(11/23)

ATTENTION

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC) RENTERS
IMPORTANT BOATING/OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

SAFETY ON THE WATER

Wear a Life Jacket: All PWC operators and passengers must wear a USCG-approved and properly sized life jacket.
Inflatable life jackets are not acceptable.

Carry a Whistle: Attach a whistle to the life jacket to meet sound-producing device legal requirements.

Be Aware of Your Surroundings: Most PWC accidents occur due to collisions between boats, other PWCs or
stationary objects.

Be Cautious of Your Wake: PWCs must not create a wake within 100 feet of shorelines, launching ramps, docks,
downed skiers, swimmers and anchored/moored/drifting boats.

Use the Engine Cut-off Switch Lanyard: Attach it to your life jacket, body or clothing to shut off the engine if
ejected from the PWC.

Stay Away from Dams: Signs and buoys mark many dams. It is illegal and dangerous to boat near dams. Strong
hydraulic currents can trap and drown individuals. Keep your distance upstream and downstream.

PWCs Do Not Have Brakes: Practice using the throttle to steer away from objects. Test the PWCs turning
radius and stopping distance.

Watch the Weather: Bad weather can kill boaters. If a storm is near, head for shore or a safe harbor.

NEGLIGENT OR RECKLESS BEHAVIORIS ILLEGAL

Maintain a safe speed. Any damage, including from your wake, is your responsibility.
When approaching another boat head on, yield to the right.
When overtaking, pass on either side. The boat being overtaken should maintain its course and speed.

In a crossing situation, the boat on your right has the right of way. Adjust course, slow down, and pass behind the
right-side boat. You have the right of way over boats on your left, but yield when in doubt.

Wake jumping is dangerous and illegal in some situations.

ITISILLEGALTO:

Operate any boat while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
Operate a watercraft in a reckless or dangerous manner.

Operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise.

Operate within 100 feet of anyone being towed behind a boat.

Operate closer than 100 feet behind or 50 feet beside a boat.

More information:

MINIMUM AGE OF OPERAT'ON fishandboat.com/Boating/

Pages/default.
Must be 16 years or older to rent and operate a PWC. All operators, regardless of age, must agesEetaalasx

have a Boating Safety Education Certificate.

Penalty for Violation as Provided by Law
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission WEARIT

National Safe Boating Council

Pennsylvania




