of Professional Regulation and Vermont Department of Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review
Washington Real Estate Appraiser Commission and Washington Department of Revenue 
Wyoming Real Estate Commission & Certified Appraiser Board and Wyoming Department of Revenue, Property Tax Division
(These states are depicted in grey)

43 States have Licensed Real Estate Appraisers in addition to Certified Real Estate Appraisers 
pg.172019-2020   
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Observation Section 



Maryland
https://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/reahi/reahireq.sh
tml

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/real-estate-appraiser-licensing

Michigan
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-
89334_72600_72602_72731_72859---,00.html

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/commerce/licensees/appraiser/

Mississippi
http://www.mrec.state.ms.us/mab/index_mab.html

Missouri
https://www.pr.mo.gov/appraisers.asp

Montana
http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/rea

Nebraska
https://appraiser.ne.gov/

Nevada
http://red.nv.gov/Content/Appraisal/Main/

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/real-estate-appraisers/

New Jersey
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/rea/Pages/default.
aspx
New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/real_estate_apprai
sers.aspx

New York
https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/re_appraiser/re_app
raiser.html

North Carolina
http://www.ncappraisalboard.org/

North Dakota
https://ndappraiserboard.org/index.html

Ohio
http://com.ohio.gov/real/

Oklahoma
https://www.oid.ok.gov/regulated-entities/real-
estate-appraiser-board/

Oregon
https://sos.oregon.gov/blue-
book/Pages/state/executive/appraiser.aspx

Pennsylvania
https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsC
ommissions/CertifiedRealEstateAppraisers/Pages/defa
ult.aspx

Rhode Island
https://dbr.ri.gov/divisions/commlicensing/realestateap
praisers.php

South Carolina
https://llr.sc.gov/appr/

South Dakota
https://dlr.sd.gov/appraisers/default.aspx

Tennessee
https://dlr.sd.gov/appraisers/default.aspx

Texas
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/potential-license-
holder/licensed-appraiser

Utah
https://realestate.utah.gov/appraisal/index.html

Vermont
https://sos.vermont.gov/real-estate-appraisers/

Virginia
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Appraisers/

Washington
https://www.dol.wa.gov/business/appraisers/

West Virginia
https://appraiserboard.wv.gov/

Wisconsin
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/AppraiserLicense
d/Default.aspx

Wyoming
http://realestate.wyo.gov/

pg. 18        

Sources:
State Licensing Boards
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Alabama
http://reab.state.al.us/

Alaska
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professi
onalLicensing/RealEstateAppraisers.aspx

Arizona
https://dfi.az.gov/industry/RealEstateAppraisers

Arkansas
http://www.arkansas.gov/alcb/

California
http://brea.ca.gov/

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/real-estate-
appraiser-program

Connecticut
https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-
Division/All-License-Applications/Real-Estate-
Appraisers

Delaware
https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestateappraisers
/

District of Columbia 
https://www.dcopla.com/appraisal/

Florida
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/intentions2.asp?
chBoard=true&boardid=64

Georgia
https://www.grec.state.ga.us/greab/appraisers.html

Hawaii
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/realestateapprais
er/

Idaho
https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardAdditional.aspx?
Bureau=REA&BureauLinkID=100

Illinois
https://www.idfpr.com/profs/appraisal.asp

Indiana
https://www.in.gov/pla/appraiser.htm

Iowa
https://plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-appraisers

Kansas
http://www.kansas.gov/kreab/licensing/

Kentucky
https://kreab.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana
http://www.reab.state.la.us/licensing.html

Maine
https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/prof
essions/appraisers/index.html


