MEMORANDUM

May 13, 2024

To: Mercer County Board of Elections

From: Thad Hall, Elections Director

Subject: Two-Percent Election Audit

On Monday, May 6, 2024, the two (2) percent audit of ballots cast in the 2024 Primary Election was conducted.

Audit Teams

The audit was conducted by bipartisan teams of individuals appointed by the political parties, with each party appointing five (5) individuals. The teams are listed below.

Democratic Party	Republican Party
Jane Cleary	Gage Bartholomew
Deborah Fischer	Jean Gilliland
John Kiefer	Robert Hutchinson
Genevieve Monks	Bud Jennings
Dorothy Shomin	Donna Laver

Precincts Selected for Auditing

Election Day ballots in four (4) precincts were selected for the audit; the Democratic Party selecting two (2) precincts and the Republican Party selecting two (2) precincts. In addition, mail ballots in Hermitage NW-3 was selected for the audit. The total number of ballots audited for each precinct is listed below.

Precinct	Democratic Ballots	Republican Ballots	Total Ballots
Farrell 2-3	78	20	98
French Creek Township	77	22	99
Hermitage NE-2	43	108	151
Hermitage NW-3	58	23	81
Jackson Township	26	152	178
TOTAL BALLOTS AUDITED	282	325	607

In total, the audit teams recounted 3.7% of all ballots cast in the primary election, with 4.16% of the Democratic Party ballots being audited and 3.36% of the Republican ballots being audited.

Races Audited

All competitive races for civil offices were audited¹. The races audited are listed below.

Democratic Party	Republican Party
President of the United States	President of the United States
Attorney General	Attorney General
Auditor General	
State Treasurer	

¹ The delegate contests constitute party elections and were not included in the audit.

Audit Method

The audit was a hand count of each precinct, with each race counting using a stacking method. For each race, the team members reviewed the candidate choice on the ballot and sorted the ballots it into piles. There was one (1) pile for each candidate. After the sorting process was complete, the team members counted each pile into stacks of 10, with the remainder on top. One team member entered the number of ballots in each stack onto the Audit Tally Sheet.

An election office staff person checked the hand count totals against the unofficial election results for that precinct. If a discrepancy was identified, the team re-counted the race to determine the issue.

Results

The audit involved the hand counting a total of 607 ballots. For every precinct, the hand count results matched the results of ballots scanned at the precinct on Election Day. The tally results for each precinct are attached.

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		1000
NIKKI R HALEY	\\Z	2
DONALD J TRUMP	18	18
ATTORNEY GENERAL	11.17	
DAVE SUNDAY	12-	12
CRAIG WILLIAMS	6	(0

TEAM MEMBERS:

PROJENDINGS

Precinct: FARRell - 2-3

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
JOSEPH R BIDEN JR.	# 7/	71
DEAN PHILLIPS	\$ 7	7
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JACK STOLLSTEIMER	10	(a
EUGENE PASQUALE	36	36
JOE KAHN	12	12
KEIR BRADFORD-GREY	7	7
JARED SOLOMON	4	4
AUDITOR GENERAL		
MALCOLM KENYATTA	40	40
MARK PINSLEY	23	23
STATE TREASURER		
RYAN BIZZARRO	30	30
ERIN MCCLELLAND	37	37

TEAM MEMBERS:

13 NO. VOTE

13ud JENNINGS

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
NIKKI R HALEY	1	1 - 1 - 2 -
DONALD J TRUMP	-60 75	75
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
DAVE SUNDAY	50	50
CRAIG WILLIAMS	114	111

FRENCH CREEK Elethon DAY

TEAM MEMBERS:

JOHN Kefer JEAN Gilliland

Precinct: FRENCH CREEK - Election DAY

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
JOSEPH R BIDEN JR.	13.15	15
DEAN PHILLIPS	4	4 .
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JACK STOLLSTEIMER	1	
EUGENE PASQUALE	49	9.
JOE KAHN	6.89 9	9
KEIR BRADFORD-GREY		&
JARED SOLOMON		
AUDITOR GENERAL		
MALCOLM KENYATTA	8	8
MARK PINSLEY	6 14	14
STATE TREASURER		
RYAN BIZZARRO	12/5	15
ERIN MCCLELLAND	6	(0

TEAM MEMBERS:

JOHN KIEFER JEAN GILLIAND

Precinct: Hermitage NE-2 - Election DAM

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
NIKKI R HALEY	11	1/
DONALD J TRUMP	94	94
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
DAVE SUNDAY	72	72
CRAIG WILLIAMS	27	27

TEAM MEMBERS:

Gage Bartholomew Deneviewe Monks

Hermitage NE-2 - Election Day

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
JOSEPH R BIDEN JR.	BUS 31	3/
DEAN PHILLIPS	11	11
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JACK STOLLSTEIMER	2	7
EUGENE PASQUALE	25	25
JOE KAHN	7	7
KEIR BRADFORD-GREY	4	4
JARED SOLOMON	4	4
AUDITOR GENERAL		
MALCOLM KENYATTA	21	21
MARK PINSLEY	19	19
STATE TREASURER		
RYAN BIZZARRO	23	23
ERIN MCCLELLAND	19	19

TEAM MEMBERS:

Genevieve Monks
Gage Bartholomew

Precinct: Hermitage NW-3-ABSENTEE

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
JOSEPH R BIDEN JR.	53	53
DEAN PHILLIPS	3	3
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JACK STOLLSTEIMER	2	2
EUGENE PASQUALE	40	40
JOE KAHN	6	6
KEIR BRADFORD-GREY	7	7
JARED SOLOMON		
AUDITOR GENERAL		
MALCOLM KENYATTA	34	34
MARK PINSLEY	19	19
STATE TREASURER		
RYAN BIZZARRO	15	15
ERIN MCCLELLAND	39	29

TEAM MEMBERS:

Robert Hutchinson

Precinct: Hermitage NW-3-ABSENTEE

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
JOSEPH R BIDEN JR.	53	53
DEAN PHILLIPS	3	3
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JACK STOLLSTEIMER	2	2
EUGENE PASQUALE	40	40
JOE KAHN	6	6
KEIR BRADFORD-GREY	7	7
JARED SOLOMON		
AUDITOR GENERAL		
MALCOLM KENYATTA	34	34
MARK PINSLEY	19	19
STATE TREASURER		
RYAN BIZZARRO	15	15
ERIN MCCLELLAND	39	29

TEAM MEMBERS:

Robert Hutchinson

Precinct:	Hermitage L	W-3-ABSENTEE

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT	
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)			
NIKKI R HALEY	-5	3	
DONALD J TRUMP	16	ile	
ATTORNEY GENERAL			
DAVE SUNDAY	13	13	
CRAIG WILLIAMS	7	1	

TEAM MEMBERS:

Robert Hutchinson

Precinct: JACKSON TWP - Electron DAY

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)		
JOSEPH R BIDEN JR.	12 13	13
DEAN PHILLIPS	8	8
ATTORNEY GENERAL		
JACK STOLLSTEIMER	2	2 2
EUGENE PASQUALE	12	8 12
JOE KAHN	8 9	9
KEIR BRADFORD-GREY	j j	1
JARED SOLOMON		1
AUDITOR GENERAL		
MALCOLM KENYATTA	3	3
MARK PINSLEY	21	21
STATE TREASURER		
RYAN BIZZARRO	1.3	13
ERIN MCCLELLAND	10	10

TEAM MEMBERS:		DONY	UA LAVER	Donna Laver
	2000	DEB	FISCHER	Deborah & Fixher

	A STATE OF THE PARTY OF THE PAR		
Precinct:	JACKSON	TWP	
i i contoc.		. 47	

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT	
PRESIDENT (VOTE 1)			
NIKKI R HALEY	15	15	
DONALD J TRUMP	136	136	
ATTORNEY GENERAL			
DAVE SUNDAY	87	87	
CRAIG WILLIAMS	45	45	

TEAM MEMBERS:

Deborah Stischer Donna Faxer DEB FISCHER

DONNA LAVER