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THE STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Nursing Home Administrator
Individuals licensed by the state board who engage in the

planning, organizing, directing and control of the operation of a

nursing home. 
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States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations

Degrees:

High School Diploma /GED

Associate / Complete program

of study approved by the Board

Bachelors

THE STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Nursing Home Administrator
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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28 States
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CE Reporting Cycles
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Continuing Education Requirement 
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MEDIAN: 
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* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.
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MEDIAN: 

40 hours

  0 CE hours

10 - 20 CE hours/2 yrs

Training / Experience Requirement 

  0 - 499 Hours

500 - 999 Hours

2 years

3 years
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Nursing Home Administrator

  1000 Hours

 1001 - 1499 Hours

  1500 - 1999 Hours

2000+ Hours

  21 - 39 CE hours/2 yrs

40 CE hours/2 yrs

  41 - 50 CE hours/2 yrs

*AK,, CO & HI do not have CE requirement
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Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $40.00

NY, PA

MEDIAN: 

$315.00

HIGHEST:    $1,050.00

Arizona
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Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $40.00

New York

MEDIAN: 

$260.00

HIGHEST:    $695.00

Washington

18 States

31 States

1 State

Renewal Cycles

Biennial
Annual

2020   

Triennial

THE STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Nursing Home Administrator

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity or Endorsement  

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Delaware

Massachusetts

New Hampshire

Ohio

Rhode Island

West Virginia

 Reciprocity  Endorsement

Alabama

Colorado 

Connecticut

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho 

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania**

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

Wisconsin

Wyoming

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensee
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially
equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license
for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements,
allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim.

THE STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

Nursing Home Administrator

Alaska

Credentials

New Jersey

Equivalency
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Observation Section 

The following states have minimum
age requirements for licensure 
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Minimum Age for Licensure:

18 years old 

19 years old

21 years old

No minimum age requirement



Sources:
State Licensing Boards

Alabama
http://www.alboenha.state.al.us/PDF/Rules/Alabama
%20Board%20of%20Examiners%20Statute.pdf

Alaska
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professi
onalLicensing/NursingHomeAdministrators.aspx

Arizona
http://www.hpm.umn.edu/nhregsplus/NHRegs_by_Sta
te/Arizona/AZLicensure%20Rules%20for%20NHA.pd
f

Arkansas
http://humanservices.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/d
ms/nhadmin.pdf

California
http://www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/OccGuides/Li
censeDetail.aspx?LicId=996

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/NHA_Laws%2
0https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-
K5DhxXxJZbaUF5VDNkSDVFbmM/view%20https://
drive.google.com/file/d/0B-
K5DhxXxJZbYVZDLTluT3pYQ3M/view

Connecticut
https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Occupational-and-
Professional-Division/Occupational--
Profess/Certified-Public-Accountants

Delaware
https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/nursinghomeadmin/

District of Columbia 
https://doh.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/doh/serv
ice_content/attachments/Nursing%20Home%20Admi
nistration%20Regulation%20updated%208-18-
2017%20%282%29.pdf%20https://doh.dc.gov/service
/nursing-home-administration-licensing

Florida
http://floridasnursinghomeadmin.gov/licensing/nursin
g-home-administrator/

Georgia
http://sos.ga.gov/plb/acrobat/Laws/18_Nursing_Home
_Administrators_4327.pdf%20http://sos.ga.gov/index.
php/licensing/plb/35

Hawaii
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/programs/nursinghome/stat
ute_rules/%20http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/
har_90-c2.pdf

Idaho
https://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/24/0901.p
df

Illinois
http://ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?
ActID=1313&ChapAct=225%C2%A0ILCS%C2%A070
/&ChapterID=24&ChapterName=PROFESSIONS+AN
D+OCCUPATIONS&ActName=Nursing+Home+Admi
nistrators+Licensing+and+Disciplinary+Act.

Indiana
http://www.in.gov/pla/files/ISBHFA.2011_EDITION.pd
f

Iowa
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/r
ules?agency=645&chapter=141

Kansas
https://www.kdads.ks.gov/docs/default-source/SCC-
Documents/bacha/admistrative-license-regulations-
(k-a-r-).pdf?sfvrsn=4

Kentucky
http://ltca.ky.gov/Pages/laws.aspx

Louisiana
http://www.labenfa.com/nfadmin/BE-
1_2015_Requirements_for_Licensing.pdf

Maine
http://www.state.me.us/pfr/professionallicensing/prof
essions/nursing_home/index.html

Maryland
https://health.maryland.gov/bonha/Pages/licensing.as
px

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-of-
nursing-home-administrators

Michigan
http://dmbinternet.state.mi.us/DMB/ORRDocs/Admin
Code/1516_2015-019LR_AdminCode.pdf

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/elicense/a-z/?id=1083-
231493#/list/appId//filterType//filterValue//page/1/so
rt//order/

Mississippi
https://www.msnha.ms.gov/PDFs/Rules.pdf

Missouri
https://s1.sos.mo.gov/cmsimages/adrules/csr/current/
19csr/19c73-2.pdf

Montana
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0090/p
art_0030/section_0010/0370-0090-0030-0010.html

Nebraska
http://dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/Licensure/Documents
/NursingHomeAdministrators.pdf

Nevada
http://beltca.nv.gov/About/Board/

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/index.htm

New Jersey
http://www.hpm.umn.edu/NHregsplus/NHRegs_by_St
ate/NEw%20Jersey/NJ%20Licensure%20Rules%20fo
r%20Nursing%20Home%20Administrators.pdf

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/uploads/files/NHA%20201
6%20Statues.pdf

New York
https://www.health.ny.gov/professionals/nursing_home
_administrator/licensure_program/qualifications.htm

North Carolina
http://www.ncbenha.org/rules.html

North Dakota
http://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/55-02-
01.pdf

Ohio
https://www.beltss.ohio.gov/default.html

Oklahoma
https://www.ok.gov/osbeltca/Licensure_Qualifications/

Oregon
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HLO/Pages/Laws-
Rules.aspx

Pennsylvania
https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/049/chapter39/c
hap39toc.html

Rhode Island
http://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=233#

South Carolina
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/LongTermHealthCare/in
dex.asp?file=pub.htm#NHA

South Dakota
http://doh.sd.gov/boards/nursingfacility/

Tennessee
http://www.hpm.umn.edu/nhregsplus/NHRegs_by_Stat
e/Tennessee/TN%20Licensure%20Rules%20for%20Nu
rsing%20Home%20Administrator.pdf

Texas
http://www.hpm.umn.edu/nhregsplus/NHRegs_by_Stat
e/Texas/TX%20Licensure%20Rules%20for%20NHA.pd
f

Utah
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter15/58-
15.html

Vermont
https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-
of-professions/nursing-home-administrators.aspx

Virginia
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nha/nha_laws_regs.htm#la
w

Washington
https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificate
s/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/NursingHomeAdmi
nistrator/LicenseRequirements

West Virginia
http://www.state.wv.us/wvnha/default.cfm

Wisconsin
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes

Wyoming
http://nha.state.wy.us/PDF/CurrentRules.pdf
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