
LICENSEE SEEKING MANDATED REPORTER TRAINING UNDER ACT 31 OF 2014 

RELATING TO CHILD ABUSE RECOGNITION AND REPORTING: 

 

Mandated reporter child abuse recognition and reporting training is now required under 

Act 31 of 2014.  At this time, the Board has approved several training providers.  A complete list 

of approved providers can be found on our website at the link entitled, “Mandated Child Abuse 

Reporter Training Under Act 31 of 2014.”   As additional providers are approved, the Board will 

provide updated information to applicants and licensees on its website. 

 

The Board has also been informed that the Department of Human Services, in conjunction 

with University of Pittsburgh and the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center, is in the 

process of developing a 3-hour online training program which will be offered free of charge to 

assist individuals in complying with the training requirements under Act 31of 2014.  They 

anticipate the program will be ready to be released by late November of 2014.  Again, as more 

information becomes available, the Board will provide updates on its website. 
 
 

ORGANIZATIONS, ENTITIES OR INDIVIDUALS WHO WANT TO BE AN 

APPROVED TRAINING PROVIDER UNDER ACT 31 RELATING TO CHILD ABUSE 

RECOGNITION AND REPORTING FOR MANDATORY REPORTERS: 
  

The procedures to submit a course for DHS approval is set forth in the attachment entitled 

“Submission Procedure to the Department of Human Services Regarding Course Approval for 

Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training for Mandated Reporters.”  More information 

regarding DHS’s requirements for approved courses is found in the attachment entitled 

“Department of Human Services Course Approval Outline for Child Abuse Recognition and 

Reporting Training for Mandated Reporters.”  

 

Please note that under Act 31of 2014, effective January 1, 2015, applicants for licensure 

by any of the health-related licensure boards and the State Board of Funeral Directors must 

demonstrate that they have completed 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition 

and reporting.  It is this pre-licensure training that requires only DHS approval.  No approval by 

the Department of State or any of its licensing boards under the Bureau of Professional and 

Occupational Affairs is required.  Applicants will be required to produce documentation 

evidencing completion of the training as a condition of licensure. 
  

Conversely, under Act 31 current licensees of the health-related boards and the State Board 

of Funeral Directors must complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse 

recognition and reporting as a condition of renewal of a license after December 31, 2014.  Those 

organizations, entities and individuals that are seeking “Board approval” must submit the required 

course materials to both DHS and the Department of State’s Bureau of Professional and 

Occupational Affairs as set forth in the attached “Submission Procedures.”  Board approved course 

providers will be provided a secure sFTP site through which to submit attendance/participation 

records electronically.  Thus, the ability to report attendance/participation electronically is a 

condition of Board approval.   

 

For more information regarding the electronic reporting requirement see the attachment 

entitled “Pennsylvania Department of State (DOS) Child Abuse Training Vendor Process” and the 

attached Excel spreadsheet.  Technical assistance related to the use of the sFTP site or the DOS 

standards for submission of the electronic data, applicants may contact the DOS help desk at st-

mylicense-helpdesk@state.pa.us. 
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