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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapist

Licensed individuals who treat injured, ill, or disabled patients
through the therapeutic use of everyday activities. Occupational
therapists help patients develop, recover, improve, as well as
maintain the skills needed for daily living and working.

Occupational Therapy Assistant

A person licensed to assist in the practice of occupational
therapy, under the supervision of an occupational therapist.




THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapist
Degree Requirement

Degrees:
[l Graduate from an ACOTE-
accredited OT educational

program

*ACOTE = Accreditation

Council for Occupational

Therapy Education

Examination Requirement

B States with 1 required examination

States with 2 required examinations
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapist

Training / Experience Requirement

30

26 weeks 2505weeks ¢ EDIAN:

26 weeks
20
uU.s.
10 PA avg.
0 S E——— R

Continuing Education Requirement

WEEKS

8 weeks

[ 24 weeks
B 26 weeks

24 hours 23.92 hours MEDIAN:
24 hours

*To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been
adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

CE Reporting Cycles

Eh
. O CEhours 9 States

16 - 20 CE hours/2 yrs
B 24 CE hours/2yrs

B 26-32CEhours/2yrs

[ 40-50CE hours/2yrs
2020 *MA, NJ & WI do not have a CE requirement pg. 2




o (4
Occupational Therapist

Initial Licensing Fee

HIGHEST: $390.00
Alaska

150 $146.59

$30.00

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.

LOWEST: $25.00
Illinois

MEDIAN:
$135.00
€
5 100
o
£
<
()
(7]
L
50

Renewal Fees

HIGHEST: $280.00
Maryland

150

$133.78

MEDIAN:

$140.00 Renewal Cycles

=
o
o

37 States

Fee Amount

(%2
o

LOWEST: $30.00
Missouri

*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapist

States with Reciprocity or Endorsement

Endorsement
Arizona New Mexico
Colorado Ohio
Connecticut Oklahoma
District of Columbia Oregon
Florida Pennsylvania**
Idaho Rhode Island
lllinois South Carolina
Indiana Texas
lowa Utah
Maine Vermont
Massachusetts Wyoming
Michigan
Mississippi
Nebraska
Nevada

Reciprocity.

Alabama
Arkansas
California
Delaware
Georgia
Louisiana
Minnesota
Missouri
Montana
New Jersey
North Dakota
South Dakota
Tennessee
West Virginia

Reciprocity / Endorsement

Hawaii

Not Specified
in Legislation

New Hampshire

Credentials

Alaska
Kansas
Kentucky
Maryland
New York
Washington

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensee
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially
equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license
for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements,
allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim.
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapy Assistant
Degree Requirement

NH

WA
VT
- E
MT N 4
MN
OR I MA
ID SD wi NY RI
wy Mi = Degree:
NE 1A PA NJ
OH i
N uT w |IN 5 Graduate from an ACOTE
CA s KS MO WV VA MD . .
KY bc accredited OTA educational
= = NC
AZ NM oK AR sc program
MS| AL \ GA
X LA
g FL *ACOTE = Accreditation
pE=}
“ . .
o Council for Occupational

Therapy Education

Examination Requirement

B States with 1 required examination

States with 2 required examinations
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapy Assistant

Training / Experience Requirement

10.59 weeks

MEDIAN:
8 weeks

8 weeks

WEEKS
&)

8 weeks
12 weeks

B 16 weeks

Continuing Education Requirement

30
24 hours MEDIAN:
21.73 hours 24 hours
20
0
-4
=]
o]
&)
0

*To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been
adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

CE Reporting Cycles

[ OCE hours

10- 20 CE hours/2 yrs
B 24 CE hours/2yrs

B 26-40CE hours/2 yrs

2020 HI, MA & NJ do not have CE requirement pg. 6




Occupational Therapy Assistant

Initial Licensing Fee

$126.51 HIGHEST: $325.00

MEDIAN:

100 $110.00

Fee Amount

50

$30.00

PA LOWEST: $10.00
Missouri

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.

Renewal Fees

HIGHEST: $230.00

$110-86 AELETGE]
100 MEDIAN:
$100.00 Renewal Cycles
- = Triennial
c
3
[e]
£
<
[J]
$ 50
L
36 States
LOWEST: $10.00
Missouri
*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
2020
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Occupational Therapy Assistant

States with Reciprocity or Endorsement

Endorsement Reciprocity. Not Specified
: in Legislation
Arizona New Mexico Alabama &
Colorado Ohio Arkansas New Hampshire
Connecticut Oklahoma California
District of Columbia  Qregon Delaware Credentials
Florida i+ Georgia
Pennsylvania . g Alaska
ldaho Rhode Island Minnesota
- . . Kansas
[llinois South Carolina Missouri
. Kentucky
Indiana Texas Montana
Louisiana
lowa Utah New Jersey Mai
Massachusetts Vermont North Dakota M a||ned
Michigan Wyoming South Dakota arylan
N New York
Mississippi Tennessee Washi
Nebraska West Virginia ashington
Nevada

Reciprocity / Endorsement

Hawaii

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensee
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially
equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license
for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements,

allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim.
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Observation Section

The following states have specific requirements for licensure

Citizenship/Proof of Eligible Work Status Requirement

States that require citizenship/proof of
work status for licensure:

Yes

No

States that have a good moral character
requirement for licensure:

Yes

No

States that have an English proficiency
requirement for licensure*:

Yes

No

*if applicant's native language is not English
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THE STATE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY EDUCATION AND LICENSURE

Sources:

State Licensing Boards

Alabama
http://www.ot.alabama.gov/default.aspx

Alaska
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/professi

Maryland
https://health.maryland.gov/botp/Pages/Licensing.asp
X

Massachusetts

onallicensing/physicaltherapyoccupationaltherapy.asp https://www.mass.gov/regulations/259-CMR-3-

X
Arizona
https://ot.az.gov/

Arkansas
https://www.armedicalboard.org/Professionals/Occu
pationalTherapistandAssistant.aspx

California
https://www.bot.ca.gov/

Colorado

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Occupational

Therapy

Connecticut

occupational-therapists

Michigan
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-
72600_72603_27529_27545---,00.html

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/boards/occupational-therapy/

Mississippi
https://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/30,0,82,60.html

Missouri
https://pr.mo.gov/octherapy-rules-statutes.asp

Montana

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DPH/Practitioner-Licensing-http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/otp#1?1

-Investigations/Occupational-Therapist/OT-
Licensure-Requirements

Delaware

https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/occupationaltherapy

/licensure/

District of Columbia

https://dchealth.dc.gov/service/occupational-therapy-

licensing

Florida

Nebraska
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Occupational-
Therapy.aspx

Nevada
https://www.nvot.org/

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/allied-
health/administration.htm

http://floridasoccupationaltherapy.gov/licensing/occu New Jersey

pational-therapist/

Georgia
http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/36

Hawaii
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/

Idaho
https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardPage.aspx?
Bureau=OCT

llinois
https://www.idfpr.com/profs/occtherapy.asp

Indiana
https://www.in.gov/pla/ot.htm

lowa
https://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/lowa-Board-of-
Physical-and-Occupational-Therapy/Licensure

Kansas
http://www.ksbha.org/professions/OT.shtml

Kentucky
http://bot.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana
http://louisiana.gov/Services/POLicenses/

Maine

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/profe

ssions/occupational/index.html

http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/ot/Pages/default.as
px

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/occupational_ther
apy.aspx

New York
http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/ot/otlic.htm

North Carolina
http://www.ncbot.org/otpages/Application_Process.ht
ml

North Dakota
https://www.ndotboard.com/lic/index.asp

Ohio
http://otptat.ohio.gov/Portals/0/laws/Ohio%200T%2
OPractice%20Act%20as%200f%20May%201%20201
8.pdf?ver=2018-05-02-143519-423

Oklahoma
http://www.okmedicalboard.org/occupational_therapi
sts#forms-resources

Oregon
http://www.oregon.gov/OTLB/pages/index.aspx

Pennsylvania
http://www.dos.pa.gov/professionallicensing/boardsco
mmissions/occupationaltherapy/Pages/default.aspx

Rhode Island
http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/
pdf/DOH/7021.pdf

South Carolina
https://llr.sc.gov/ot/

South Dakota
http://www.sdbmoe.gov/#

Tennessee
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-
areas/health-professional-boards/ot-board/opt-
board/applications.html

Texas
https://www.ptot.texas.gov/page/home

Utah
http://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/occupational_therapy.ht
ml

Vermont
https://cms.sec.statevt.us:8443/share/s/-
L9X9zIwT8SHqFsVw1F6tw

Virginia
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/advisory/ot/

Washington
https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificate
s/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/OccupationalThera
pist

West Virginia
https://www.wvbot.org/licensure-application/

Wisconsin
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/ot/2.
pdf

Wyoming
http://ot.state.wy.us/
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