
 

 

 
 

MEMO 
 

 

TO  Chief Executive Officers/Directors 
   Licensed/Registered Private Schools 
   

FROM  Patricia Landis, Chief 
   

DATE  May 9, 2018 
 

RE  Private Licensed Schools Memorandum #78 
 
 

OUT-OF-STATE PROVIDERS AND PA PHYSICAL PRESENCE 
 

In accordance with 24 P.S. § 6502 and 22 Pa. Code § 73.51(c), out-of-state providers must be 
registered with the State Board of Private Licensed Schools to recruit students to enroll in a 
program offered at the out-of-state location or via distance education. 
 
Out-of-state schools* that recruit in Pennsylvania and are seeking to establish a physical presence to 
offer a portion of the program in Pennsylvania will be required to comply with each of the 
requirements below:  
 

1. The out-of-state school must be registered or apply for registration with the State Board of 
Private Licensed Schools.  The fee for this application is $7,500.  
 

2. If the out-of-state school that recruits in Pennsylvania is planning to have an in-state facility, 
this school is considered to have a physical presence in Pennsylvania. This first in-state 
location must apply for licensure with the State Board of Private Licensed schools. The fee for 
this application is $7,500 for one program plus $750 for the site visit.  
 

3. If the out-of-state school seeks more than one in-state, physical location, each additional 
location will be processed in accordance with the statute and regulations as either an 
additional licensed location or a branch in accordance with 24 P.S. §§ 6502, 6507 and 22 Pa. 
Code §§ 73.51 – 55. 
 

4. If the first licensed facility ceases operation, the school must apply for a change of location to 
continue operating in Pennsylvania. If this is not done, the in-state school will be considered 
closed and branch locations and remote sites will not be permitted to operate. 

 
*The out-of-state school is subject to the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.  

 


