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Psychologist

A person who holds a license issued under the state board to
engage in the practice of psychology.

The practice of psychology involves the application of
established principles of learning, motivation, perception,
thinking, and emotional relationships to problems of personality
evaluation, group relations, and behavior adjustment. The
application of said principles include, but is not restricted to,
counseling and the use of psychological methods with persons or
groups with adjustment problems in the areas of work, family,
school, and personal relationships; measuring and testing of
personality, intelligence, aptitudes, and emotions, and offering
services as a psychological consultant.

Psychologists with appropriate education, training and
experience may diagnose and use psychological methods in the
treatment of a mental, emotional or nervous illness or disability;
alcoholism and other substance abuse; disorders of habit or
conduct; psychological aspects of physical illness, accident,
injury or disability; and psychoeducational evaluation, therapy,
remediation and consultation.



Psychologist

Degree Requirement

Degrees:
[ ] Masters

B Doctorate

B States with 1 required examination
States with 2 required examinations

M States with 3 required examinations
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Psychologist

Training / Experience Requirement

5 2 years MEDIAN:

2 years

1.71years

* Experience scale

1 year = 1,600 hours -2,080 hours
2 year = 2,080 + hours

50
MEDIAN:
34.29 hours 40 hours
") 30 hours
o
=)
D5
0

*To allow for comparison, CE requirements have been
adjusted to 2-year reporting cycles.

CE Reporting Cycles

10 - 24 CE hours/2 years 7 States

M 25-39 CE hours/2 years
B 40- 54 CE hours/2 years

B 55-69 CE hours/2 years

2020 Il 70-80CE hours/2 years
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Psychologist

Initial Licensing Fee

HIGHEST: $1,325.00
400
-E MEDIAN:
g 300 $347.60
£
<
()
$ 200
$105.00
100
LOWEST: $50.00
PA lllinois
0

* Initial licensing fee comparison excludes examination fees, background check fees, and finger printing fees.

Renewal Fees

$350.19 HIGHEST: $780.00
: Oregon

$300.00

300 MEDIAN:

$300.00 Renewal Cycles

Fee Amount
N
o
o

RENEICH P = Triennial

100

LOWEST: $80.00
Illinois

*To allow for comparisons, all fees have been adjusted to biennial renewal cycles

2020 pg. 3



Psychologist

States with Reciprocity or Endorsement

Endorsement Reciprocity. Not Specified
Colorado Arkansas in_Legi_sIation
Connecticut California Hawaii
District of Columbia Delaware Nevada
Florida Kansas
Georgia Kentucky Credentials
Idaho Louisiana
Illinois Maryland Alabama
Indiana Massachusetts Alaska
lowa Minnesota Arizona
Maine Missouri Mississippi
Michigan Nebraska Montana
Oregon New Mexico New Hampshire
Pennsylvania** North Carolina New Jersey
Rhode Island Ohio New York
Tennessee Oklahoma North Dakota
Utah South Carolina South Dakota
Vermont Texas
Virginia West Virginia
Washington Wisconsin
Wyoming

**Act 41, signed by Governor Wolf on July 2,2019, allows for portability of out-of-
state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by
granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to

immediately endorse licensee from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with
substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing
and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction. If a licensee
comes from a jurisdiction that does not have substantially equal requirements for
licensure, then the boards/commissions may grant a provisional license for a period
of such time to allow the new resident to meet the necessary requirements,
allowing them access to gainful employment in the interim.
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THE STATE BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

Sources:

State Licensing Boards

Alabama
http://psychology.alabama.gov/

Alaska
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/professi
onallicensing/boardofpsychologists.aspx

Arizona
https://psychboard.az.gov/license

Arkansas
http://www.psychologyboard.arkansas.gov/

California
http://www.psychology.ca.gov/

Colorado
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Psychologist

Connecticut

http://www.portal.ct.gov/DPH/Practitioner-Licensing-

-Investigations/Psychology/Psychologist-Licensure-
Requirements

Delaware
https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/psychology/

District of Columbia
https://doh.dc.gov/service/psychology-licensing

Florida
http://floridaspsychology.gov/

Georgia
http://sos.ga.gov/index.php/licensing/plb/44

Hawaii
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/psychology/

Idaho
https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardPage.aspx?
Bureau=psy

lllinois
https://www.idfpr.com/profs/psych.asp

Indiana
https://www.in.gov/pla/psych.htm

lowa
https://idph.iowa.gov/Licensure/lowa-Board-of-
Psychology

Kansas
https://ksbsrb.ks.gov/professions/psychologists2

Kentucky
http://psy.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Louisiana
http://www.Isbep.org/

Maine

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/profe

ssions/psychologists/

Maryland
https://health.maryland.gov/psych/Pages/home.aspx

Massachusetts
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-of-
psychologists

Michigan
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-
72600_72603_27529_27552-59190--00.html

Minnesota
https://mn.gov/boards/psychology/

Mississippi
http://www.psychologyboard.ms.gov/Pages/default.as
X

Missouri
http://pr.mo.gov/psychologists.asp

Montana
http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/psy

Nebraska
http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Psychology.aspx

Nevada
http://psyexam.nv.gov/

New Hampshire
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/psychologists/index.htm

New Jersey
http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/psy/

New Mexico
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/psychologist_exam
iners.aspx

New York
http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/psych/psychlic.htm

North Carolina
http://www.ncpsychologyboard.org/

North Dakota
http://www.ndsbpe.org/index.html

Ohio
http://www.psychology.ohio.gov/

Oklahoma
https://www.ok.gov/psychology/

Oregon
http://www.oregon.gov/obpe/pages/app_info.aspx

Pennsylvania
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionallLicensing/BoardsC
ommissions/Psychology/Pages/default.aspx

Rhode Island
http://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=241

South Carolina
https://llr.sc.gov/psych/fag.aspx

South Dakota
https://dss.sd.gov/licensingboards/psych.aspx

Tennessee
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-
areas/health-professional-boards/psychology-
board.html

Texas
https://www.tsbep.texas.gov/

Utah
https://dopl.utah.gov/licensing/psychology.html

Vermont
https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-
of-professions/psychological-examiners.aspx

Virginia
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/psychology/

Washington
https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificate
s/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/Psychologist

West Virginia
https://psychbd.wv.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/Psychologist/Def
ault.aspx

Wyoming
http://psychology.wyo.gov/
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