As of 1/2023

Navigation Commission — Military Occupational Crosswalk

Licensed Occupations: Pilot — 1% Class, Pilot — 2" Class, Pilot — 3™ Class, Pilot — 4™ Class, Pilot — 5" Class, Pilot — 6" Class

Air Force
Related Occupations (Military Occupation Code):

No related occupations

Army
Related Occupations: (Military Occupation Code):

No related occupations

Coast Guard
Related Occupations: (Military Occupation Code):
e Boatswain's Mate (BM) [Enlisted]

Marines
Related Occupations (Military Occupation Code):
e Reconnaissance Marine (321) [Enlisted]

Navy
Related Occupations (Military Occupation Code):
e Quartermaster (W13A) [Enlisted]
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https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/NavigationCommissionfortheDelawareRiveranditsNavigableTributaries/Pages/Maritime-Pilots-Licensure-Requirements-Snapshot.aspx

Navigation Commission
Maritime Pilot

Coast Guard

Boatswain’s Mate (BM) [Enlisted]

Licensure Requirement — Military Experience Equivalency Notes

Experience
Requirement

3-12 Years

Once individuals become licensed as sixth-class pilots, their
training and experience must continue before they can attain a
first-class license. To achieve this, they will serve for at least one
year in each of five classes of licensure. The Commission issues
the following classes of pilot licenses based on the maximum
draft of the vessel that may be piloted: sixth-class license, a
maximum draft of 27 feet; fifth class license, a maximum draft
of 32 feet; fourth-class license, a maximum draft of 35 feet; third
class license, a maximum draft of 40 feet; second-class license, a
maximum draft of 45 feet; and first-class license, unlimited draft.
Therefore, as a pilot gains more experience, the pilot commands
larger vessels.

An individual seeking to become a pilot must first become an
apprentice. A four-year apprentice will complete approximately
800 trips on the Delaware River and Bay under the supervision
of a state-licensed pilot while a three-year apprentice will
complete approximately 650 trips.

Job Duties

Boatswain’s mates can be found in nearly every
duty station available throughout the United States
and various locations overseas.

They serve on every Coast Guard Cutter, from
harbor tugs to sea-going icebreakers.

Experts in navigation, small boat operations, deck
operations, crane and pulley systems, search and
rescue, deck maintenance, and small arms.

Mates are Officers in Charge of patrol boats, tugs,
small craft, and small shore units including search
and rescue stations and aids to navigation teams.
BMs utilize their leadership and expertise to
perform the missions of the Coast Guard, at sea
and on shore.

Education
Requirement

Bachelor's Degree

An applicant must have either a bachelor's degree from an
accredited college, university, or maritime academy; or a United
States Coast Guard-issued license to serve as third mate on all
oceans aboard vessels of at least 1,600 tons, or a higher class of
license.

Education/
Training

Training is accomplished through 14 weeks of
intensive training at Yorktown, Va.

Once initial training is completed, BMs may go on
to advanced training such as coxswain, heavy
weather coxswain, tactical coxswain, aids to
navigation basic and advanced, buoy deck
supervisor, command cadre school, and various
law enforcement schools.

Examination
Requirement

1 Examination

Apprentices must pass a written examination to become a sixth-
class pilot. This examination covers four topics: rules of the
road, chart work, ship handling, and anchoring and local
knowledge.

Profession
definition

A person duly qualified to steer ships into or out of a harbor or
through certain difficult waters.

Quialifications

High caliber leadership qualities;

Physical strength;

Good hearing;

Normal color vision;

A high degree of manual dexterity, all while
demonstrating an aptitude to apply learned skills to
new situations.

Related
Credentials
Offered

National Able Seaman

National Entry Level Ratings

National Lifeboatman and Lifeboatman-Limited
National Master 100 NC

National Master 200 NC

All pilots must go through the apprentice
program to be commissioned as a Maritime
Pilot.

Thus, servicemember would have to apply to
be an apprentice. Military background and
experience could be considered in accepting
servicemembers into the program and may be
used to alter their years of required training
from four years to three, depending on the
servicemember’s specific experience.

To be eligible for consideration for
appointment as an apprentice pilot, an
applicant must have either:

(a) a bachelor’s degree from an accredited
college, university, or maritime academy or

(b) a United States Coast Guard-issued
license to serve as third mate on all oceans
aboard vessels of at least 1,600 tons, or a
higher class of license.

Applicants will be judged on relevant
education and experience, physical fitness,
and moral character. Prior maritime
experience is desirable but not mandatory.

An apprentice who, at the time of
appointment, possesses at least a third mate’s
license will serve a three-year apprenticeship;
an apprentice who does not possess at least a
third mate’s license will serve a four-year
apprenticeship.



Navigation Commission
Maritime Pilot

Marines

Reconnaissance Marine (321) [Enlisted]

Licensure Requirement — Military Experience Equivalency Notes

Experience
Requirement

3-12 Years

Once individuals become licensed as sixth-class pilots, their
training and experience must continue before they can attain a
first-class license. To achieve this, they will serve for at least one
year in each of five classes of licensure. The Commission issues
the following classes of pilot licenses based on the maximum
draft of the vessel that may be piloted: sixth-class license, a
maximum draft of 27 feet; fifth class license, a maximum draft
of 32 feet; fourth-class license, a maximum draft of 35 feet; third
class license, a maximum draft of 40 feet; second-class license, a
maximum draft of 45 feet; and first-class license, unlimited draft.
Therefore, as a pilot gains more experience, the pilot commands
larger vessels.

An individual seeking to become a pilot must first become an
apprentice. A four-year apprentice will complete approximately
800 trips on the Delaware River and Bay under the supervision
of a state-licensed pilot while a three-year apprentice will
complete approximately 650 trips.

Job Duties

Responsible for highly refined scouting and
patrolling skills.

Advanced proficiency in scout swimming, small
boat operations, close combat skills, airborne,
surface and sub-surface insertion and extraction
techniques, assault climbing, demolitions, forward
observer procedures for supporting arms, initial
terminal guidance operations for heliborne assaults,
airborne insertion operations, and various
waterborne operations.

Specializes in communications, photography,
threat weapons and equipment recognition, and
various types of point, area, and related necessary
overlap of ground amphibious reconnaissance
operations.

Education
Requirement

Bachelor's Degree

An applicant must have either a bachelor's degree from an
accredited college, university, or maritime academy; or a United
States Coast Guard-issued license to serve as third mate on all
oceans aboard vessels of at least 1,600 tons, or a higher class of
license.

Examination
Requirement

1 Examination

Apprentices must pass a written examination to become a sixth-
class pilot. This examination covers four topics: rules of the
road, chart work, ship handling, and anchoring and local
knowledge.

Education/
Training

The Basic RECON Course is nine weeks long and
has three phases:

o Phase 1 focuses on Marine individual
physical skills such as running, high
repetition PT, obstacle courses, ocean
swims with fins, rucking, land navigation,
helicopter rope suspension training,
communications, and supporting arms.

o Phase 2 focuses on the tactical mission.
Small unit tactics, mission planning, and
several day-full mission profile exercises
are included.

o Phase 3 focuses on the maritime mission,
boat operations, and small boat
navigation.

Profession
definition

A person duly qualified to steer ships into or out of a harbor or
through certain difficult waters.

Quialifications

Score of 105 or higher on the general technical
segment of the Armed Services Vocational
Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) tests

First-class swimmer qualification

First-class score on the physical fitness test

All Marines must successfully complete the Marine
Rifleman Course

Related
Credentials
Offered

Advanced Open Water Diver

Air Diver

Bell/Saturation Diver

Certified Corrections Officer

Certified Corrections Officer/Provisional

All pilots must go through the apprentice
program to be commissioned as a Maritime
Pilot.

Thus, servicemember would have to apply to
be an apprentice. Military background and
experience could be considered in accepting
servicemembers into the program and may be
used to alter their years of required training
from four years to three, depending on the
servicemember’s specific experience.

To be eligible for consideration for
appointment as an apprentice pilot, an
applicant must have either:

(a) a bachelor’s degree from an accredited
college, university, or maritime academy or

(b) a United States Coast Guard-issued
license to serve as third mate on all oceans
aboard vessels of at least 1,600 tons, or a
higher class of license.

Applicants will be judged on relevant
education and experience, physical fitness,
and moral character. Prior maritime
experience is desirable but not mandatory.

An apprentice who, at the time of
appointment, possesses at least a third mate’s
license will serve a three-year apprenticeship;
an apprentice who does not possess at least a
third mate’s license will serve a four-year
apprenticeship.



Navigation Commission
Maritime Pilot

Navy

Quartermaster (W13A) [Enlisted]

Licensure Requirement — Military Experience Equivalency Notes

Experience
Requirement

3-12 Years

Once individuals become licensed as sixth-class pilots, their
training and experience must continue before they can attain a
first-class license. To achieve this, they will serve for at least one
year in each of five classes of licensure. The Commission issues
the following classes of pilot licenses based on the maximum
draft of the vessel that may be piloted: sixth-class license, a
maximum draft of 27 feet; fifth class license, a maximum draft
of 32 feet; fourth-class license, a maximum draft of 35 feet; third
class license, a maximum draft of 40 feet; second-class license, a
maximum draft of 45 feet; and first-class license, unlimited draft.
Therefore, as a pilot gains more experience, the pilot commands
larger vessels.

An individual seeking to become a pilot must first become an
apprentice. A four-year apprentice will complete approximately
800 trips on the Delaware River and Bay under the supervision
of a state-licensed pilot while a three-year apprentice will
complete approximately 650 trips.

Job Duties

In charge of the watch-to-watch navigation and the
maintenance, correction, and preparation of
nautical charts and navigation publications.
Responsible for navigational instruments and
clocks and the training of ship's lookouts and
helmsmen.

Perform ship control, navigation, and bridge watch
duties;

Procure, correct, use, and stow navigational and
oceanographic publications and charts;

Maintain navigational instruments and keep correct
navigational time

Education
Requirement

Bachelor's Degree

An applicant must have either a bachelor's degree from an
accredited college, university, or maritime academy; or a United
States Coast Guard-issued license to serve as third mate on all
oceans aboard vessels of at least 1,600 tons, or a higher class of
license.

Examination
Requirement

1 Examination

Apprentices must pass a written examination to become a sixth-
class pilot. This examination covers four topics: rules of the
road, chart work, ship handling, and anchoring and local
knowledge.

Education/
Training

Quartermasters must successfully complete eight
weeks of Navy Recruit Training, at the Recruit
Training Command, Great Lakes (RTC Great
Lakes).

Sailors are taught the fundamentals of navigation
and oceanography through classroom and group
instructions.

Upon graduation, the new Quartermasters must be
able to conduct weather observations, operate
electronic navigation equipment, determine
compass and gyro error, keep logs and records,
compute times of sunrise and sunset, compute tide
and tidal current data, determine their ship’s
position by visual and electronic means, and follow
the nautical rules-of-the-road to prevent collisions
at sea.

Profession
definition

A person duly qualified to steer ships into or out of a harbor or
through certain difficult waters.

Quialifications

Must have normal color perception.

Vision must correct to 20/20.

Must have normal hearing.

Must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
Must have an Armed Forces Vocational Aptitude
Battery (ASVAB) score of VE (Verbal) + AR
(Arithmetic Reasoning) = 96.

Related
Credentials
Offered

Certified Computer Skills Specialist

Germal Communications Technician - Level 1
IC3 Digital Literacy Certification
International Computer Driving License
Microsoft Office Specialist

All pilots must go through the apprentice
program to be commissioned as a Maritime
Pilot.

Thus, servicemember would have to apply to
be an apprentice. Military background and
experience could be considered in accepting
servicemembers into the program and may be
used to alter their years of required training
from four years to three, depending on the
servicemember’s specific experience.

To be eligible for consideration for
appointment as an apprentice pilot, an
applicant must have either:

(a) a bachelor’s degree from an accredited
college, university, or maritime academy or

(b) a United States Coast Guard-issued
license to serve as third mate on all oceans
aboard vessels of at least 1,600 tons, or a
higher class of license.

Applicants will be judged on relevant
education and experience, physical fitness,
and moral character. Prior maritime
experience is desirable but not mandatory.

An apprentice who, at the time of
appointment, possesses at least a third mate’s
license will serve a three-year apprenticeship;
an apprentice who does not possess at least a
third mate’s license will serve a four-year
apprenticeship.



