(11/23)

ATTENTION

MOTORBOAT RENTERS

IMPORTANT BOATING/OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

SAFETY ON THE WATER

Wear a Life Jacket: All boats must have a USCG-approved and properly sized wearable life jacket on board for each person.

Be Cautious of Your Wake: Boats must not create a wake within 100 feet of shorelines, docks, launching ramps,
downed skiers, swimmers and anchored/moored/drifting boats.

Use the Engine Cut-off Switch Lanyard: Attach it to your life jacket, body or clothing to shut off the engine if
ejected from the boat.

Carbon Monoxide is Deadly: Avoid idling and exposure to other boats’ emissions.
Stop that Prop: Always shut off your engine before picking up a swimmer or skier.

Stay Away from Dams: Signs and buoys mark many dams. It is illegal and dangerous to boat near dams. Strong
hydraulic currents can trap and drown individuals. Keep your distance upstream and downstream.

Boats Do Not Have Brakes: Practice using the throttle to steer away from objects.
Watch the Weather: Bad weather can kill boaters. If a storm is near, head for shore or a safe harbor.

NEGLIGENT OR RECKLESS BEHAVIORIIS ILLEGAL

Maintain a safe speed. Any damage, including from your wake, is your responsibility.
When approaching another boat head on, yield to the right.
When overtaking, pass on either side. The boat being overtaken should maintain its course and speed.

In a crossing situation, the boat on your right has the right of way. Adjust course, slow down, and pass behind
the right-side boat. You have the right of way over boats on your left, but yield when in doubt.

ITISILLEGALTO:

Operate any boat while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
Operate a watercraft in a reckless or dangerous manner.
Operate within 100 feet of a skier towed by another boat.

Operate a motorboat less than 20 feet in length at greater than slow, no-wake speed while a
person is standing on or in the boat.

Operate a motorboat not equipped with railings or other safeguards at greater than slow,
no-wake speed while a person is riding on the bow decking, gunwales, transom or motor cover.

More information:

MINIMUM AGE OF OPERATION - GREATER THAN 25 HP

Persons 11 years of age or younger may not operate.

Persons born on or after January 1, 1982, may not operate unless they have obtained and fishandboat.com/Boating/
carry a Boating Safety Education Certificate. Pages/default.aspx

Penalty for Violation as Provided by Law
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission WEARIT

National Safe Boating Council

Pennsylvania




