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THE STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE

Osteopathic Physician & Surgeon
Fully licensed physicians/surgeons who practice in all areas of

medicine. Emphasizing a whole-person approach to treatment

and care, Osteopathic Physicians & Surgeons (DO) are trained to

listen and partner with their patients to help them get healthy

and stay well.

Osteopathic Physician Assistant

A person licensed by the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine

and trained to perform, under the supervision of a physician,

many clinical procedures traditionally performed by a physician,

such as diagnosing and treating minor ailments. 
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Degrees:

Doctorate (D.O.)

Doctorate (D.O. or M.D.) 

THE STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE

Osteopathic Physician & Surgeon
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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States with 1 required examination 

States with 2 required examinations



1 year

1.39 years

PA U.S
0

1

2

PA U.S.
avg.

31 States

11 States

4 States

CE Reporting Cycles

1 year

Continuing Education Requirement 
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MEDIAN: 

1 year

YE
A

R
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S

100 hours

53.83 hours

PA U.S
0

50

100

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

PA

U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

40 hours

  0 CE hours

30 - 39 CE hours/2 yrs

Training / Experience Requirement 

  1 years

2 years

2 years

3 years
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Osteopathic Physician & Surgeon

  3 years

 40 - 49 CE hours/2 yrs

50 - 60 CE hours/2 yrs

 100 CE Hours/2 yrs

*4 states do not have CE requirements 
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
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Avg.
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Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $75.00

Wisconsin

M E D I A N :  

$ 4 1 2 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 1 , 0 9 0 . 0 0

R h o d e  I s l a n d

Fe
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A
m

ou
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t 

$170.00

$472.15

PA U.S

0

200

400

600

PA

U.S.
Avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $75.00

Wisconsin

M E D I A N :  

$ 3 5 3 . 5 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 1 , 1 5 0 . 0 0

C o n n e c t i c u t

15 States

32 States

3 States

Renewal Cycles

Biennial

Annual

2020   

Triennial

THE STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE

Osteopathic Physician & Surgeon

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.
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States with Reciprocity or Endorsement  

Colorado

Florida

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Kansas

Kentucky

Michigan

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

Mississippi

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania**

Rhode Island

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

West Virginia

 Endorsement 

Alaska

Delaware

New Hampshire

Credentials

Reciprocity 
California

Georgia

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Oklahoma

South Dakota

Vermont

Washington

Wisconsin

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensee
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially
equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license
for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements,
allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim. 
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Osteopathic Physician & Surgeon

Alabama 

Arizona

District of Columbia

Hawaii 

Iowa

Minnesota

Missouri

North Dakota

Tennessee

Virginia

Endorsement/Reciprocity

Massachusetts

Wyoming

Not Specified in Legislation
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Degrees:

Graduate from approved PA

Program

State does not offer a license

for Osteopathic Physician

Assistant
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Osteopathic Physician Assistant
Degree Requirement 

Examination Requirement 
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States with 1 required examination 

State does not offer a license for

Osteopathic Physician Assistant



3 States

2 States

CE Reporting Cycles

Continuing Education Requirement 
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100 hours

64 hours

PA U.S
0

50

100

* To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been

adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

PA

U.S.
avg.

MEDIAN: 

50 hours

  States the do not offer license
   for Osteopathic PA 
40 CE hours/2 yrs

Good Moral Character Requirement 

2 years

1 year
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Osteopathic Physician Assistant

  50 CE hours/2 yrs

100 CE hours/2 yrs

Good Moral Character Requirement for

Licensure:

Yes

No

State does not offer a license for

Osteopathic Physician Assistant
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*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles
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Initial Licensing Fee

LOWEST: $100.00

West Virginia

M E D I A N :  

$ 1 5 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 3 0 0 . 0 0

N ev a d a

Fe
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$115.00

$163

PA U.S

0

50

100

150

200

250

PA

U.S.
Avg.

Renewal Fees

LOWEST: $100.00

West Virginia

M E D I A N :  

$ 1 5 0 . 0 0

H I G H E S T:     $ 5 7 2 . 0 0

Wa s h i n g t o n

Biennial

Annual

2020   
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Osteopathic Physician Assistant

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.

PA

2 States

3 States

Renewal Cycles
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States with Reciprocity or Endorsement  

Nevada

New Mexico

 Endorsement 

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2, 2019, allows for portability of out-of-state
professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards
and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensee
from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing
requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or
criminal conviction. If a licensee comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially
equal requirements for licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license
for a period of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements,
allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim. 

THE STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE

Osteopathic Physician Assistant

Washington

West Virginia

Not Specified in Legislation
Pennsylvania**

ACT 41
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Observation Section
Thirteen states have a separate license for Osteopathic Physicians  (D.O.), the other remaining
states issue the same license type for D.O.'s and M.D.'s with the same requirements for licensure.
Those states were included in the Osteopathic Physician report to compare licensure standards
with the thirteen states that license D.O.'s individually. 

The thirteen states that have a separate licensing board for Osteopathic Physicians include: 

Arizona
California
Florida
Maine
Michigan
Nevada
New Mexico
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania
Utah
Vermont
Washington
West Virginia
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The Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic Medicine also licenses: 

Osteopathic Acupuncturists
Osteopathic Athletic Trainers
Osteopathic Genetic Counselors 
Osteopathic Perfusionists
Osteopathic Physician Acupuncturists
Osteopathic Respiratory Therapists 

Please see the State Board of Medicine report for more information for these occupations.  This
was done since a majority of states do not have a separate license class for osteopathic practice
of these professions, making them difficult to compare across states. 

For states that do not offer a license for Osteopathic Physician Assistants, please see the State
Board of Medicine report for more information. 



Arizona
https://www.azdo.gov/Licensure/Licensure#

California
https://www.ombc.ca.gov/

Florida
https://floridasosteopathicmedicine.gov/licensing/ost
eopathic-medicine-full-licensure/

Maine
http://www.maine.gov/osteo/

Michigan
file:///C:/Users/Workstation/Downloads/1972_2019-
076LR_AdminCode%20(1).pdf

Nevada
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-633.html

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/OsteopathicMedic
ine_Fees.aspx

Oklahoma
https://www.ok.gov/osboe/documents/Fee%20Schedu
le%20Template.pdf

Pennsylvania
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsC
ommissions/OsteopathicMedicine/Pages/Board-Laws-
and-Regulations.aspx

Utah
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter1/58-
1.htmlhttps://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter1/58-
1.html

Vermont
https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-
of-professions/osteopathic-physicians.aspx

Washington
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=18.57

West Virginia
https://www.wvbdosteo.org/
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