Handbook for Issuing
Pennsylvania Boat Registrations and Titles

Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission (PFBC)

Contact Information

Direct correspondence, reports, inquiries on the status
of registrations, and related questions to:

Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission
Division of Licensing and Registration
P.O. Box 68900
Harrisburg, PA 17106-8900

Telephone: 866-BOATREG (866-262-8734)
Fax: (717) 705-7931

www.fishandboat.com

Address for UPS, FedEx, DHL, etc.

Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission
Division of Licensing and Registration
1601 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110

Office Hours
8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
Monday through Friday
Closed on State Holidays


http://www.fishandboat.com/

PFBC Regional Law Enforcement Offices - Direct questions regarding rules and regulations to your local
office. Do not call these offices to check the status of registrations or titles.

NORTHWEST REGION -

11528 State Highway 98, Meadville, PA 16335

814-337-0444 @ Fax: 814-337-0579

Counties - Butler, Clarion, Crawford, Erie, Forest, Lawrence, Mercer, Venango, Warren

SOUTHWEST REGION -

236 Lake Road, Somerset, PA 15501-1644

814-445-8974 @ Fax: 814-445-3497

Counties - Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Cambria, Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington,
Westmoreland

NORTHCENTRAL REGION -

595 East Rolling Ridge Drive, Bellefonte, PA 16823

814-359-5250 @ Fax: 814-359-5254

Counties - Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Elk, Jefferson, Lycoming, McKean, Montour,
Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Tioga, Union

SOUTHCENTRAL REGION -

1704 Pine Road, Newville, PA 17241

717-486-7087 @ Fax: 717-486-8227

Counties - Adams, Bedford, Blair, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lebanon,
Mifflin, Perry, York

NORTHEAST REGION -

5565 Main Road, Sweet Valley, PA 18656

570-477-5717 @ Fax: 570-477-3221

Counties - Bradford, Carbon, Columbia, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Monroe, Pike, Sullivan, Susquehanna,
Wayne, Wyoming

SOUTHEAST REGION -

Box 9, Elm, PA 17521

717-626-0228 @ Fax: 717-626-0486

Counties - Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lancaster, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, Philadelphia,
Schuylkill

PROTECT * CONSERVE « ENHANCE
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Section |
Operation of the Boat Registration & Titling Agency

A. Sub-Agents Prohibited - Issuing agents are not permitted to appoint sub-agents to sell or issue
temporary boat registrations. Violation will result in the loss of an agent’s authority to issue temporary
registrations.

B. Bond Coverage - The minimum bond coverage for each agent is $2,000 for each location where
temporary registrations are issued. Agents should secure sufficient bond amounts to ensure purchase
of an adequate supply of temporary registrations to meet local demand. Prior year sales are generally
good criteria for determining the size of the bond. Large volume agencies should have a
proportionately larger bond.

C. Temporary Registration Summary Report - Agents are required by law to submit reports of
temporary registrations issued within 10 days of issuance. The Temporary Registration Summary
Report must accompany the applications for boat registration. Delinquent agents are subject to a
penalty of ten percent (10 %) per month or portion of a month on any outstanding balance of
registration money due the Commission, which is not paid when due. Reports will be audited for
accuracy on dates sold and reported.

1. Items listed below must be returned to the Division of Licensing and Registration within 10 days
of Issuance and must arrive together.
¢ FormPFBC-725, Temporary Registration Summary Report
¢ PFBC copy of the completed temporary registration (REV-336)

2. Items listed below must be retained by the agent.
¢ Copy of Temporary Registration Summary Report
¢ Agent copy of completed applications, REV-336.

D. Additional Supplies - Use form PFBC-701, Registration & Titling Supply Request, to order additional
forms and supplies. Fax or mail orders to the Division of Licensing and Registration.

E. Check Shipments - Check your shipment immediately upon arrival. Report any discrepancies.
F. Audits - Agent accounts may be audited annually.

G. Nonpublic Information - Issuing agents have access to nonpublic information concerning holders of
boat registration and titles. Issuing agents shall not release or disclose any nonpublic information,
except for official purposes.

H. Insufficient Funds - If any check issued in payment is returned to the PFBC as uncollectible, the
person who makes, issues, or presents the check shall be charged a fee of $15.00.

1. Replacement payment must be made by certified check or money order.

2. Failure to forward the amount due within ten days after notice of insufficient funds will result in
the Commission initiating criminal charges.

. Violations - Any issuing agent violating provisions of this handbook or the rules and regulations
regarding operation of a boat registration issuing agency commits a summary offense and, in addition,
may have the agency recalled at the discretion of the PFBC.

J.  Amphibious All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs) ATV owners are required to register their vehicles with
the PFBC if they are operating in water. The Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
(DCNR) is where registration should begin. Once the customer has registration from DCNR they may
provide a copy of the registration and title to the PFBC and appropriate paperwork to obtain PFBC
registration.



A. Boa

Section |1
General Information

t Registration - Pennsylvania boat registrations are issued directly to boat owners by the

Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission (PFBC).

Are

gistration card is provided as proof of registration and it must be carried on the boat for which it is

issued.

Regi

strations are valid for two years and expire on March 31 of the 2™ year. One-year registrations are

not issued.

1.

Boats that must be registered include:

+ Motorboats, including boats equipped with electric motors

+ Boats (powered and unpowered) used at PFBC lakes or access areas. Please Note: Owners
of non-powered vessels have the option to obtain a Use (Launch) Permit.

+ Documented vessels used for recreational purposes

+ Boats registered in other states when PA becomes the state of principal use; a boat must be

registered in PA within 60 days

2. Boats that do not require registration include:

Foreign boats temporarily using the waters of this Commonwealth

Boats owned by the United States

Boats used solely for public service functions such as search and rescue (See 1-3)
Lifeboats on ships

Documented vessels used for non-recreational purposes

* & & o o

Obtaining a Boat Registration and/or Boat Title — Registrations and titles are obtained by
completing form REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat Title, and
by submitting the completed form to the PFBC along with supporting documentation.
Applications can be obtained at PFBC offices, approved boat registration issuing agents, or the
PFBC web site: www.fishandboat.com.

Boat Validation Decals - Registered boats are required to have numbered validation decals
displayed. These decals are issued by the PFBC and are sent to boat owners with the PA Boat
Registration Card on a single self-mailing form. Validation decals will indicate Powered or
Unpowered and PA boat registration number printed on the decal that corresponds for the specific
boat. Decals cannot be used on any boat other than the boat for which they are issued.

Replacement Boat Registration/Decals - If the PFBC is notified within 90 days of issuing a
registration certificate and validation decals that the intended recipient has not received them, the
PFBC shall issue a replacement registration certificate and a set of replacement validation decals at
no cost to the customer. If the PFBC does not receive notification within 90 days of issuing a
registration certificate and validation decals that the intended recipient has not received them, the
customer shall be required to purchase a duplicate registration card at the cost of $3.00 and shall
be issued a set of replacement validation decals at no cost. Duplicate registration cards and
validation decals can be obtained only from the PFBC’s Division of Licensing and Registration.
Use form PFBC-732 for a duplicate registration card and/or validation decals. Applications can be
obtained at PFBC offices, approved boat registration issuing agents, or at our web site:
www.fishandboat.com or may be processed on the Outdoor Shop at www.pa.wildlifelicense.com.

B. Temporary Registrations - Issued by the PFBC and designated issuing agents.


http://www.fish.state.pa.us/
http://www.fish.state.pa.us/
http://www.pa.wildlifelicense.com/

. The green, “owner”, copy of the REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or
Boat Title becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

. Temporary registrations are issued for new boats, transfers of ownership, boats previously
registered in another state and currently registered boats that are upgrading from unpowered to
powered.

Do not issue temporary registrations for dealers, jobbers, manufacturers, duplicate registrations,
renewal applications, applications for abandoned boats, or title only. These are handled directly by
the PFBC.

. Temporary registrations are valid for 60 days from the date of the application. Refer to the 60-day
Temporary Registration and T-Sticker Expiration Insert. Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents or can be obtained on www.fishandboat.com under permits and forms, PFBC Agents.

Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.

. Submit the REV 336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat Title and
supporting documents to PFBC.


http://www.fishandboat.com/

Example of a Powered Registration Card and Validation Decal Form

PENNSYLVANIA FISH & BOAT COMMISSION PENNSYLVANIA FISH & BOAT COMMISSION

POWERED POWERED

2 .

PA 0000 BD PA 0000 BD

REGISTRATION EXPIRES MARCH 31 2021 REGISTRATION EXPIRES MARCH 31 2021

UNPOWERED REGISTRATIONS are only valid for boats
WITHOUT electric motors or internal combustion engines
PLACEMENT ON BOAT:

PAINTED OR ATTACHED TO
EACH FORWARD HALF OF VESSEL

half of the ot where no other number may be displayed.
- Be bold, block letters 3 inches high and contrasting color to the
boat hull.

- Be separated by hyphen or space equal ta the width of any
plhis,
p

Registration letters and numbers must:

+ Read fram |eft to right, be in a continuous line and easily read.

SPACING-HYPHEN OR EQUIVALENT SPACE WITHING
BETWEEN 3 PARTS OF YOUR NUMBER INCHES

or follawing) on the same level. Howta apply:
L lied must be

ETIL: L TA R TN 2 Carefully remove decal fram paper backing,
3 Pt d

| 4
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA MARCH 31, 2021 PA 0000 BD |
PE BOAT COMMISSION
CERTIFICATE OF BOAT REGISTRATION EXPIRES REGISTRATION NUMBER
VALIDATED HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER [
1210172018 ERDS0832409 TEST 80T RECORD

0 ELUERTON AVENUE LOT 100
HARRISEURG FA

. EAST RIVER BOATWORKS.
|
|

TITLE NUMBER MANUFACTURER e SRS R 2
FEET _INCHES
8171962 18 - 1985




Example of an Unpowered Registration Card and Validation Decal Form

PENNSYLVANIA FISH & BOAT COMMISSION PENNSYLVANIA FISH & BOAT COMMISSION

UNPOWERED UNPOWERED

2 .

PA 0000 BD PA 0000 BD

REGISTRATION EXPIRES MARCH 31 2021 REGISTRATION EXPIRES MARCH 31 2021

UNPOWERED REGISTRATIONS are only valid for boats
WITHOUT electric motors or internal combustion engines

Registration letters and numbers must:

+ Read fram left ta right, be in a continuous line and easily read.

PLACEMENT ON BOAT:
PAINTED OR ATTACHED TO
EACH FORWARD HALF OF VESSEL

half ofthe boat where no other number may be displayed.
- Be bold, block letters 3 inches high and contrasting color to the
PARO000®BD
- Be separated by a hyphen or space equal ta the width of any
1 or 1"
SPACING-HYPHEN OR EQUIVALENT SPACE WITHING -
BETWEEN 3 PARTS OF YOUR NUMBER INCHES

or follawing) on the same level. Howta apply:
L lied must be ch

ETIL: L LA TN 2 Carefully remove decal fram paper backing,
3. Positi d y

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA MARCH 31, 2021 PA 0000 BD
PE OAT COMMISSION
CERTIFICATE OF BOAT REGISTRATION EXPIRES REGISTRATION NUMBER
VALIDATED HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER [
1210172018 ERDS0832409 TEST BCAT RECORD
07 ELUERTON AVENUE LOT 100
KARRISEURG P
. EAST RIVER BOATWORKS. ket

TITLE NUMBER MANUFACTURER i 5 :
reer _mches vear  JIH
w7962 16 - 1985 E]

VALID ONLY WHEN S

ED IN INK - DO NOT PRINT |




C. Boat Titles - Certain boats are required by Pennsylvania law to be titled in Pennsylvania. All
Pennsylvania boat titles are issued by the PFBC. A Certificate of Title is provided to the boat owner or
principal lienholder.

1.

Boats purchased, transferred, or sold after March 1, 1998, must be titled if the boat is:

+ Powered by an inboard engine (regardless of length), including personal watercraft, 1997
model year or newer.

+ Powered by an outboard motor, 14 feet in length or longer, and 1997 model year or newer.

+ Currently titled in Pennsylvania.

+ Currently titled in another state when Pennsylvania becomes the state of principal use.

Voluntary Boat Titling - Any boat can be voluntarily registered or titled. Once a boat is titled, it
must remain titled by all future owners.

Obtaining a Boat Registration and/or Boat Title — Registration and title are obtained by
completing form REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat Title,
along with supporting documents and by submitting the completed form to the PFBC.
Applications can be obtained at PFBC offices, approved boat registration issuing agents, or at the
PFBC web site: www.fishandboat.com.

D. Proof of Ownership — To establish proof of ownership, one of the following is required:

1.

Valid Certificate of Title from Pennsylvania or another state, properly assigned title must be
provided if the boat was previously titled.

+ Title must be signed by seller.

+ Ifatitle has written instructions for notarization, the title must be notarized as described.
+ Ifalienisrecorded on the title, a release of lien must be attached or indicated on the title.

Valid Registration from another state.

Original Manufacturers Certificate of Origin (MCO) and bill of sale or sales receipt is required for

all new boats, except as noted below.

+ Proof of ownership must be the original MCO (transferring ownership from the manufacturer,
distributor or dealer to the applicant) for boats manufactured after January 1, 1993, AND a
bill of sale or sales receipt.

+ Note — non-powered boats with a retail value of less than $2,000 are not required to surrender
a MCO; only a bill of sale or sales receipt is required.

U.C.C. Documents, Sheriff Sale Documents, Court Order or Pennsylvania Certificate of Salvage.

PFBC-734, Affidavit of Purchase/Ownership. This form cannot be used for new boats or
previously registered boats.

Bill of sale or a completed REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat
Title, signed by both parties. The REV-336 form can be used as a bill of sale between two private
parties.

¢ Bill of sale must include the following:

The name, address and signature of the seller.

The name and address of the purchaser.

The name and address of the legal owner.

The location, date of sale, and description of the boat, including HIN if the boat was built
after October 31, 1972.

Any other serial number of the boat if it was built prior to October 31, 1972.

OO w>»

m
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E. Display Requirements for Boat Numbering - The registration number shall be displayed above the
waterline on both sides of the bow of the boat.

1. The registration number shall be in solid vertical block characters, at least 3 inches in height and of
a color which shall contrast with the background.

PA 0000 BD &

2. The registration numbers shall be painted on or permanently attached so that they read from left to
right and are in a position that provides maximum visibility and shall be maintained so they are
clearly visible and legible.

3. Display Requirements for Validation Decals - Decals shall be displayed within six inches (6™)
before or after the registration number and on the same horizontal level. No other numbers or
letters may be displayed on either side of the bow of the boat.

4. Documented Vessels are only required to display the validation decals. They should not display a
Pennsylvania registration number.

Display Requirements (if registered)
PA Boat Numbering PA Validation

Watercraft Description Required Decals Required
Powered watercraft Yes Yes
Watercraft used at PFBC Yes Yes

lakes and access areas
Documented Vessels

(non-recreational No No
purposes)

Docume_:nted Vessels No Yes
(recreational purposes)

Kayaks, sculls,

sailboards, float tubes, No Yes

etc.

Inflatable boats and boats
configured in a manner Yes - Registration numbers and validation
that a number on the hull | decals may be displayed on boards (placards)
or superstructure would lashed to the bow on each side of the boat.
not be easily visible.

13



Hull Identification Number (HIN) - A unique identification number | ACBROSBOAGEE |
assigned by the manufacturer to a boat that has been required by the
U.S. Coast Guard since 1973. A unique HIN has been required by the
U.S. Coast Guard to be permanently affixed, engraved or embossed by
the manufacturer or importer to the starboard half of the transom on the
outboard or exterior side, so that it can be seen from the outside of the
vessel. The first three characters of the HIN are generally alphabetic
and represent the identification code assigned by the U. S. Coast Guard
to the manufacturer/importer, characters four through eight represent

. . . ACB F0930 A6 86
the serial number assigned by the manufacturer/importer and the last Manutacturer's  Production Mootk Yerr Mol

LD. Code or Serial# of Production

four characters indicate the date of manufacture and model year.

Key for HIN Month Designation

A=January E=May I=September
B=February F=June J=October

C=March G=Jluly K=November
D=April H=August L=December

G. Dealer/Jobber/Manufacturer (Dealer) Trade-Ins - When receiving a boat as a trade-in, dealers must
notify the PFBC within 15 days of acquiring the boat. Once properly notified, the PFBC will indicate
the transfer of the PA Boat Registration to the dealer in the PFBC registration system.

1. Thereis no fee for a dealer notification.
2. Use form PFBC TS-1 to report trade-ins.

3. Ifthe boat is titled, the dealer must obtain a Certificate of Title in the dealer name.
¢ There is a $15 fee for the title.
+ Dealers are encouraged to title all boats received in trade.
+ Use form REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat Title, to
process all registrations and titles.

4. Itis unlawful for a person who has purchased or gained ownership of a boat with a current PA

Boat Registration to operate or allow operation of that boat until ownership is transferred and the
boat is registered by the new owner.

14



H. Registration and Titling Fees

I.  Exemption from Fees - The following boats are required to be registered but are exempt from titling

2-Year Registration Fees

Unpowered boats $22
Powered Boats Under 16 feet $26
Powered Boats 16 feet to less than 20 feet $39
Powered Boats 20 feet and over $52
Other Fees

Transfer_of Registration Fee (same owner) $5
See Section VI

Duplicate Registration Card $3
Certificate of Title (New or Corrected) $15
Lien Recording $5
Duplicate Title $5

Agents Fee

Issuing temporary registration $2
Issuing Use (Launch) Permit $1

and registration fees:

1.

2.

J.  PA Sales Tax on Casual Sales — A casual sale is a sale of a non-powered, untitled used boat between
private individuals. These are the kinds of sales that take place because of yard sales, flea markets,
etc. New and used non-powered boats, including accessories, service contracts and shipping fees, sold

by dealers are subject to sales tax.

1. Sales of non-powered boats that have been titled under Pennsylvania law remain subject to sales
tax, even if the boats are acquired by means of a casual sale.

15

Motorboats owned or operated by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Motorboats owned by public service organizations approved by the Commission and used
exclusively for training, education, water safety and other public service functions.

Although registration is not required for the entities listed below registration fees are exempt.
Motorboats, owned by political subdivisions and quasi-public organizations, such as police
departments, volunteer fire departments and river rescue units, and used exclusively in the
performance of their work in enforcement, furthering safety and search and rescue on the water.

There is no requirement to seek or collect Pennsylvania state sales taxes from individuals who
engage in the sale of a non-powered, untitled boat when the sale between the parties utilizes an
even trade or exchange.




Section 111
Processing a Boat Registration — Without Title

A. General - To register a new boat or process a transfer between two parties without titling it, follow
these steps. See Section VI if the same party wants to transfer the remaining registration period of
their current registration to a newly acquired boat.

C.

D.

Completing the Application Form - Complete REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat
Registration and/or Boat Title. Agents are responsible for the proper and correct completion of the
application prior to submitting it to the PFBC.

1.

Agents must ensure that application forms are completed correctly and signed properly. Agents
should take reasonable steps to ensure that all information presented is true and correct.

PA Registration Number — Provide if boat was previously registered in Pennsylvania.

Date of Purchase - The date that the applicant received, purchased or was assigned ownership to
the boat.

Section A - Check appropriate block.

Sections B, C, D, E and F- complete all sections and provide requested information.

Section G - Applicant is eligible to receive a temporary registration. Enter the expiration date,
agent number, and agent name. Applicant must be in possession of the temporary registration
when operating the boat.

Section H - Complete all applicable lines. Note: If sale is the result of dealer inventory, complete
line 5. If the sale is a result of a broker deal, consignment agreement, or private sale, complete
line 6 and remit all applicable taxes to the PFBC.

Section | - Complete if transaction is exempt from PA sales tax.

Section J - All parties involved in the ownership, purchase and/or sale of the boat must sign and

date the form. A bill of sale signed by the seller may be substituted for the seller’s signature on
the REV-336. REV-336's will not be processed without the required signatures.

Agent - Give applicant the green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application (must be dated
and include agent number). The green copy becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

1.

Refer to the 60 day Temporary Registration Expiration Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents or can be obtained at on www.fishandboat.com under permits and forms, PFBC
Agents.

Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.
Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:

Completed REV-336

Temporary Registration Summary Report

Check/money order payable to PFBC

Originals of the document(s) used to establish ownership

* & o o

Applicant — Applicant must carry the green “owner” copy of the REV 336 Application for
Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat when operating the boat.

16
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E. PFBC - Process application and send Registration Card and validation decals to appropriate party.

17



Example of a Completed Registration Only Form

v o (6

pennsylvania

BEMBTMINY F SEVIRIE

Application for Pennsylvania
Boat Registration and/or Boat Title

“al To
r:,::';."..: :';':.‘...,.n.,. Section A | Please check proper block: [ Registadon & Tide  [B] Regisration Only O ritle only
Naeraburs, A 371048999 [ cecumented vessel [ Regisiration Ungrade
(7T17]705-T940
fishstube, poins TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION. ATTACH PROOF OF OWNERSHIP.
|B BOAT FISH N 1] TAX AND FEES
2t amo First Hame & Daote of Purchase
1601 ELMERTON AVENUE 01-03 -79 05 /01 /2011 ‘
Mailirg Addeess Dt of Brih !
HARRISBURG PA 17100 22 717-705- 7800 [uee: s 20 000 00
Ciy Slete II* Code Courty # Phome Number Purchace Aree
10 000 00
g [P e ranes Lol | Travein Valoe
¥ LO-Ture” LASL Na P N L PA 1246 BD
E & i e
‘:] Tl Addres ToBuyer’s Date of Nuth |7 0OMC123456M989
= = -l B0t HAT 1D # (W)
Thv g I Goke To Turtes Thore Marber [l 3 s 10 00 00
Tanable Total J i 2 From Lise 1
D7 BRIt Kiina Aliagrany Courty resgents m inply Line § by 0.07
When applying for tile with a co-owner othes than your spoess, check one of the Blocks below, If ra block is i resicets mukiply Line 3 by 008
chacked, titla wil be lscusd a¢ “Tanants In Comman.” Stz of sthes coukes muEply by 0.06
A [0 scine. Right of {on death of title paes to the surviving owner). 8 Show BOLOR O Line & beiow.
B [ Temarts ia Comma (oa desth of ave owner, isterest gors ta his or bee heies or estate].
e 4 s ,_600 . 00
< BLB12345M999 BAYLINER CCazz Totai Saies Tax Ameunt
B D o Taentr cat on Mumbar (HOM] aks of Boal ool e Numie LB $ i
28 2011 w 20 m_ B 3 4 1 Tan Rt (A0 10 APOUr FLAE o CRUR]
Th ear Trpe T4l Matesind Prep Tues [ 7Y F , 600 00
[7) [ —— Sefes Toe Dus  Sobimoct Line § fom Ling 4
& Must be filled owt.
f::“ See Inmaa-npagn. Horpewts FolPersors Tl Weght Capecly  Porsons Wogd Casacty  |Ume 710 e woowin_L_csre_ 3,00
E| Dat Complete a1 o0 the Lt
" Uums
Ll
oA OQutboard Mator #1
1T GulEaard Fotor Saral Namber e dechrer T T
L IS THERE A LIEN OM THIS BOATY [ VES [ NO (U yes, pou MUST compleie Ihis saction)
|F | Lise 30 ]
Mame of Lisnhokder s Encumbranco Fae [£5)
I = - Ll § . B55 00
i [Ty Date of Lien Genned Total ~ Add Lines &, 7, K & & 10
N - - MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO:
[ £ oFtes T more Mumber PPA Fish & Boat Commission
G I AM THE (CHECK ONE BLOCK): ﬂ
[ semsterea or Triea Owrer O sewer wne is 90T the Repistered o Tees Onrer B soar peater 99-9999
. OCEAN PINES MARINA Appikant or Dealer Sakes Ta Lcense Rumber
[ T First flame [
L PIER 32 - - PA Sales Tax Exomptica Code
E Mailrg Address Date of Bwrth o bt}
CABOT CAVE PA 19100 = = -
Tey Tae 718 Cate Fhans Marbr Wes ""!."::';_":“m‘f‘_'“‘:r titled
¥ | 999999 07 /11 22- A -0000 BINFORD MARINA v w@
AGENT | Terrparary Decal # Diecal Exgires i) Rsuing Agert Mumber Rame ef Agency
Lurrent Boct Re e Title Humber
K 1/ Wa cortify under penalty of law the statements made herein are true and correct te the best of
— my/our and beliet. official Use Only

Signature of Buyer 3 :f

Signature of Seller/Owner/Dealer

Sigature of Co Buyer

’./;‘,13{_.-
(7

Signature of Lo Owner

P ps.10-2011

™ p5-10-2011

BOAT REGISTRATION
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Section IV
Processing a Boat Title Only Application

A. General - To title a boat for the first time without registering it, or to voluntarily title a boat that is
already registered, follow these steps.

B. Completing the Application Form - Complete REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat
Registration and/or Boat Title. Agents are responsible for the proper and correct completion of the
application prior to submitting it to the PFBC.

1.

10.

Agents must ensure that application forms are completed correctly and signed properly. Agents
should take reasonable steps to ensure that all information presented is true and correct.

PA Registration Number - Complete if previously registered in Pennsylvania.

Date of Purchase - The date that the applicant received, purchased or was assigned ownership to
the boat.

Section A - Check Title Only block.

Sections B, C and F — Complete all sections and provide requested info. In Section B, Joint
Tenants with Rights of Survivorship automatically applies for a spouse. If no block is checked, the
Certificate of Title will be issued as Tenants in Common.

Section D - Complete only if lienholder requires outboard motor information to be displayed on
title.

Section E - Check Record Lien block if a lien is being recorded against the boat. Complete if a
lien exists and is to be recorded against the boat. Certificate of Title will be mailed to and retained
by the first lienholder. If more than one lienholder exists, attach an additional sheet listing each
lienholder.

Section H - Complete all applicable lines. Note: If sale is the result of dealer inventory, complete
line 5. If the sale is a result of a broker deal, consignment agreement, or private sale, complete line
6 and remit all applicable taxes to the PFBC.

Section | - Complete if transaction is exempt from PA sales tax.
Section J - All parties involved in the ownership, purchase and/or sale of the boat must sign and

date the form. A bill of sale signed by the seller may be substituted for the seller’s signature on the
REV-336. REV-336's will not be processed without the required signatures.

C. Agent - Give green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application to applicant.

1.

2.

Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.

Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:

¢ Completed REV-336.

¢ Check/money order payable to PFBC.

¢ Original documents used to establish ownership.

D. PFBC - Process application and send PA boat title to appropriate party.

Note: Temporary registrations are not permitted to be issued for this type of transaction.
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Example of a Completed Title Only Application when Boat is Registered

m pennsylvania Applit.:ation_ for Pennsylvarria_ | PA Registration Number
s Boat Registration and/or Boat Title 7654 DQ
Ml ¥
P e i A | Please check proper block: [ Registrasion & Tele [ Registration Only Title Only
Viarrizoung, PA 17106-E900 O pocumented vessel [ Registration Upgrade
[713)708- 7840
e o TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION. ATTACH PROOF OF OWNERSHIP.
B BOAT FISH N 1] TAX AND FEES
Lt My o I Date of Purchase
1601 ELMERTON AVENUE 01-03 -79 01 /01 /2011
Taiirg Adareet Taia of Brh
HARRISBURG PA 17100 22 717- 705 - 7800 |iee: s
Chy Thste TP Cote Tewry ¥ Thane Nambir Purchate Price
Bipers Cmei Addiess w2 — Ty
o | SMITH JOHN T |
¥ Co-Burer Last Name Firs Mae WL B =
E 1601 ELMERTON AVENUE 05-05 -77 :
R Mailing Address Co-Buyars Duts of 3ath ]
= HARRFSBURG PA 17100 717- 705 - 7800
Tov e TiF ote “Co-wuyars srore Number |Lise 3 | J S —
Tauabe Total - Swbtopct Line 2 from Line 1
Do Huyend Bl Adciosts Bliegrany Counly rescents eu liphy i 3 by 007,
When apphying for tithe with a co-owner other than yaur spowse, check one of the blacks below. If no block is | - Pisdepiia residents mutiply Loe 3 by 0.08.
checked, tithe will be issued a5 “Tenants in Common.” Residents of sther cances mukgly oy 0.06
A [ Joint Tenants witn RIZh of Survivorship (on GRath of e Cwner, [Tl Q0SS To ThE SUrviving cwner). 8ad show amsant o1 Lins 4 beow,
8. [] Temants In Commean (on death of one owner, Isterest goes to his a7 her helrs or estate]. »
v 5 e s s aai
€ | BLB12345M999 BAYLINER cc222 o/ St Tax et
B D Moo Teentivcation Romber (HIN] Habhs of Boat Hodel Nama/Numzer Line 5 3 A 2
o 2011 a 20 . 6 3 q i 1 Tax Crean (OG0 70 B othe FITE O COIET)
T A Year Dot Lewth Type 11l Haterial Trep Tusl we | .
D Capacity Plate Trisemation Sales Tax Dur - Swbtract Lime § foom Line 4
™ s‘::l:::::l:-?ﬁg. Harscpaner ¥ ofPosem  Tolal Woght Copadty  Pormans Womnl Capocty | LI 7 (8 of Dup Cardr) e .
E Dotsonal Comoiete ok o v oMt PECres Qutard m @ Lt . .
aa L 1029384756 MERCURY 25 ' Ragtiratie Fer (1e8 AU
T Tulboard Molor St al Harkar Fanfacurer [T
” 15 THERE A LIEN ON THIS BOAT? [ YES [] M2 (1 ves, you MUST compiaca the sectan)
[F] F N B OF HARRISBURG Lisa 10
Nome of Lisrhaider
| 123 MAIN STREET 01-01 -2011 |uen . 0. 00
! [Ty Addien Bote ol Lo el Tebal + e linem B, 7. R S 8 1D
N HARRISBURG PA 17100 717-555 -1010 MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO:
oy St P (e hore Needer PA Fish & Doat Commissian
G T AM THE {CHECK ONE BLOCK): 1 |
[ Acgstored or Titked Qarar [ Satter wha 5 HOT tnz dep stored or Titied Cwrer [ sost Dzaer
: Epgitcant ur Deales Sales Taz Unerse Number
L Lt b First Nane Wi
L - - PA Sales Tax Ecemption Code
: Mailing Address Data of 3ith [ It}
Coy State 7P Coe Fhone flamber Was '“.‘:::‘J‘:";:m:’ titled
H ws [ mo @
AGENT | Terparary Decal & Tiecal Expures (morvr} Tawaiing Agert Nirvber Name o Agercy
CuTrent Boet Regetrabon of 1its RUmBe"
K I/ Wa cartify under penally of law the statements made harein ara frue and cormact fo the best of
— myfour knowledge, information and befiel. oMdal Use Only
Signature of Buyer Signature of Seller/Owner/Dealer
R " W
Signature of Co Buper - Signature of To Ownae 4
—_
" 01-01-2011 = 01-01-2011
BOAT REGISTRATION
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Section V
Processing a Boat Registration and Title

A. General - To register and title a boat, follow these steps.

B. Completing the Application Form - Complete REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat
Registration and/or Boat Title. Agents are responsible for the proper and correct completion of the
application prior to submitting it to the PFBC.

1.

10.

11.

Agents must ensure that application forms are completed correctly and signed properly. Agents
should take reasonable steps to ensure that all information presented is true and correct.

PA Registration Number - Complete if previously registered in Pennsylvania.

Date of Purchase - The date that the applicant received, purchased or was assigned ownership to
the boat.

Section A - Check Registration & Title block.

Sections B, C, and F - Complete all sections and provide requested info. In Section B, Joint
Tenants with Rights of Survivorship automatically applies for a spouse. 1f no block is checked, the
Certificate of Title will be issued as Tenants in Common.

Section D- Complete only if lien holder requires outboard motor information to be displayed on
title.

Section E- Complete if a lien exists and is to be recorded against the boat. Certificate of Title will
be mailed to and retained by the first lienholder. If more than one lienholder exists, attach an
additional sheet listing each lienholder.

Section G- Applicant is eligible to receive temporary registration. Enter the expiration date, agent
number and agent name. Applicant must carry the temporary registration on the boat when in use.

Section H- Complete all applicable lines. Note: If sale is the result of dealer inventory, complete
line 5. If the sale is a result of a broker deal, consignment agreement, or private sale, complete
line 6 and remit all applicable taxes to the PFBC.

Section I - Complete if sales transaction is exempt from PA sales tax. If applicant claims an
exemption from the payment of sales tax using the “Gift” exemption, the proper exemption code
must be included on the REV-336 application form.

Section J - All parties involved in the ownership, purchase and/or sale of the boat must sign and
date the form. A bill of sale signed by the seller may be substituted for the seller’s signature on
the REV-336. REV-336's will not be processed without the required signatures.

C. Agent - Give applicant the green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application (must be dated
and include agent number). The green copy becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

1.

Refer to the 60-day Temporary Registration Expiration Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents.

Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.
Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:

¢ Completed REV-336.
¢ Temporary Registration Summary Report
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+ Check/money order payable to PFBC.
+ Originals of the document(s) used to establish ownership.

D. Applicant — Must carry the green “owners” copy which is the temporary registration.

E. PFBC - Process application and send Registration Card, validation decals and title to appropriate
party.
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Example of a Completed Registration and Title Form

m pennsylvania

Application for Pennsylvania
Boat Registration and/or Boat Title

PA Registration Number

st T
Ciokaitig & g ot A | Please check proper block: [K] Registration & Tide [ Regisiration Only [ Title Only
Wirniburg, P4 171044900 [0 Cocumented vessel [ Regisration Uparade
[T17)705-T940
wewwfish.state. g TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION. ATTACH PROOF OF OWNERSHIP.
L BOAT FISH N 1] TAX AND FEES
i Mame Fas Hame LH T " Date of Purchase
1601 ELMERTON AVENUE 05-05 -77 04 /01 /2011
'HARRISBURG PA 17100 22 717-705- 7800 20 o000 00
HAR = 5 ' . "
City Etate ZIP Code Ceunty Phose Number E : $ Purchase Price
PO 10 000 00
o | A E— ey
u _? PA 4567 YX
¥ | Coturer Last Name ors: fame e
y o e
{;J Walirg AGaeEs ) PAZ12345E999
£ S wes 5 10,000 00
Tasabla Tetal - Bubtract Lima 2 from Lna 1
Co-Farrer's Farail Rddess Alegteny County resdents mulbply Ling 3 by 0.07.
When applying for title with a co-cwner other than your spowss, chech cne of the blocks below, If na block Is adelohia resicets musiply Lre 3 oy 008
emacked, title will be isousd 3 “Tenasts In Cemmen.” Rafdants of Jthad coUSTaE MUERly By 006
A [ deint Tenarts with Right of Survivorship (on death of one owner, tithe goes 1o The surviving owner). 0 shaw soLnR 07 Ling § beiow.
8. [] Tenants Is Common {on desth of one owner, Interest goes ta his or her hairs or estate].
4 5
< PAZ12345E202 SEA WAVE MISTY 190
g 2 Wl Téent 7 cat on Humbar (M, Was of Boal Hodel Warme Number LS 5 ) 3
ar| 2002 n 1 4 2 1 Tan Crot (pawd 0 aroiher #5te o Deer|
TA Yea Trpe 1l Matesisd Prop Fuel e | 600 00
) Capacily Pate Information: Safes Tae Dws - Goberedt e § Fom Une 4
_‘m" s‘:‘:t::;::;;e- Horscpomes olPesom  Tolal Weght Copeaty  Foisans Weg Capacty LR T(sel o1 v 3,00
!;w Optional. Complets cely If your banhold s o i U s i 39 00
o Dutbeard Mator §1 Regpisiration Fee 'ses instructions |
It Tuibaard Potor Saral Namber Hen Aeciure Horeoomte [0 , 15 00
L] 1S THERE A LIEN ON THIS BCAT? [] vES [ MO () yes, pou MUST ection] 5"*! ﬂcr;';
[F7 | FNBOF HARRISBURG et _5 00
Lias EnimEranca Fow 73]
Marre of Lireholder
| 123 MAIN STREET 01-01 -2011 |uen o082, 00
. Maiug Address Dt of Loem G Totad « A Line< 6,7, &, § & 10
H HARRISBURG PA 17100 717-555 -1010 MAKE CHECK PAVABLE TO:
ry Stae IIF Code *hore Mumber PA Fish & Boat Commission
G I AM THE (CHECK ONE BLOCK): LI
[ Regissered or Tried Qwese [0 5eter aho is HOT iha Registered ar Teied Cwrar [0 zeat Deater
: BINFORD MARINA Epglicart of Deaber Sakes Tax Uceme Number
L 2 1
U™ 123 MAIN STREET S - - A Sales Tax Exemptios Cede
" | HARRIsBURG PA 17110 717-855 “o0001
ISBU 1 - <
Ty Staie 717 Caw e T Wi this bawt et ragisbarad of thied
Ll vis [ wo X
AGENT | Tereparary Decal Thecal Expares (i) e Tame of Agency
K I/We certity under penalty of law the statements made herewn are true and correct te the best of
. my feur and beliet. aMmdal Use Cnly
Sigrature of Buyer ,}: i signature of Seller/Owner/Cealer
ot —
Gigrature of Co Duyer . Signature of Co Ovner /é‘ B
%' 04-01-2011 %% 04-01-2011

BOAT REGISTRATION
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Section VI
Transfer of Registration Period for the Same Party

A. General — The process outlined on form PFBC-R-4 must be followed when an individual is
transferring the remaining registration period of a boat they currently have registered to a boat
registration for a newly acquired boat. This process cannot be used to transfer the registration of a
boat from one party to another party.

1. The holder of a valid Pennsylvania registration on a boat may transfer the remaining period on the
current registration to a newly acquired boat (new or used).

2. There is a $5.00 transfer fee for processing newly acquired applications plus any difference in
registration fees must also be paid and applicable sales tax must be paid.

3. The PA registration number is not transferred. 1f the owner acquires a new boat, a new registration
number will be assigned by the PFBC. If the owner acquires a used boat already registered in PA,
the current registration number will remain with that boat.

4. If the registration fee for the new boat is greater than the registration fee for the old boat, based on
the length of the boat, the applicant will pay the difference between the registration fees for the
newly acquired boat and the old boat.

5. Ifthe registration fee for the newly acquired boat is less than the registration fee for the old boat,
no credit or refund will be issued.

B. Application - Complete form PFBC-R4, Application for Transfer of Registration to a Newly Acquired
Boat.

1. Complete Sections A, B, and C.

2. PA Registration Card for the old boat must be submitted with the application. The transfer of
registration will not be processed without the old, original Registration Card.

3. Section D - Customer must remove and certify removal of validation stickers on the old boat.

4. The fee for a transfer of registration is $5.00, plus the difference (if any) between the registration
fee for the old boat and the newly acquired boat. See table on the back of the form to determine
the registration fee.

C. Registration/Titling of the New Boat

1. To register and/or title the newly acquired boat, complete and attach form REV-336, Application

for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Title with this application. Follow instructions in Sections

I, 11, or IV.

2. Inaddition to completing all applicable sections, enter the registration fee calculated on the back
of form PFBC-R4 on Line 8, Section H of REV-336.

D. Agents- Give applicant the green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application (must be dated
and include agent number). The green copy becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

1. Refer to the 60-day Temporary Registration Expiration Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents.

2. Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.
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3. Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:
¢ Completed REV-336
¢ Temporary Registration Summary Report
¢ Check/money order payable to PFBC
¢ Originals of the document(s) used to establish ownership

Applicant - Must carry the green “owners” copy which is the temporary registration.

PFBC - Process application and send Registration Card, validation decals and title to appropriate
party.
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Example of the Front of a Completed PFBC R-4 Form

PFBC -R4 Ponnsyivania Fish and Soat Commission
Licemsing and Registration Section
P.0. Box 68500

Hasrisburg, PA 17106-8500
TAT-TES-THOFax: TIT-TO5-T931
‘i 30 Siote po U

Application for Transfer of Registration Fee to a Newly Acquired Boat

Use this form to transfer a boat registration fee from a boat you own to a newly acquired boat, You may transfer the remaining
reglstration perlod and value from the original boat to a new beat. Boat Reg are Not Ti

Instructions:

* Complete Sections &, B, G and D and submit the old Cenfficate of Reqistration (reqistration card) with thés application. Your
! g Carg

* Remove the validation stickers on your cld boat

® The fee for a transfer of registration is §5.00, plus the difference (if any) between the registration fee for the original boat and
the new boat (See the back of this form lo caloulale your registrafion fees

®  Obtaln, form REV-33E, Appiization for Boal Regisration andtor Soat Tite. Complete forr REV-335 with information about
your newdy acquired boat  Attach form REWV-336 to this application.

® Donatsend cash  Make your check ar meney order payable to- Pa Fish and Boat Commission.

®  Mail to the address listed abeve.

A. Owner Information

o ovn certificate

ner s sh
FISH N. BOAT

Maling ASCHES 1601 ELMERTON AVENUE

% HARRISBURG |“““ PA Zocede 17110

E-Mal Address

B. QOld Boat Infi ioN (boat you ar FROK)
T et 1234117-0100 | Pk ddeniiication Nuoer HIN - g A Y| 1234E95

PA Registraiion Number
PA 1246 ED

Mantacewr  BAYLINER | Mol §TS100 Year 1905 Lenghh (iv fest anc! inches) 24
€. New Boat Inf ion  (boat you a REV-336, Boat Titia)
PA Foegiatration Numbaer N"'A Tl Husber an | Hull bdnndific aticn Musber (HIN) 0Mc84333m5
Mandachrer e | Mol yTC Yesr 2005 Lonighh (in fowd andinches) 1 g"
D. Signatures

I'We certify under penalty of law (18 Pa. C.5. §4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities)) that

the statements made herein are true and correct to the best of mylour knowledge, information and belief.

a | cenfify that all validation stickers have been removed from the old boat (Box Must be Checked fo Venfy Stcker Removal)

Signature of Qwner or Authorized Person 57;_4‘; ﬁ a"’j Date 05_05_2011
Signature of Co-Cwner or Title of Autharized Persan Date

Applicant's Telephone Numnber Email

( 717 ) 705-7800 Address:

See Back of Form to Calculate Registration Fee
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Example of the Back of a Completed PFBC R-4 Form

Pennsylvania Boat Regisration Fee Table (2 Year Fees):

Eouls bran tham 18 el

Eaaty 14 laad bl beas than DB leed

Basty 10 (el amdd Larger

Unpemsred Boalx

S1a08
L3908
551 00
f o]

Uz this tabdz 10 Salermeine your foes 10 transfer registratien from vour obd bost te your aewly saquirsd

bk
I | Eecpeired Regtsation Trauder Fee She0
3 | mewty Acquered Diowt Roginirason Foo-- vour new boal 26
VNt bl iy Ward Ve At be e | &
3 | Roptraton Foo Ped for Previousty Regstared Bost— you ofd bost
(e fow Tebiy sdbavr) ks Vew g (e == || § 39
1 | Sobtract line 3 from ling 2 Foer DifBewrmis [hws = || & {-13]
4 | o arreset om e 4 i grostor thae $0000 § %) T ey — « 0,00
& | Addltines 1 and ¥, thesin your Hoginimmiion Fpg e e i At i = i 5.00
i s [ i 8, Wi |l i WAV NN -

1) Pyt Fiak cual fort Cssnmurs s reglaticas do mol permit o eefesd or coeif of provies(y pad
regisranca foes on regiaration dramger gt 93, Sedics 1)

= o p ool Nafes Tan seiet by iahasited (F apploshls 1y form FE VT8 fe calmilate fa las
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Section VII
Transfer of Registration and/or Title, Upon Death of Owner

A. General — This process used when the registered owner is deceased, and the heirs or estate request an
ownership transfer or desires to sell the boat.

B. Complete Form REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Title. This form is
required to facilitate all transfers of ownerships. Applicants and agents should follow the appropriate
instructions shown in Section 1 through V for the type of ownership change being requested.

1. Joint Owners - If the applicant was a joint owner with the deceased, an original death certificate
must be submitted along with REV-336 form.

2. Non-Joint Owners - If applicant was not a joint owner with the deceased, one of the following
must be submitted along with REV-336:

+ Anoriginal death certificate and letters testamentary.

An original death certificate and letters of administration.

An original short certificate.

An original death certificate and court order filed under small estates procedures.

An original death certificate and completed form PFBC-T8, Notification of

Assignment/Correction of Title and/or Registration Upon Death of Owner.
*Instructions for completing form PFBC-T8 are on the back of the form.

* & o o

3. Note - Original death certificates and short certificates are required. Copies of any kind will not be
accepted.

C. Agent - Give applicant the green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application (must be dated
and include agent number). The green copy becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

1. Refer to the 60-day Temporary Registration Expiration Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents.

2. Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.

3. Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:
¢ Completed REV-336
¢ Temporary Registration Summary Report
¢ Check/money order payable to PFBC
¢ Originals of the document(s) used to establish ownership

D. Applicant - Must carry the green “owners” copy which is the temporary registration.

E. PFBC - Process application and send Registration Card, validation decals and title to appropriate
party.
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SECTION VIII
Registration Upgrade

A. General - If a boat registrant adds a gas or electric motor to an unpowered boat, the boat registration

E.

must be upgraded to the appropriate power boat registration.

1. Ifthe boat displays a current registration, the non-powered registration fee will be applied as
“credit” toward the new motorboat registration fee.

2. Based upon the length of the boat, the applicant will pay the difference between the registration
fees.

3. Ifthe registration is expired, the applicant must pay the full motorboat registration fee, based upon
the length of the boat.

Title Required - Motors (gas or electric) added to certain non-powered boats may require the owner
to obtain a title. See section on titling requirements for boats that require titling.

PA State Sales Tax Required — If PA Sales Tax was not paid when the boat was first registered as
non-powered through a casual sale between private parties, the PA Department of Revenue now
requires the tax to be paid when applying for registration upgrade. Tax must be calculated on the
original purchase price.

Complete Form REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Title. Agents are
responsible for the proper and correct completion of the application prior to submitting it to the PFBC.

1. Agents must ensure that application forms are completed correctly and signed properly. Agents
should take reasonable steps to ensure that all information presented is true and correct.

2. Section A - Indicate, “REGISTRATION UPGRADE” at the top of the REV-336 form.
3. Section B -- Current owner name(s), mailing address and information.
4. Section C - Enter all available boat data, including the Engine Drive, Propulsion and Fuel codes.

5. Section G - Applicant is eligible to receive a temporary registration. Enter expiration date, agent
number and agent name. Applicant must maintain the green “owners” copy on the boat to use the
motor.

6. Section H - Line 8:
+ Ifregistration is current, enter the balance of money due; subtract the non-powered fee from
the motorboat fee.
+ Ifregistration has expired, the full motorboat fee must be remitted.
Include Title Fee (Line 9) if the boat meets title requirements.
+ Besure to include sales tax payments as indicated in paragraph B.

*

Agent - Give applicant the green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application (must be dated
and include agent number). The green copy becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

1. Refer to the 60-day Temporary Registration Expiration Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents.

2. Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.

3. Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:
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Completed REV-336

Temporary Registration Summary Report

Check/money order payable to PFBC

Originals of the document(s) used to establish ownership

* & o o

F. Applicant - Must carry the green “owners” copy which is the temporary registration.

G. PFBC - Process application and send Registration Card, validation decals and title to appropriate
party.
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Example of a Completed Registration Upgrade Form

REGISTRATION UPGRADE

B (R

pennsylvania

CEPARTMENT D FEVIRT

Application for

u Fla & Boat Comissi
Utessing & nqumlm Section

Boat Registration and/or Boat Title

ZI Please check proper block: [ Registrazon & Tie [ Acgiszration Only

Pennsylvania

O Title onty ‘

e cheagor RS EES [0 ocumented vessel [R] Aeglscration Upgrade
[717)705- 7940
o isa.sate.pa.m TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION. ATTACH PROOF OF OWNERSHIP.
(B BOAT FISH N 1] TAX AND FEES
Tl Mars Frs: Hae u Bate of Purch
1601 ELMERTON AVENUE 01-03 -79 e
Mailing A Dae of Brh -
Hﬁ.RRISBURG PA 17100 22 717-705- 7800 |um: s
Tlale TIF Cede Tausty & Fhane Huriber
. Bupers Eman Aadess L2 ¥ '
o n
¥y [CoEome L mame Firs: ame L
M LB
R [ Faina Acdres TorBuryer's Date of Brth
{s) - - e
Cry S IIF Code Co-Buyirs Prore Nurbes L2 3 { LI —
Tanaths Tetal » St Lina 2 from Lirg J
A

Fllegreny County resdents muitioh Line 3 by 0.07.

chacked, tit! a5 “Tenants in Commao:

mnmhl far |l|l| with & co-awnar cibar mumumu chack one of the blocks below. If #o block I

« 0 nl-r un--u m Hight of Sarvivorship an M of ane awrer, titl GOt T the surViIng cwher).,
8. [ Tenants in Common (on deatn of ane owner, interess goas ta his s har halrs or estata),

i resicents multiphy L 2 by 0.08.
Rascdenits of othae countes muiply by 5,06
and show st o Line § beow

I
Tory ales Taw Amcunt

CNPX0000D00S COLEMAN SCANOE
L Mae of Boat Model Hame Numaer Line 5 5 , .
w_B PR - T, | 1 Tan Creait (pais 0 arother sare o ek
Boal Length Trpe Dl baieno 1 Tyl e |ree i
ﬂ Capacity Pats Informston: Safes Tar Dore - S Line £ From Line 4
Mt b dilked ot
::Tl Sen instrection page. s e o @ of Fosos Tolal Waigh Capac) p\.‘.‘.-...wLu Capacty [URETdolCusConis)___ vflea_ .
E el o e - ™ » e i,
™o wd N T
oA |ouwscardmaor s S—— - . = - o
TT Gulboars Watee Seral Nawber i e |ies "
He Tise Fee (939]
" 15 THERE A LIEH ON TH15 BOAT? [] Y5 [] NG (1 yos. yos MUST compleia trgl fon L (523)
[¥] Lne 10 P —
L Foirmbrarece Foe (89]
Home of Lissholkder
L - e 1 i i
[ Cryerr T Grand Total « 2 Urax £, 7,8 98 10
N et £ MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO:
Chy Hie IIF el *tew M PA Fish & Boat Commission
G T &M THE (CHECK ONE BL ﬂ
[ #epistered or Tuked Guner O seter woa is HOT the Regisien et Owr (m]
: Rpalkcart or Buater Sales Ta Ucerms Harioer
L | st vame .
L P& Sales Tax Exemption Code
i Haiing Address ARy —
Cry St TIF Coda e M """'N‘:‘b::':r"" "1[";"‘;:;" et
H s No
[ | 99999 01/11 PFBC 0O =0
AGENT | Terspesaey Dexal & Dacal Expires (e ph h.m T
(PR GEA REJEEOCR B T8 WER
K I We certify under erwmmlmpﬂm are tre and correct o th

my/our knowledge, infarmation and beilef.

Cffdal use Onby

Sigazture of Buyer - Gnul Owmer/Dealer
Breib— Aai 3
TgastLre of Co Buyer Sgnn) /l,.m. 174
% 01-01-2011 ““7 ﬁ1-2011
REGISTRATION

/|

Prop Code = *“1”.

\

Fuel Code =1 or 3.
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Section IX
Documented Vessel Registration

A. General Information — All documented vessels used for recreational purposes (pleasure) and operate
primarily on Pennsylvania waters are required to obtain and display validation decals from the
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission. Federal law prohibits the display of state registration
numbers on documented vessels; only the state’s validation decals should be visible on the bow of the
boat.

C.

Complete Form REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Title. Check the
box indicating DOCUMENTED VESSEL at the top of the REV-336 form.

1.

10.

11.

12.

13.

Agents must ensure that application forms are completed correctly and signed properly. Agents
should take reasonable steps to ensure that all information presented is true and correct.

PA Registration Number - Complete if previously registered in Pennsylvania.

Date of Purchase - The date that the applicant received, purchased or was assigned ownership to
the boat.

Section A — Check the “Documented Vessel” box.
Section B — Current owner name(s) and mailing address information.

Section C - Enter all available boat data. Note: the “Use” code for a documented vessel is an
LLAII.

Sections D — Optional Information.
Section E - Lienholder information is not required on documented vessels.
Section F — Seller information is required.

Section G - Applicant is eligible to receive a temporary registration. Enter the expiration date,
agent number and agent name.

Section H — Proof of the payment of Sales Tax is required. Attach a copy of the Bill of Sale (to
support proof of taxes paid) to the REV-336 form.

Section | - Complete if sales transaction is exempt from PA sales tax.
Section J - All parties involved in the ownership, purchase and/or sale of the boat must sign and

date the form. A bill of sale signed by the seller may be substituted for the seller’s signature on
the REV-336. REV-336's will not be processed without the required signatures.

Agent - Give applicant the green, “owner”, copy of signed and completed application (must be dated
and include agent number). The green copy becomes the temporary registration for the boat.

1.

Refer to the 60-day Temporary Registration Expiration Insert that will be available annually to
issuing agents.

Provide a Boating Handbook to the applicant.
Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:

¢ Completed REV-336
¢ Temporary Registration Summary Report
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¢ Check/money order payable to PFBC
+ Document(s) used to establish ownership

-Copy of seller’s Certificate of Documentation (front and back)
-Copy of out-of-state registration
D. Applicant - Must carry the green “owners” copy which is the temporary registration.

E. PFBC - Process application and send validation card and validation decals to appropriate party.
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Example of a Completed Documented Vessel Registration Form
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Section X
Use Permit Decals Issued by Agents

A. General — Use Permit Decals are designed to provide the non-powered boater
a quick and easy way to get their boat on the water without going through the
boat registration process. Note: This is not a registration! Owners of non-
powered boats (canoes, kayaks rowboats, etc.) can launch their boats at
Commonwealth owned lakes and access areas under the management of the
PFBC if their boat has a current registration or if it displays a valid PFBC Use
Permit Decal. State Park launch permits are also recognized at PFBC lakes
and access areas; PFBC Use Permit Decals will be recognized at State Parks and State Forests lakes
and access areas.

Use Permit
EXPIRES
31 DECEMBER

2020

PA Fish & Boat
Commission

005645

B. Cost - The cost is $12 for a one-year permit and it expires December 31" of the year it is issued.
The cost for a two-year permit is $22 and it expires December 31" of the second year after it is
issued. Agents are permitted to charge $1.00 issuing agent fee for each use permit decal issued.

C. Issuing a Use Permit Decal — A Customer must complete the Use Permit Decal application form
(PFBC-769) and provide the requested boat and applicant information.

a. Issue Use Permit Decals in numerical sequence.

b. Write the Use Permit Decal number and your agent number on the customer application form.

¢. Instruct the user that the Use Permit Decal must be clearly displayed on each side of the boat
between the middle (amidships) and the rear (stern) just below the top of the hull (gunwale).
For low-volume boats, such as kayaks, decals may be placed on the deck between amidships
and the stern.
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D. Reports- Within 10 days of issuance, agents are required by state law to submit reports to the
PFBC of all permits sold or issued. Remit all applications, reports, and funds to the PFBC within 10
days of issuing decals.

a. Delinquent agents are subject to a penalty of ten percent (10%) per month on any outstanding
balance due the PFBC.

b. Reports will be audited for accuracy on the reported dates sold and when reports are
submitted.

¢. Checks or money orders covering Use Permit Decals fees must be remitted with reports.

E. Agent - Submit the following to the PFBC within 10 days:
a. PFBC-UP001, Use Permit Decal Report
b. Completed Use Permit application form PFBC-769
c. Check or Money Order covering fees made payable to PFBC

Use Permit Decals Issued by PALS Issuing Agents

A. General — Use Permit Decals are designed to provide the non-powered
boater a quick and easy way to get their boat on the water without going
through the boat registration process. Note: This is not a registration!
Owners of non-powered boats (canoes, kayaks rowboats, etc) can
launch their boats at Commonwealth owned lakes and access areas under
the management of the PFBC if their boat has a current registration or if it
displays a valid PFBC Use Permit Decal. State Park launch permits are
also recognized at PFBC lakes and access areas; PFBC Use Permit Decals will be recognized at
State Parks and State Forests lakes and access areas.

Use Permit
EXPIRES

31 DECEMBER
& ()

LAY
PA Fish & Boat
Commission

005645

B. Cost - A one-year launch permit sold in PALS will cost $14.90 and expires December 31st of the
year it is issued. The Price Breakdown for the 1-yr permit is: $12.00 for the permit, $1.00 Agent
Fee/Commission, $1.00 Shipping Fee and $.90 Transaction Fee.

A two-year launch permit sold in PALS cost $24.90 and expires December 31st of the second year
after itis issued. The Price Breakdown for the 2-yr permit is: $22.00 for the permit, $1.00 Agent
Fee/Commission, $1.00 Shipping Fee and $.90 Transaction Fee.

The issuing agent $1.00 agent commission is included in the price of the launch permit is like a
fishing license. For agents that continue to sell launch permit decals “over the counter”, the price

of the 1-yr and 2-yr launch permits will remain the same.

C. Issuing a Temporary Use Permit Decal — The Agent will process on the PALS system.

a. Inputall the information such as name of customer and boat information

b. Atemporary Launch Permit will print out and is valid for 30 days

¢. PFBC will mail either the one-year Launch Permit or the two-year Launch Permit out to the
customer
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D. Agent— Will have the funds available for the weekly EFT draft which will have the Fishing Sales
included.

E. Reversing Launch Permits Sold through PALS-

a.

WebPOS: Any launch permit agent that had a problem with the transaction or discovered an
issue AFTER the document printed (i.e. a typographical error occurred, the customer’s address
is not correct on the printed documents, or the customer selected the incorrect type of license)
must void and reprocess. Therefore, please contact PFBC no later than the next business day to
have the transaction voided. The Active Network’s helpdesk is not authorized to void launch
permit transactions. If these transactions are not voided and you process a corrected
transaction the cost of both the incorrect and correct launch permit will be added to your
weekly EFT. Please note that launch permit transactions are not linked to a Customer ID
(CID#).
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PFBC-769, Application for PFBC Unpowered Boat Use (Launch) Permit
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PFBC-UP001, Issuing Agent’s Use Permit Decal Report
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PFBC-770, Use Permit Supply Request

Use Permit Supply Request

e cen U ane [l
s ny & Raga

Agent and Shipping Information

Agent Name Agent Numbar Date
| Shipping Address Phone Numbar
State Tip Code

| Quantity

Item Description

Package Quantity

One (1) Year Use Permit Decals

10/shipment

Two (2) Year Use Permit Decals 10/shipment
PFBC-UP001 (Decal Report Form) Individually
PFBC-755/763 {Application Form) - Individually
[ PFBC-T70 (Supply Request Form) Individually

This Form May Ba Reproduced Locally.
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Section XI
Application for Certificate of Title by an Agent or Dealer

A. General - A new (replacement) title is issued when the original title held by a dealer or agent has been
lost, stolen or defaced.

1.

Form PFBC -T4, Application for Certificate of Title by Agent/Dealer, is available to obtain a new
(replacement) title.

This form may be used only if the previous owner’s title was in the agent’s possession. If agent or
dealer is applying for title in agent’s name, and an active lien exists on the boat, the agent or dealer
must obtain a letter from the lien holder stating the lien on the boat has been satisfied.

B. Boat Dealer

Boat must have been previously reported as a trade-in on form PFBC-TSL1.
Complete Sections A, B & C on form PFBC-T4.
The fee for a replacement title is $15.

Make check or money order payable to PFBC.

C. Agent(Non-Dealer)

1.

2.

Complete Sections A, B & C on form PFBC-T4.
Attach copy of REV-336 as evidence of application.
The fee for a replacement title is $15.

Make check or money order payable to PFBC.
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Section XI1
Registration and Titling Forms

Listed below is a complete list of Boat Registration and titling forms. Forms available at the PFBC website
at www.fishandboat.com Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader® to print forms

REV-336, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat Title
REV-336 is the primary form used to apply for and secure a Pennsylvania boat registration and/or a
certificate of title. Itisa single sided three-part snap set form with an attached two-sided instruction
page. Part one of this form is white and is submitted to the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission,
Division of Licensing and Registration for processing. Part two, green in color, is the customer copy.
This serves as a temporary registration for a boat when completed by an authorized issuing agent. Part
3, yellow is retained by the authorized issuing agent and/or boat dealer.

PFBC-T1, Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title by Owner

PFBC-T1 is a single part form used by a boat owner to apply for a duplicate title when an original title
has been lost, stolen, defaced, or was never received.

PFBC-T2, Application for Duplicate Certificate of Title or to Record, Satisfy, or Correct Lien
Information by Lienholder

PFBC-T2 is a single part form used by a lien holder to apply for a duplicate title when an original title
has been lost, stolen, defaced, never received, or when lien information is being changed.

PFBC-T3, Application for Title for Outboard Motor Changes

PFBC-T3 is a single part form used by a boat owner to apply for a new title because of outboard motor
changes.

PFBC-T4, Application for Certificate of Title by an Agent/Dealer

PFBC-T4 is a single part form used by an Agent/Dealer to apply for a new title when an original title
held by the agent/dealer has been lost, stolen or defaced.

42


http://www.fishandboat.com/

PFBC-T5, Application for Cancellation of Certificate of Title
PFBC-T5 is a single part form used to cancel a title because a boat was returned to the manufacturer or
dealer within 30 days or an incorrect MCO was submitted by an agent/dealer with an application for a
certificate of title.
PFBC-T6, Application for Certificate of Salvage
PFBC-T6 is a single part form used to secure certificate salvage or a duplicate certificate of salvage.
PFBC-T7, Application for Certificate of Title after Default by Owner
PFBC-T7 is a single part form used by a lien holder to obtain a certificate of title on repossessed boats.

PFBC-T8, Notification of Assignment/Correction of Title Upon Death of Owner

PFBC-T8 is a single part form used to transfer ownership and registration of a boat upon the death of
the boat owner.

PFBC-T9, Request for Boat Title or Security Interest Information
PFBC-T9 is a single part form used to obtain boat or lien information and/or title history of a boat.
PFBC-T10, Application for Correction or Change of Boat Record
PFBC-T10 is a single part form used to obtain a new title when any material information on a
Pennsylvania certificate of title is changed or is different from the information originally listed on the
title. This form can be used to 1) correct a Hull Identification Number (HIN), 2) apply for a
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission Issue Hull Identification Number (HIN), 3) change or correct
a boat owner’s name, and 4) change or correct boat information.

PFBC-T11, Notice of Intent to Register & Title a Boat Abandoned on Private Property

PFBC-T11 is asingle part form used to notify the Commission of intent to register and/or a titled boat
that was abandoned and found on private property.
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PFBC-T12, Application for New Certificate of Title

PFBC-T12 is a single part form used to obtain a Certificate of Title and/or record a lien for boats that
are registered.

PFBC-R2, Natice of Intent to Register Boat Abandoned on Private Property
PFBC-R2 is a single part form used to notify the Commission of intent to register a boat that was
abandoned and found on private property. This formis like PFBC-T11, Notice of Intentto Register
& Title a Boat Abandoned on Private Property. PFBC-R2 can only be used for untitled registered
boats.

PFBC-R4, Application for Transfer of Registration to a Newly Acquired Boat

PFBC-R4 is a single part form used to transfer the registration period of a valid registration from a
currently owned boat to a newly acquired boat.

PFBC-R5, Statement of Abandoned Boat

PFBC-R5 is a statement made under penalty of law that a boat has been abandoned for at least 30 days
and is required when attempting to register and/or title an abandoned boat.

PFBC-R®, Certificate of Boat Length
PFBC-R6 is a single part form used to certify the length of a boat.
PFBC-701, Registration and Titling Supply Request

PFBC-701 is a single part form used by Issuing Agents to order materials and supplies to administer
the boat registration and titling agency.

PFBC-725, Temporary Registration Summary Report

PFBC-725 is a single part form submitted by issuing agents to account for temporary boat
registrations.

PFBC-732, Change of Address, Status, or Request for Duplicate PA Boat Registration Card

PFBC-732 is a single part form used to notify the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission of a boat
owner’s address change, registrant/owner possession status, and request for duplicate PA Boat
Registration Card.

PFBC-733, Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration Renewal

PFBC-733 is a single part form that may be used to renew the registration of a boat when the boat
owner does not possess a PFBC issued renewal notice, or it may be used to renew a boat registration
that has expired.

PFBC-734, Affidavit of Purchase/Ownership

PFBC-734 is a single part form used to establish ownership of boats purchased at flea markets,
yard/garage sales, auction/estate sales, and other private transactions where a bill-of-sale or a
Manufacturers Certificate of Origin (MCO) is not available and the boat was not previously registered
in Pennsylvania or any other state. Also, use this form to show ownership of a homemade or specially
constructed boat (include bills-of-sale for major components).
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Section X111
Definitions

Bill-of-sale - A certified document that describes the vessel contains the purchase price, date of sale,
signatures of the purchaser and seller and verifies the transfer of ownership. Retail and boat dealer bills-of-
sale must show sales tax information.

Boat - Any description of watercraft constructed or sold for the primary purpose of being used as a means
of transportation on the water.

Boat Length - The measurement of a boat along its greatest dimension. The overall length is the
horizontal distance from the bow (front of the boat) to the stern (back of the boat) along the centerline.

Boating Handbook - A publication developed and provided by the Commission that contains key boating
regulation information to assist in the safe operation of all watercraft.

Certificate of Registration - PFBC-730B the card issued by the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
that evidences the legal authority to operate a boat on Commonwealth waters.

Certificate of Title - The legal document issued by the PFBC showing ownership of a boat.

Commission or PFBC - The Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission.

Consideration - The amount of money, services or tangible personal property given for a boat.

County Code - A unique two-digit code used to identify each of Pennsylvania’s 67 counties.

County Tax - In addition to state sales tax (6 percent), a local sales tax applies to boats and related
accessories purchased by residents of Allegheny and Philadelphia Counties. Allegheny County residents
are subject to 1 percent local sales tax, and Philadelphia residents are subject to a 2 percent local sales tax.
Dealer - A person engaged in the business of buying, selling or exchanging boats.

Death Certificate - An official document that certifies the termination of life.

Documented Vessel - Vessels that are numbered/registered with the U.S. Coast Guard.

Documented Vessel Numbering (Recreational Use) - Documented vessels used for recreational purposes
are exempt from displaying a PA Boat Registration number on the boat. Boat owners receive a set of PA

Validation Decals and a PA Boat Registration Card. The PA Validation Decals must be displayed.

Documented Vessel Proof of Ownership - A copy of the seller’s Federal documentation for a vessel will
satisfy the proof of ownership requirements for registration and titling.

Duplicate Registration Card - A duplicate of the original registration of the card issued by the PFBC that
evidences the legal authority to operate a boat on Commonwealth waters.

Duplicate Certificate of Title - A certificate of title for a boat issued by the PFBC when an original
Certificate of Title is lost, stolen or defaced.

Encumbrance - A lien or claim upon property.
Encumbrance Fee - The fee required to record an encumbrance on a boat record by the PFBC.

Engine Drive —Designates the type of engine used on a boat such as Outboard, Inboard, Stern Drive,
Unpowered or POD Drive
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Fuel - Pertains to the type of liquid material used to power internal combustion engines such as gas or
diesel fuels. Electric and non-power are considered as fuel types by the PFBC.

Horsepower Rating - The recommended maximum engine size permitted to be used on the craft.
Hull Identification Number -The unique 12-character vessel identification number required by Federal
Law, starting November 1, 1972, to be assigned by the manufacturer. It is generally located on the outside

of the transom, above the waterline on the starboard (right) side of the vessel.

Hull Material- What the fabric/material of the hull is made of such as Wood, Aluminum, Steel, Fiberglass,
Rubber, Other or Plastic

Issuing Agent - An authorized representative of the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission appointed to
issue temporary boat registrations.

Joint Tenants with Rights of Survivorship - A form of co-ownership that gives each tenant equal interest
and equal rights in the property, including the right of survivorship. Upon the death of one owner, rights to
the property go to the surviving owner.

Length - The measurement of a boat along its greatest dimension.

Letters of Administration - A legal document entrusting an individual with the administration of the
estate of a decedent (the letters granted when there is no will).

Letters Testamentary - A document issued by probate court or officer informing an executor of a will of
his appointment and empowering him to discharge his responsibilities (the letters granted when there is a
will).

Lien - the right to take and hold or sell the property of a debtor as security or payment for a debt.

Lien holder - The person or business that has the legal right to take and hold or sell the property of a
debtor as security or payment for a debt.

Lien Satisfaction - The fulfillment of an obligation to repay borrowed money.

Lender - The person or business which temporarily provides money on the condition that the amount
borrowed be returned, usually with interest.

Loan - A sum of money lent at interest.

Manufacturer - A person engaged in building, testing or constructing boats or boat parts from raw
material or parts.

Manufacturers Certificate of Origin (MCO) - The manufacturer’s or importer’s document that
establishes ownership of a vessel and provides for the transfer of that ownership progressively from the
manufacturer or importer to the dealer and purchaser. Required for all watercraft built after January 1,
1993.

Messenger Service - A person or business, which, for a fee, advertises, offers, or provides to the public the
service of delivering and obtaining documents to and from the PFBC.

Motorboat - Any boat equipped with propelling machinery (including electric motors).
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Notary - An official appointed by the state to verify signatures on legal documents, affidavits,
acknowledgments, etc.

Numbering - Unique number issued to a registered vessel.

Operation of Law (Transfer by) - The involuntary transfer of boat ownership according to statute such as
Uniform Commercial Code repossession or storage charges, or other State and municipal ordinance. Boats
may also be involuntarily transferred because of judgment, court order, bankruptcy action, or
governmental seizure.

Outboard Motor - An internal combustion engine with a propeller integrally attached for mounting at the
stern of a boat.

Owner - A person, other than a lien holder, having legal possession of or title to a boat. The term includes
a person entitled to the use or possession of a boat subject to the interest of another person reserved or
created by agreement and securing payment or performance of an obligation. The term does not include a
lessee under a lease not intended as security.

PFBC or Commission - The Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission.

PA Boat Registration Card — PFBC-730B the card issued by the PFBC that provides proof that the boat
has met the regulatory requirements for registration.

Purchase Price - The total price of a vessel at the time of sale including motor, accessories, extended
warranty, freight-in, and preparation charges.

Personal Watercraft - A class A boat (less than 15 feet in length that uses an inboard engine powering a
water jet pump as the primary source of propulsion) sometime called water scooters, jet bikes or jet skis
powered by a jet drive.

Prop (Propulsion) - Designates the type of motor used on a boat such as propeller , waterjet, air thrust,
manual, sail or other.

Registration - Authorization to legally operate a boat on Pennsylvania waters. Proof of registration
consists of PA Boat Registration Card validation decals (affixed to boat).

Registration Card - The card issued by the PFBC that evidences the legal authority to operate a boat on
Commonwealth waters.

Registration Fee - The amount of money required to register a boat. Registration fees are based on boat
length and power source.

Sales Tax - The tax imposed at the time of purchase, in Pennsylvania, on all vessels, including accessories,
service contracts and shipping fees, being used principally in Pennsylvania. The tax rate is seven (7%)

percent in Allegheny County and eight (8%) percent in Philadelphia County.

Sales Tax Exemption Codes - Codes used by applicants to designate a type of exemption from collection
or payment of Pennsylvania Sales Tax.

Sales Tax License Number - The official license number assigned by the Pennsylvania Department of
Revenue to a person or business for the collection, remittance or exemption for Pennsylvania Sales Tax.

Salvage Certificate - A certificate of ownership indicating a boat has been designated as junk or salvaged
property. A junk boat is a boat inoperable or damaged beyond repair.
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Salvor - A person engaged in the business of acquiring boats for taking them apart, junking, or rebuilding.
Short Certificate - An abbreviated form of letters of testamentary or letters of administration.

Specially Constructed Boat - A boat not originally constructed under a distinctive name, make or type by
a generally recognized manufacturer of boats. A boat constructed or assembled from parts of various boats

or is homemade.

State of Principal Use - The state or jurisdiction in which a boat is used the greatest percentage of time in
a calendar year.

Tax Credit - The amount of sales tax paid to another state or submitted to the Department of Revenue by
the boat dealer.

Taxable Total - The net taxable value of the vessel after deducting any trade-in amount.

Temporary Registration - A temporary registration is issued to a boat registration applicant, by an
authorized issuing agent, to signify application for Pennsylvania registration. A temporary boat registration
allows the boat to be operated on Commonwealth waters for up to 60 days while a permanent registration is
processed and secured.

Tenants in Common - A type of joint ownership in a property without right of survivorship. On the death
of one owner, interest goes to his or her heirs or estate.

Title - See Certificate of Title.

Titled - A term used to denote vessels that have been provided with a Certificate of Title.

Title Brand - Designates a marked or “branded” title for various reasons. Four types of Branded tiles are
issued by the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission: H - Reissue Hull Number, O - Out of country/State,
R - Reconstructed and S - Salvage.

Title Fee - $15.00, the amount of money required to title a boat in Pennsylvania.

Title Number - A unique number assigned by the PFBC to a certificate of title for a boat.

Trade-in - A boat accepted as partial payment on the purchase of a new boat.

Trade-in Value - The monetary value of a boat accepted as partial payment on the purchase of a new boat.

Transfer of Registration - The ability to transfer the value of a registration from one boat to another
owned by the same person(s).

Type Boat - Designates the design or type of boat being registered such as runabout, rowboat, pontoon
boat, canoe, personal watercraft, etc.

UCC - Uniform Commercial Code, a Federal act that governs commercial transactions.
Use - Designates how the registered boat will be used during operation such as pleasure, rental, dealer, etc.

Validation Decal - Decals issued by the PFBC that are affixed to the bow of a boat to verify current
registration.

48



Use Permit — Decal displayed on non-powered boats to launch at Fish & Boat Commission lakes, access
ramps and state parks.

Watercraft - Every description of device used on the water or ice or capable of being used as a means of
transportation on water or ice. The term includes boats, motorboats, iceboats, and all such other devices.

Waters of the Commonwealth - Includes all inland, tidal and boundary waters, whether navigable or
non-navigable, under the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth. The term includes ice that forms on these
waters.

WCO (Waterways Conservation Officer) - A uniformed enforcement officer of the Pennsylvania Fish
and Boat Commission who enforces the Fish and Boat Code.
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Section XIV
States’ Titling Requirements

State

Titling Requirements

California (CA)

All motorboats plus sailboats exceeding 8ft in length.
Effective 1959.

Washington D.C. (DC)

All vessels that renew a registration after March 4,
1984.

Florida (FL)

All powered watercraft used on public waterways
must be registered and titled. All un-powered boats
15 ft. or more in length must be registered and titled.
Effective January 1, 1968.

Idaho (ID)

Any vessel, acquired/transferred on or after
01/01/2000, with a permanently attached mode of
propulsion, model year 2000 or newer. Any vessel
over 12-ft, regardless of propulsion, if model year
2000 or newer.

Ilinois (IL)

All watercraft operated on the waters within the
jurisdiction of Illinois must be registered and titled.
Exceeding 12 ft. Effective January 1, 1981.

Indiana (IN)

All powered watercraft must be registered that are
valued when new at $3,000 or greater. A watercraft
that must be registered must also be titled except
watercraft with a Class Type 5 and under. Non-
powered watercrafts do not have to be registered or
titled.

lowa (1A)

All vessels 17 feet or more in length. Effective
1/1/88.

Kentucky (KY)

All powered watercraft must be registered and titled.
Non-powered vessels do not have to be registered or
titled. Effective January 1, 1990.

Maryland (MD)

All powered watercraft must be registered and titled.
Un-powered vessels do not have to be registered or
titled. Effective January 1, 1965.

Massachusetts (MA)

All powered vessels 14 feet or more in length,
effective 4/15/90. All Unpowered craft are NOT
required to be titled or registered.

Michigan (MI)

All vessels 20 ft. or greater in length or shorter craft if
they have permanently affixed engines must be titled.
Privately owned non-motorized canoes, kayaks, or
rowboats 16 ft. or less in length does not require a
registration or title. Effective April 1, 1987.

Minnesota (MN)

All vessels 16 ft or longer with a model year of 1979
or newer excluding canoes, kayaks, lifeboats or
seaplanes. Effective 1/1/91.

Missouri (MO)

All motorboats, including jet skis and motorized water
bikes, plus sailboats 12 feet or more in length.
Effective 1970.

All motorboats & sailboats 12 feet or longer, 1970 or

Montana (MT)

newer.
Nebraska (NE) All motorboats. Effective 1971.
Nevada (NV) All motorboats. Effective 1971.
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State

Titling Requirements

All watercraft greater than 12 ft. in length must be
registered and titled regardless of propulsion means.

New Jersey (NJ) Canoes and kayaks are not registered or titled. PWC
are not titled. Effective June 15, 1987.
. All motorboats and sailboats 10 ft or longer.
New Mexico (NM) Effective 7/1/87
All powered vessels 14 ft or longer with a model year
New York (NY) of 1987 or newer. Effective 6/1/86.
Titling is available but not mandatory for all vessels
Mississippi and must be registered prior to being titled. Effective

7/1/1998.

N. Carolina (NC)

Titling is required for all 2007 & newer, 14’ or longer,
powered & unpowered watercraft. Titling is optional
for all vessels that do not fall under these
specifications. Effective May 2007.

All watercraft must be registered. Watercraft 14 ft. or
longer plus outboard motors exceeding 10 horsepower

Ohio (OH) must be titled. Effective 1964. Title PWC if
purchased or sold after January 1, 2000.
All watercraft plus outboard motors exceeding 10
Oklahoma (OK) horsepower. Effective 1959.
Oregon (OR) All motorboats plus sailboats 12 ft or longer.

Effective 1959.

Pennsylvania (PA)

Any boat purchased, transferred, or sold after March
1, 1998, must be titled if it is:
= Powered by an inboard engine, including
personal watercraft, and 1997 model year or
newer.
= Powered by an outboard motor (gas/electric), 14
feet or larger, 1997 model year or newer.
Currently titled in another state when Pennsylvania
becomes the state of principal use.

Rhode Island (RI)

All vessels must be registered except a rowboat less
than 12 ft. long, or a canoe or kayak. All vessels must
be titled except non-motorized inflatables, rowboats,
and vessels less than 14 ft. long. Effective January 1,
1989.

S. Carolina (SC)

All motorized boats and watercraft, except
documented vessels, windsurfers, canoes, or kayaks,
and all outboard motors of 5 H.P. or more since
7/1/74, plus all sailboats regardless of length.
Effective6/8/89.

S. Dakota (SD)

Boats over 12-feet or all motorboats (any length)
except canoes, kayaks, inflatables, sailboards and
seaplanes. Effective 1991.

Motorboats exceeding 14 ft - plus outboard motors of

Texas (TX) 12 H.P. or more. Effective 1/1/76.

All vessels except canoes or inflatables less than 25
Utah (UT) H.P. Effective 1984.

All motorboats 16 feet or larger, 1989 or newer.
Vermont (V) Effective July 1, 1989,
Virginia (VA) All watercraft 15 ft or larger powered by a motor in
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State

Titling Requirements

excess of 25 H.P. and sailboats over 18 ft. Effective
1/1/82.

Washington (WA)

All motorboats. Effective 7/1/83.

West Virginia (WV)

Registers and titles all powered watercraft, including
sailboats with motors, purchased after 7/1/89. Non-
powered vessels are not required to be registered or
titled. Titles beginning with AT were registered only
prior to being titled. Effective7/1/89.

Wisconsin (WI)

Title vessels 16 feet or larger. Effective 2/1/89.
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Section XV
Registration and Titling Regulations

8 93.1. Registration.

(a) With the exception of a ““Manufacturer/Dealer/Jobber’’ registration certificate, which is valid for 1
year, and a ““State Owned’’ registration certificate, which is valid until the removal of the property from
inventory, all other boat registration certificates issued under this chapter are valid for a period not
exceeding 2 years. The Commission will not issue 1-year registration certificates except to
““Manufacturer/Dealer/Jobbers.”” The registration period expires on March 31 of the second year following
issuance.

(b) Except for Manufacturers/Dealer/Jobber registrations, the fee for the registration will be twice the
annual registration fee as set forth in the code.

(c) Persons registering a boat under a company name shall supply the name of an individual who is
responsible for the boat.

(d) The Commission ordinarily relies solely on the information submitted by an applicant to show that the
applicant is the true and lawful owner of the boat for which registration is sought. Issuance of a boat
registration does not constitute an adjudication or finding with respect to ownership of the boat. However,
the Commission will defer issuance of a new or renewal registration for any boat after it receives written
notice of the existence of a reasonable dispute as to the ownership of a boat. The parties who dispute the
ownership of the boat shall be responsible to obtain a determination of ownership from an appropriate civil
forum or by settlement and to notify the Commission, in writing, of the determination.

§ 93.2. Permanent and temporary registration.
(a) Boat not previously registered in this Commonwealth:

(1) A person acquiring a boat which has not been previously registered in the person’s name in this
Commonwealth shall complete an application for boat registration as set forth in § 93.3 (relating to
application for boat registration). The applicant will receive a copy of the completed application which will
be recognized as the boat’s certificate of registration for 60 days including the date of issuance. This
temporary certificate of registration shall be carried on the boat when the boat is in operation and shall be
available for inspection by an authorized officer.

(2) The owner or operator shall apply the biannual validation decals when received from the
Commission. The biannual validation decals shall be displayed on the boat in accordance with § 93.5. The
new owners will also receive from the Commission a biannual certificate of registration card which shall be
carried onboard the boat while it is being operated.

(b) Boat previously registered in this Commonwealth but having expired registration:

(1) A person acquiring a boat which has been previously registered in another person’s name in this
Commonwealth and possesses an expired registration shall complete an application for boat registration as
set forth in § 93.3. The applicant will receive a copy of the completed application which will be recognized
as the boat’s certificate of registration for 60 days including the date of issuance. This temporary certificate
of registration shall be carried on the boat whenever the boat is in operation and shall be available for
inspection by an authorized officer. If the boat is displaying expired validation decals, the owner or
operator shall remove the expired validation decals. The previously assigned registration number currently
on the boat will remain with the boat as long as the boat is registered in this Commonwealth.

(2) The owner or operator shall apply the biannual validation decals when received from the
Commission. The biannual validation decals shall be displayed on the boat in accordance with § 93.5. The
new owners will also receive from the Commission a biannual certificate of registration card which shall be
carried onboard the boat while it is being operated.

(c) Boat previously registered in this Commonwealth having current registration:

(1) A person acquiring a boat which has been previously registered in another person’s name in this
Commonwealth displaying current biannual validation decals shall complete an application for boat
registration as set forth in § 93.3. The applicant will receive a copy of the completed application which will
be recognized as the boat’s certificate of registration for 60 days including the date of issuance. This
temporary certificate of registration shall be carried on the boat when the boat is in operation and shall be
available for inspection by an authorized officer. Before operating the boat on the waters of this
Commonwealth, the owner or operator shall remove the prior validation decals. The previously assigned
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registration number will remain with the boat as long as the boat is registered in this Commonwealth. It is
unlawful for a person acquiring a boat described in this subsection to operate the boat on the waters of this
Commonwealth until the registration is transferred to the new owner as provided in this section.

(2) The Commission will send the registrant biannual validation decals and a new biannual certificate of
registration. The registrant shall display the new biannual validation decals in accordance with § 93.5 and
shall carry the registration card onboard the boat while it is operating.

(d) Expiration of new registration: In determining the expiration date of a new biannual registration, the
Commission will ensure that the duration of temporary and permanent registrations issued to the registrant,
taken together, allow the operation of the boat during at least two boating seasons. For purposes of this
section, a boating season is the period between the Saturday before Memorial Day and Labor Day.

(e)Temporary Internet registration renewals: Temporary Internet registration renewals shall be valid for
30 days from the date of issuance. A temporary Internet registration renewal shall be available at all times
for inspection on the boat for which it was issued whenever the boat is in operation and shall be carried in
such a manner that it can be presented upon request to an officer authorized to enforce the code.

8 93.3. Application for boat registration.
(a) New registration. Application for a boat registration for a new boat or a used boat that was not
previously registered in this Commonwealth shall conform with the following:

(1) Forms. The owner of a boat desiring registration shall apply on Form REV-336, provided by the
Commission. The completed form shall be forwarded to the Fish and Boat Commission, Licensing and
Registration Section [Note: Division of Licensing and Registration].

(2) Required information. The applicant shall provide the following information on the application
(REV-336) for a boat registration:

(i) The name, mailing address, residence address, phone number, county and zip code of the owner. If
there is more than one owner, the principal owner shall be listed first.

(ii) The name of the person from whom the boat was purchased.

(iii) The State registration number, if any, currently assigned to the boat.

(iv) The hull material, such as, wood, steel, aluminum, plastic or fiberglass or other.

(v) The full Hull Identification Number (HIN).

(vi) The make, model and year built, if known.

(vii) The length of the boat in feet and inches.

(viii) The type of propulsion, such as, outboard, inboard sterndrive or unpowered.

(ix) The type of fuel, such as, gas, diesel or other.

(x) The temporary validation decal number, if one was issued.

(xi) The primary usage such as, pleasure, rental/livery, manufacturer/dealer/jobber, commercial
passenger, and the like.

(xii) A certificate of ownership. For initial registration in this Commonwealth this shall be supported
by title, bill of sale, a complete Form PFBC-734 *“ Affidavit of Purchase/Ownership’’ or other positive
proof of ownership.

(xiii) The date the applicant completed the form.

(xiv) The signature of the owners and certification, under penalty of law, that they are the owners of
the boat and that the information contained in the application is true and correct.

(xv) Complete Sales and Use Tax information.

(xvi) The date of birth of the primary registrant.

(3) Manufacturers, jobbers or dealers. Paragraph (2)(iv)—(x) and (xvi) do not apply to manufacturers,
jobbers or dealers.

(4) Boat rental business. Paragraph (2)(viii) and (ix) does not apply to a boat rental business if a motor is
not rented with the boat.

(5) Incomplete or incorrect applications. Incomplete or incorrect applications will not be processed until
completed and may be returned by the Commission to the applicant or issuing agent.

(b) Renewals. Only Forms PFBC-730a and PFBC-733 shall be used to renew registrations of boats which
are being kept by the same owner. If the registration has lapsed, the owner shall obtain Form PFBC-730a or
PFBC-733 from the Licensing and Registration Section [Note: Division of Licensing and Registration] of
the Commission to renew the lapsed registration.

(c) Previously registered boats. Application for a certificate of registration for a boat previously registered
in this Commonwealth shall conform with the following:
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(1) Form REV-336 shall be completed by the purchaser and seller and signed by the last registered
owner.

(2) Abill of sale, signed by the last registered owner, may be substituted for the required signature on
REV-336.

(3) If the registered owner of a boat to be transferred is deceased, the personal representative
(executor/administrator) of the decedent shall sign Form REV-336 for the deceased owner. The personal
representative shall indicate his capacity with his signature and shall provide documentation—an original
death certificate and letters testamentary, letters of administration, original short certificate, court order
filed under small estates procedures or Form PFBC-R1—certifying his capacity to act on behalf of the
decedent’s estate. An original death certificate is not required if Form PFBC-RL1 is signed by the attending
physician or funeral director. If the boat registration is to be transferred from joint ownership, when one of
the joint owners is deceased, the other joint owner shall present the original death certificate to affect the
transfer.

(4) When an applicant seeks to register a boat having an expired registration and the last registered
owner has not signed the REV-336 or bill of sale because the applicant is not the seller of the boat, the
Commission will, prior to processing the application for registration, notify the last registered owner at his
last known address that the applicant is seeking to register the boat. If the last registered owner claims an
ownership interest in the boat and objects to the transfer of the registration to the applicant, the
Commission will defer further processing until the parties resolve the ownership issues through established
civil processes. If the last registered owner does not object to the transfer or fails to respond to the notice
after 30 days, the Commission may process the request for registration if it is otherwise satisfied that the
applicant is the true and lawful owner of the boat and entitled to registration.

(d) Transfer of registration to new boat. The holder of a valid Pennsylvania registration certificate on a
boat previously owned by the holder may transfer the registration certificate for the remainder of the
original boat’s registration period to a new boat upon payment of the transfer fee for multiyear registrations
as set forth in the code and submission of a complete Form PFBC R-4. If the registration fee for the new
boat is greater than the registration fee for the old boat based on the length of the boat, the applicant shall
also pay the difference between the registration fees for the new and old boat. The applicant shall submit
the certificate of registration for the old boat and certify that the validation decals have been removed from
the old boat at the time of transfer. The old boat’s number shall remain with the old boat, and the new boat
shall be issued a new number unless it was previously numbered in this Commonwealth.

8§ 93.4. Certificate of registration.

(a) The owner shall sign the certificate of registration, Form PFBC-730b, in ink and place a numbered,
registration certificate validation decal on the reverse side of the certificate to validate the registration. A
registration certificate is not valid unless a decal is applied.

(b) The Commission will mark a boat rental business’s certificate of registration with “‘rental business.’’
When the motor is not rented with the boat, the description of the propulsion and type of fuel shall be
omitted from the certificate of registration.

(c) Aboat’s owner or representative who rents or leases boat less than 26 feet long to someone else for
noncommercial use for less than 7 days, may retain the certificate of registration at the place from which
the boat is rented. These boats shall be identified as required by § 117.2(f) (relating to standards) while in
use and comply with this subpart. A copy of the lease or rental agreement, signed by the owner or his
representative and by the person renting or leasing the boat, that shows the registration number of the boat
and the period of time for which the boat is rented or leased, shall be onboard and presented for inspection
by an authorized officer requesting it.

(d) Each dealer’s, jobber’s and manufacturer’s certificate shall be plainly marked “‘dealer,”” “‘jobber’” or
““manufacturer’ in lieu of the description of the boat. The certificate of registration shall be onboard when
a boat displaying the number is in use.

(e) Boating without a certificate of registration onboard:

(1) When a resident of this Commonwealth is found operating a boat without the required certificate of
registration onboard and claims that the boat is validly registered, the apprehending officer shall give the
operator 7 days to produce the original certificate.

(2) Ifitis inconvenient for the operator to produce the certificate in person, the officer may permit the
operator to mail the original certificate to the officer for verification. The operator shall provide a stamped
self-addressed envelope for the return of the certificate. If the officer permits the operator to mail the
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original certificate to the officer, the officer shall provide the operator with a receipt or other documentation
allowing continued operation of the boat during the period the original certificate is not in possession.

(3) If the operator fails to send the original certificate within the 7-day period, the officer shall institute
summary proceedings against the operator in the manner prescribed by law.

§ 93.5. Display of registration number and validation decal.

(a) The registration number shall be displayed above the waterline on both sides of the bow of the boat,
considered to be any part of a boat’s side forward of a point halfway between the front and the back of the
boat.

(1) The registration number shall be in solid vertical block characters, at least 3 inches in height and of a
color which shall contrast with the background.

(2) The registration numbers shall be painted on or permanently attached so they read from left to right
and are in a position that provides maximum visibility and shall be maintained so they are clearly visible
and legible.

(3) Inflatable boats and boats configured in a manner that a number on the hull or superstructure would
not be easily visible, and unless special provision is made by the manufacturer for display of numbers, may
carry registration numbers and validation decals on boards to be lashed to the bow on each side of the boat.

(4) Unpowered kayaks, sculls, sailboards and other low volume boats of similar design are exempt from
displaying registration numbers.

(5) Boats possessing a valid marine document, when used for recreational purposes and when
Pennsylvania is the state of principal operation, shall display a valid registration decal but may not display
the registration number.

(b) A set of two color-coded validation decals will be issued for display with each registration number.
The decal shall be displayed within 6 inches of the registration number and on a level with the number. The
decals shall be approximately 3 inches by 3 inches and color-coded to indicate the registration period.
Registration numbers and validation decals shall be displayed in the following manner: PA 1234 AB. A
validation decal may be displayed prior to April 1 of the period for which it is issued.

(c) No other number may be displayed on either side of the bow of the vessel.

(d) The displayed registration number of a manufacturer, jobber or dealer shall have the number printed
upon or attached to a removable sign to be temporarily but firmly affixed to the bow of the vessel being
operated for demonstration or testing. This temporary placement of the number shall otherwise be as
prescribed in this section. This number may be transferred from boat to boat but may be used on only one
boat at a time.

(e) Anunauthorized person may not erase, deface, change paint on or tamper with a registration number
or certificate, validation decal or other identification number on a boat or motor.

§ 93.6. Numbering pattern.

(a) The registration number shall be divided into three parts. The first or prefix part shall consist of the
letters ““PA.”” The second part shall consist of not more than four Arabic numerals. The third or suffix part
shall consist of hot more than three letters.

(b) The parts shall be separated by hyphens or spaces equivalent to a letter.

(c) Registration numbers issued to a boat rental business shall contain the letter ““L’” as the last letter in
the suffix.

(d) Registration numbers issued to manufacturers, dealers and jobbers will consist of the letters ““PA”’
followed by three numerals and ending in three letters, the first two of which shall be “*DL.””

8§ 93.7. Duplicate certificate of registration.

The Commission will issue a duplicate certificate of registration upon receipt of Form PFBC-730a or Form
PFBC-732 from the registered owner and payment of the appropriate fee. The Commission will not issue
the numbered registration certificate validation decal for duplicate registrations, but the lack of the decal
will not affect the validity of a duplicate registration certificate.
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8§ 93.8. Lost, stolen, destroyed or abandoned boats.

The loss, theft, destruction or abandonment of a registered boat shall be reported to the Commission within
5 days. The recovery of a boat that is lost, stolen or abandoned shall be reported to the Commission within 5
days of recovery.

8§ 93.9. Surrender of certificate of registration.

(a) The person whose name appears on the certificate of registration as owner of a boat shall surrender the
certificate and the validation decals to the Commission, within 15 days after it becomes invalid, for one or
more of the following reasons:

(1) The owner transfers ownership of the boat.

(2) The boat is destroyed or abandoned.

(3) Sixty days has expired after the date on which the boat is no longer principally used in this
Commonwealth.

(4) The owner involuntarily loses his interest in the boat by legal process.

(5) A false or fraudulent statement is contained in the application or the fees for the issuance of the
certificate are not paid.

(6) The registration is revoked or suspended.

(b) If the certificate of registration becomes invalid for the reasons in subsection (a)(3) or (5), the person
whose name appears on the certificate as the owner shall remove the number and validation decal from the
boat. If the registration becomes invalid for the reasons in subsection (a)(6), the owner shall remove the
validation decal but shall leave the registration number fixed to the boat.

(c) A waterways conservation officer, deputy waterways conservation officer or authorized Commission
employee or other law enforcement officer may seize the certificate of registration and validation decal for
a boat for which the registration has been revoked or suspended.

§ 93.10. Change of address.
The owner shall notify the Commission, in writing, within 15 days after a change of address. The original
certificate of registration shall be retained for use until a new certificate is issued.

8 93.11. Reciprocity and state of principal operation.

(a) The state of principal operation is that state where the boat is on its waters more than on any other
state’s waters. This time includes the time when the boat is not in motion as for instance when the boat is
moored or at anchor. The mooring of a boat in a Commonwealth yacht club, marina, boat club, private
dock or similar facility for more than 14 days, as evidenced by the signing of a lease, membership, permit
or other document resulting in the assignment of, or permission to construct or occupy, dockage space shall
be prima facie evidence that Pennsylvania is the state of principal operation.

(b) When Pennsylvania becomes the state of principal operation of a boat which is validly registered and
numbered in another state, the registration and number issued by the other state will be recognized for a
period not to exceed 60 days from the date the boat is moved to this Commonwealth during which time the
owner of the boat shall apply for and obtain a Pennsylvania registration and number.

(c) When another state is the state of principal operation of a boat and the boat is numbered and validly
registered in that state under a numbering system approved by the Secretary of the United States
Department of Transportation, the boat is deemed in compliance with this chapter while temporarily
operating on the waters of this Commonwealth.

(d) Itisunlawful to operate a motorboat, whose state of principal operation is Pennsylvania, without first
obtaining a Pennsylvania registration in accordance with this chapter.

§ 93.12. Dealers, manufacturers and jobbers.

(a) Dealer, manufacturer and jobber registrations issued under section 5307 of the code (relating to dealer
registration) will be issued only to businesses that prove to the satisfaction of the Commission that they are
clearly recognizable as bona fide dealers, manufacturers or jobbers. Special registrations will not be issued
to a person or business that fails to prove to the satisfaction of the Commission that it is regularly engaged
in the business of being a boat dealer, manufacturer or jobber. It is unlawful for a person to provide false
information in applying for dealer, manufacturer or jobber registrations or to seek to obtain special
registration for a boat for the purpose of avoiding applicable Commonwealth taxes.
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(b) A dealer is a business regularly engaged in the business of selling new or used boats. An applicant for
a dealer’s registration shall demonstrate that the business is clearly recognizable as a boat dealership on a
regular basis. Applicants shall provide the information requested by the Commission. Proof of bona fide
boat dealer status may include the following:

(1) Maintenance of a boat display area capable of regularly displaying at least three boats or a minimum
of 1,200 square feet, indoors or outdoors.

(2) Annual sales of substantial numbers of new and used boats. **Substantial sales’” normally means sale
of five or more boats unless the applicant can show unusual circumstances justifying lesser sales.

(3) Consistent identification of the business as a boat dealer in advertising, signs, telephone book listings,
and the like. The dealership shall be clearly identifiable as such by a person who visits or deals with it.

(4) Location of a dealership in areas where zoning permits boat sales and commercial operations.

(5) Regular hours of operation between April 30 and September 30 on at least 5 days per week.

(c) To be eligible for a jobber’s registration, an applicant shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the
Commission that the applicant is regularly engaged in the boat jobber business. A jobber is a person or
business selling boats only to retailers or institutions.

(d) A manufacturer is a person or business engaged in building, testing or constructing boats or boat parts
from raw material or parts. To be eligible for a manufacturer’s registration, an applicant shall demonstrate
to the satisfaction of the Commission that the applicant is regularly engaged in the business of
manufacturing or testing boats or boat parts for sale.

(e) Dealer, jobber and manufacturer registrations shall be issued only in the name under which the
applicant is regularly engaged in the business of selling, jobbing or manufacturing boats.

(f) The Commission may recall special registrations for dealers, jobbers and manufacturers upon finding
that:

(1) The dealer, jobber or manufacturer is no longer entitled to special registration.
(2) The dealer, manufacturer or jobber has made or permitted to be made an unlawful use of a watercraft,
certificate of registration, registration number or validation decal.

(g) Boat dealers, jobbers or manufacturers who take in trade a boat bearing previous Pennsylvania boat
registration are required, within 15 days of obtaining the boat, to place the boat under the
dealer/jobber/manufacturer’s dealer registration. The dealer, jobber or manufacturer shall complete Form
PFBC-336 and forward it to the Licensing and Registration Section. No fee is applicable to a transaction
when dealers place boats taken in trade under their dealer registrations. It is unlawful for a boat dealer,
jobber or manufacturer to operate or allow to be operated a boat received in trade bearing a Pennsylvania
boat registration until the boat is placed under their dealer registration under this subsection.

8§ 93.13. Issuing agents.
(a) Designation:

(1) The designation of issuing agents for temporary boat registrations shall be limited to the Commission
and Commission offices, county treasurers, businesses dealing in boats, boating equipment or sporting
goods and temporary tag services or messenger services approved by the Department of Transportation for
the issuance of temporary boat trailer registrations.

(2) Anapplicant seeking to become an issuing agent for temporary boat registrations shall complete and
submit to the Commission an application on the form prescribed by the Commission and shall pay a one-
time, nonrefundable fee of $100. Applications shall be accompanied by a bond in favor of the Commission
in a minimum amount specified by the Executive Director or a designee.

(3) Upon being designated as an issuing agent, at least one employee of the new agent with primary
responsibility for handling boat registrations shall successfully complete a training course offered by the
Commission at its Harrisburg office or other location the Executive Director designates.

(b) Maintaining an agency:

(1) To maintain an agency, the agent shall issue at least 25 temporary boat registrations each calendar
year, unless the Executive Director, for good cause shown, finds that unusual circumstances precluded the
agent from issuing the minimum number of temporary boat registrations.

(2) To maintain an agency, the agent or a designee who is routinely involved in the issuance of
temporary boat registrations shall successfully complete, at least once every 2 years, training offered by the
Commission at a location designated by the Executive Director.

(c) Insufficient number of agents. If the Executive Director determines that a sufficient number of agents
is not available in an area reasonably to address the needs of the boating public, the Executive Director may
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appoint additional agents from other interested individuals or reduce the number of temporary boat
registrations that existing agents are required to issue during the year.

(d) Change of address, telephone number or ownership. An issuing agent shall notify the Commission, in
writing, within 10 days after a change of address, telephone number or ownership of the agency.

(e) Operation of an agency.

(1) Issuing agents shall prominently display the hours of operation and fee schedule at the agent’s
premises.

(2) Issuing agents who conduct transactions via e-commerce shall maintain the same standards as non-e-
commerce agents.

(3) Issuing agents shall retain copies of all applications and related documentation for the current
calendar year and the 2 previous years.

(4) Issuing agents shall have access to nonpublic information concerning holders of boat registrations
and titles, including their home addresses. Issuing agents who are provided nonpublic information about
boat registration holders or boat owners in the course of their duties may not release or disclose the
nonpublic information except for official purposes.

(5) Issuing agents shall permit the inspection during regular business hours of the agent’s premises and
business records by Commission employees designated by the Executive Director or officers authorized to
enforce the code.

(f) Issuance of temporary boat registrations.

(1) Anissuing agent is responsible for ensuring that the “*Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration
and/or Boat Title’” (Form REV-336) is fully completed. An issuing agent shall ensure that the Form REV-
336 is legible and accurate.

(2) Anissuing agent may not knowingly permit an applicant to provide false or misleading information
on the Form REV-336 or related documentation. If an issuing agent suspects that an applicant has provided
false or misleading information on the Form REV-336 or related documentation, the agent immediately
shall notify the Commission. An issuing agent may not provide false or misleading information on the
Form REV-336 or related documentation.

(3) Anissuing agent shall issue a temporary boat registration only to the owner or co-owner of the boat
being registered. An issuing agent shall verify the identity of the applicant by requiring that the applicant
produce positive means of identification.

(4) Anissuing agent shall issue, upon request, a temporary boat registration to any individual who
properly completes the Form REV-336, submits the appropriate documentation and pays the applicable
fees and sales or use tax as required by the code and this chapter.

(5) Anissuing agent shall issue a temporary boat registration only for new boats, used boats where
ownership is being transferred and boats brought into this Commonwealth from another state.

(6) Anissuing agent shall enter the expiration date (month/day/year) on the completed application which
will be recognized as the boat’s temporary registration.

(7) Within 10 days of the issuance of a temporary boat registration, the issuing agent shall submit to the
Commission a properly completed “*Temporary Registration Summary Report’” (Form PFBC-725) along
with all applications, related documentation, applicable fees and Sales and Use Tax as required by the
Code, this chapter and the Handbook for Issuing Pennsylvania Boat Registrations and Titles.

(9) Used boats sold by dealers. An issuing agent may not submit to the Commission a Form REV-336 and
related documentation from an applicant who purchased a used boat from a dealer and does not possess a
properly completed ‘‘Dealer Notification of Boat Trade-In’’ (Form PFBC-TS1).

(h) Acceptance of applications for permanent registrations or titles. Within 10 days of the acceptance of
the Form REV-336 and related documentation for a permanent registration or title, the issuing agent shall
forward to the Commission, using the ““Temporary Registration Summary Report™ (Form PFBC-725), all
applications, related documentation, applicable fees and Sales and Use Tax as required by the Code this
chapter and the Handbook for Issuing Pennsylvania Boat Registrations and Titles.

(i) Commission offices. The Commission will collect and deposit in the Boat Fund the $2 issuing agent fee
for all temporary boat registrations issued by Commission offices and boat registration renewals issued
online.

(j) Recall of agency. The Commission may recall the agency of an issuing agent who violates the code or
this chapter. A conviction of an offense under the code or this chapter is not a prerequisite to initiating an
action to recall an agency. The Executive Director or a designee may initiate action to recall an agency by
serving an order to show cause on the agent, which order will describe the alleged violation of the code or
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this chapter. Proceedings to recall an agency shall be governed by 1 Pa. Code Part Il (relating to general
rules of administrative practice and procedure).

(k) Renewal of boat registrations. It is unlawful for a person, other than the Commission, Commission
offices and on-line messenger services approved by the Department of Transportation, to issue renewals for
boat registrations or collect the applicable fees.

8§ 93.14. Proof of ownership for initial registration.

(a) This section applies only to the initial registration of a boat in this Commonwealth. It does not apply to
registration of boats previously or currently registered in this Commonwealth.

(b) Anapplicant for initial registration shall establish proof of ownership as follows:

(1) For aboat manufactured after January 1, 1993, a manufacturer’s certificate of origin indicating
transfer of ownership from the manufacturer, distributor or dealer to the applicant. The original
manufacturer’s certificate of origin shall be attached to the Form REV-336 and submitted to the
Commission.

(2) For aboat manufactured before January 1, 1993, or when the manufacturer’s certificate of origin is
not available, a bill of sale or invoice issued or prepared by the seller showing all of the following:

(i) The name and address of the seller.

(ii) The name and address of the purchaser.

(iii) The name and address of the legal owner.

(iv) The location, date of sale and description of the boat, including the hull identification number for
boats built after October 31, 1972, or other serial number for boats built prior to October 31, 1972.

(3) For aboat that was registered and issued a title by another state, a properly endorsed document
indicating title.

(c) If none of the documents described in subsection (b)(1) and (2) are available, the applicant shall
submit an executed Form PFBC-734 (Affidavit of Purchase/Ownership) fully setting forth the facts to
support the applicant’s claim of ownership in the boat. Applications seeking to prove ownership of
homemade boats shall be supported with bills of sale for the major components of the boat. Affidavits are
executed under penalty of law.

(d) Anapplicant for initial registration of a boat with a retail value of less than $2,000 that is being
registered voluntarily under section 5303 of the code (relating to voluntary and special registrations) may
substitute the original receipt issued by a dealer or other retailer for the manufacturer’s certificate of origin.

(e) A manufacturer, dealer or other person may not sell or otherwise transfer a new boat to a dealer for the
purposes of display or resale without delivering to the dealer a completed manufacturer’s certificate of
origin. A dealer may not purchase or acquire a new boat without obtaining from the seller thereof the
manufacturer’s certificate.

8 93.15. Unauthorized transfer, use or display of certificate of registrations, validation decals or
numbers.

It is unlawful to use, display or allow to be used or displayed a certificate of registration or registration
number or validation decal on or in connection with a watercraft other than that for which it was issued.

§ 93.16. Operation of boat after death of registered owner.
When the registered owner of a boat is deceased, the boat may continue to be operated by or for the heir or
personal representative of the decedent for the remainder of the current registration period.

8 93.17. Registration of abandoned boats.

(a) Policy. Before registering a boat, the Commission must be satisfied that the applicant for registration
has sufficient ownership interest in the boat to qualify for registration. Requests to register boats found
abandoned on private property and Commonwealth waters present particular problems. It is the policy of
the Commission to register these boats only if the applicant demonstrates ownership by taking the steps
described in this section and complies with other applicable law and regulations.

(b) Boats abandoned on private property. Subject to the following, a landowner, his lessee or his agent
may register a boat that has been abandoned on his land or the waters immediately adjacent to his land for
at least 3 months.

(1) A person desiring to register an abandoned boat in his name shall provide written notice to the

Commission of his intent to register the boat. The notice shall, at a minimum, set forth the date and place
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the boat was found, a description of the boat, including the make, model and year, and, if known, the hull
identification number, registration number, temporary decal number and other identifying data. The person
desiring to register an abandoned boat may provide written notice to the Commission by completing Form
PFBC-R2, ““Notice of Intent to Register Boat Abandoned on Private Property’” and mailing the form to the
Commission.

(2) If aboat abandoned on a person’s land or waters has a hull identification number, registration
number, temporary decal number or other identifying indicia, the Commission will notify the last registrant
of the boat that the boat has been abandoned and that the requester desires to register the boat in his name.

(3) Upon receipt of the written request, the Commission will notify the last registrant by certified mail
that someone desires to register the boat in his name and if ownership is not claimed and the boat removed
within 30 days, the Commission may, upon proper application and payment of fees, register the boat in the
name of the person desiring to register it.

(i) The notice shall:

(A) Describe the make, model, hull identification number and registration number of the boat.

(B) State the location where the boat is being held.

(C) Inform the registrant of his right to reclaim the boat within 30 days after the date of the notice
upon payment of all registration fees and other applicable charges.

(D) State that failure of the registrant to reclaim the boat is deemed consent to the registration of the
abandoned boat in the name of the requester with dissolution of all interests of the prior registrant.

(i) If the last known registrant does not respond, the Commission may notify the requester to proceed
under paragraph (4). The Commission is not required to send a letter if it cannot identify the boat’s last
registrant or ascertain an address. If the abandoned boat has a registration number, temporary decal number
or other identifying indicia, evidencing that the boat is registered in another state, the Commission will
notify the other state and ask it to notify the boat’s last registrant by certified mail that someone desires to
register the boat in his name. The other state’s notice shall provide that if ownership is not claimed and the
boat removed within 30 days, the Commission may, upon proper application and payment of fees, register
the boat in the name of the person desiring to register it. The other state is not required to send a letter if it
cannot identify the boat’s last registrant or ascertain an address. When the other state notifies the registrant,
if known, as provided in this section and advises the Commission that the transfer of registration to the
requester is unobjectionable to the other state, the Commission may notify the requester to proceed under
paragraph (4).

(4) Regardless of whether the abandoned boat has a hull identification number, registration number,
temporary decal number or other identifying indicia, the person desiring to register the boat in his name
shall place a natice in a newspaper of general circulation published in the county where the boat is located
for 3 consecutive days. The notice shall describe the boat, its location, the date it was abandoned and any
identifying number. The person also shall state in the notice that if the boat is not claimed and removed
within 30 days after publication in the newspaper, the person will apply for registration of the boat in his
name.

(5) After the notices described in paragraphs (3) and (4) have expired, but no earlier than 60 days after
the person desiring registration has first notified the Commission, the person may apply to the Commission
for registration of the boat in his name.

(i) The application shall be accompanied by the following items:

(A) A statement made under penalty of law that the boat has been abandoned for at least 3 months.
(B) Proof that the applicant provided notices as set forth in this section.
(C) Proof that a notice was published in a newspaper as required by paragraph (4).

(if) In cases involving boats registered in other states, the Commission may extend the 60-day period
described in paragraph (5) to 180 days.

(6) Upon receipt of the required materials and the payment of fees required by law, the Commission will
register the boat in the name of the applicant.

(c) Boats abandoned on public property or waters. A person finding a boat abandoned on public property
or waters—that is, property or waters under the ownership or control of the Commonwealth, its agencies
and political subdivisions—shall notify the Commission of the description and location of the boat as well
as the date on which it was found. A person may notify the Commission by completing form PFBC-R3,
““‘Notice of Abandoned Boat Found on Commonwealth Waters’” and mailing the form to the Commission.
A person finding a boat abandoned on lands or waters under the jurisdiction or control of the United States
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Government should contact the Federal agency with jurisdiction over the lands and waters and follow
applicable Federal regulations.

(1) The Commission may take possession of a boat abandoned on public property or waters or may
authorize a salvor to take possession provided the salvor complies with these provisions, is a vehicle
salvage dealer as defined in 75 Pa.C.S. § 1337 (relating to use of ‘*‘Miscellaneous Motor Vehicle Business’’
registration plates), and holds a current, valid certificate of authorization issued by the Department of
Transportation under 75 Pa.C.S. § 7302 (relating to certification of authorization).

(2) Any salvor taking possession of a boat under this section shall notify the Commission in writing
within 48 hours after taking possession.

(3) The Commission, after taking possession of an abandoned boat or after receiving notice that a salvor
has taken possession of an abandoned boat, shall notify by certified mail, return receipt requested the last
known registrant of the boat. The notice shall:

(i) Describe the make, model, hull identification number and registration number of the boat.

(ii) State the location where the boat is being held.

(iii) Inform the registrant of his right to reclaim the boat within 30 days after the date of the notice
upon payment of all towing and storage charges and all registration fees.

(iv) State that failure of the registrant to reclaim the boat is deemed consent to the destruction, sale or
other disposition of the abandoned boat with dissolution of all interests of the registrant.

(4) If the identity of the last registrant cannot be determined, the contents of the notice described in
paragraph (3) shall be published three times in a newspaper of general circulation in the area where the boat
was found abandoned. If the boat is in possession of a salvor, publication of the notice shall be the
responsibility of the salvor. If the boat is in possession of the Commission, publication of the notice is the
responsibility of the Commission. Publication of the notice shall have the same effect as the notice sent by
certified mail.

(5) The Commission, after 45 days of the date of notice sent by certified mail described in paragraph (3)
or publication of the notice described in paragraph (4), may dispose of the boat if it is in its possession or
may authorize the salvor to dispose of the boat in its possession as provided in paragraph (6) or (7).

(6) The Commission, if in possession of the unclaimed abandoned boat, or the salvor, if in possession of
the unclaimed abandoned boat, may sell the boat at public auction if it has value. From the proceeds of the
sale of the abandoned boat, the Commission or the salvor, as applicable, shall be reimbursed for the costs of
towing, storage, notice, publication, mailing and costs of the auction. The remainder of the proceeds of the
sale shall be forwarded to the Commission, which will hold them for 60 days from the date of sale for claim
by the registrant. If the proceeds are not so claimed, they shall be deposited in the boat fund for use of the
Commonwealth.

(7) Ifan unclaimed abandoned boat is valueless except for salvage, the salvor in possession shall apply
to the Commission for registration, and upon issuance of the same, the salvor may destroy, dismantle,
salvage or recycle the boat and retain any proceeds realized therefrom to offset the costs of towing, storage,
notice, publication and mailing.

(8) The Commonwealth, its agencies and political subdivisions may register any boat abandoned on areas
under their ownership or control by proceeding in the manner set forth in subsection (b) or may
follow the procedure set forth in this subsection. The Federal government may register any boat abandoned
on areas under its ownership or control by proceeding in the manner set forth in subsection (b), may follow
the procedure set forth in this subsection or may follow applicable Federal laws or regulations.

§ 93.101. Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

Dealer—A person who engages in whole or in part in the business of buying, selling or exchanging new
and unused boats, or used boats, or both, either outright or on conditional sale, bailment, lease, chattel
mortgage, or otherwise, and who has an established place of business for the sale, trade and display of
boats. The term includes a yacht broker.

Manufacturer—A person engaged in the business of manufacturing or importing new and unused boats,
or new and unused outboard motors, for the purpose of sale or trade.
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Reconstructed boat—One of the following:
(i) A boat for which a certificate of title (salvage/junk) has been issued, which is thereafter restored to
operating condition and which is substantially in conformance with the specifications of the manufacturer.
(if) A boat that has been materially altered by the removal, addition or substitution of essential parts
derived from various other makes or models, or that the Commission has determined is readily
recognizable as a boat of a generally recognized make or model.

Specially constructed boat—One of the following:

(i) A boat not originally constructed by a generally recognized manufacturer of boats under a
distinctive name and not materially altered from its original construction, but assembled from parts of
various boats or kits, or both, and that would be commonly known as a “‘*homemade’’ boat.

(ii) A boat that has been materially altered by the removal, addition or substitution of essential parts
derived from various other makes and models and that the Commission determines cannot be readily
identified as a boat of a generally recognized make or model.

8 93.102. Application procedure and contents of applications for certificates of title.

(a) Boat owners shall apply for a certificate of title on Form REV-336, provided by the Commission. The
completed form shall be forwarded to the Commission at the address listed on the application.

(b) The applicant shall provide the following information on the application (REV-336) for a title:

(1) The name, mailing address, residence address, phone number and zip code of the owner. If there are
co-owners, the applicants shall provide information relating to both owners and indicate whether the boat is
owned as joint tenants with right of survivorship or as tenants in common.

(2) The date of birth of the primary purchaser [Note: and co-owner].

(3) The name of the person from whom the boat was purchased.

(4) The State registration number, if any, currently assigned to the boat.

(5) The hull material, such as wood, steel, aluminum, plastic, fiberglass or other.

(6) The full Hull Identification Number (HIN).

(7) The make, model and year built, if known.

(8) The length of the boat in feet and inches.

(9) The type of propulsion, such as, outboard, inboard, sterndrive or unpowered.

(10) The type of fuel, such as, gas, diesel, electric or unpowered.

(11) The primary usage such as, pleasure, rental/livery, manufacturer/dealer/jobber, commercial
passenger, and the like.

(12) For boats with outboard internal combustion motors, the serial number, the manufacturer’s name
and the horsepower rating. If there are two motors, the applicant shall provide information for both motors.

(13) The names and addresses of each lienholder (in the order of priority).

(14) The date of lien encumbrance.

(15) The date applicant completed the form.

(16) The signature of the owner.

(17) Complete Sales and Use Tax information.

(c) Anoutboard motor is an integral part of a boat and is subject to title and lien requirements. If any
information pertaining to the outboard motor changes from that which the applicant provided in the original
application, the applicant shall apply for a new title.

(d) The Commission will not process incomplete applications.

(e) The Commission will not issue a certificate of title for a boat that is registered or titled, or both, in
another state or that is documented by the United States Coast Guard unless the application for title is
accompanied by the current certificates of registration or title, or both, for the boat or evidence that the
marine document for the boat is no longer in effect.

8§ 93.103. Boats brought into this Commonwealth from outside this Commonwealth.

(a) When the owner of a boat having a certificate of title from another state brings the boat into this
Commonwealth as its state of principal use, the owner shall obtain a Pennsylvania certificate of title for the
boat when the boat is registered in this Commonwealth or its ownership is transferred to another person,
whichever occurs first.

(b) When the owner of a boat not having a certificate of title from another state brings the boats into this
Commonwealth as its state of principal use, the owner shall obtain a Pennsylvania certificate of title when
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the boat is sold or is otherwise transferred to another owner. This provision does not apply to boats for
which a title is not required under section 5322(a) of the code (relating to when certificate of title not
required).

8§ 93.104. Boats purchased from dealers/transfer to or from manufacturer or dealer.

(a) A dealer may not purchase or acquire a new boat without obtaining from the seller a manufacturer’s or
importer’s certificate of origin when provided by the manufacturer or importer.

(b) When certificates of origin are provided by the manufacturer or importer, a manufacturer or dealer
may not transfer ownership of a new boat without supplying the transferee with the certificate of origin
signed by the manufacturer’s or importer’s authorized agent.

(c) Adealer transferring a boat requiring title under this subchapter shall assign ownership to the new
owner, in the case of a previously titled boat, by completing the appropriate assignment portion of the
certificate of title, or in the case of a new boat, by completing the assignment portion of the certificate of
origin.

(d) A dealer shall forward all moneys and applications to the Commission within 10 days of transferring
ownership.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a dealer buying or acquiring a used boat for resale
need not obtain a certificate of title for the used boat if the dealer reports the acquisition to the Commission
within 20 days. In lieu of submitting a report of acquisition, the dealer may apply for and obtain a certificate
of title as provided in this subchapter. If a dealer buys or acquires a used unnumbered boat that is
otherwise required to be titled, the dealer shall apply for a certificate of title in the dealer’s name within 20
days. If a dealer buys or acquires a new boat for resale, the dealer may, but is not required to, apply for a
certificate of title for the boat in the dealer’s name.

(f) Every dealer shall maintain for 3 years a record of any boat the dealer’s bought, sold, brokered,
exchanged or received for sale or exchange. This record shall be open to inspection by Commission
representatives during reasonable business hours.

(9) A dealer/lessor who leases a boat for more than 30 consecutive days shall obtain a certificate of title
for the boat unless exempt under section 5322(a) of the code (relating to when certificate of title not
required). The lessor shall maintain the certificate of title of a leased boat.

§ 93.105. Boats sold or transferred privately.

(a) A person transferring a boat requiring title under this subchapter shall assign ownership to the new
owner, in the case of a previously titled boat, by completing the appropriate assignment portion of the
certificate of title, or in the case of a new boat, by completing the assignment portion of the certificate of
origin.

(b) Moneys and applications shall be forwarded to the Commission within 10 days of transferring
ownership.

(c) The lessor shall maintain the certificate of title of a leased boat.

8 93.106. Specially constructed or reconstructed boats.

(a) The owner of a specially constructed or reconstructed boat shall apply for a certificate of title as
required by this subchapter.

(b) The application for certificate of title shall be accompanied by one of the following:

(1) The outstanding certificates of title.

(2) The manufacturer’s certificates of origin or certificates of title (salvage/junk), issued for boats, the
parts of which were used in construction of the boat, if the boats are no longer operable or able to be
registered.

(3) The bills of sale for the major components of the boat for which no other proof of ownership is
available.

(4) A photograph of the boat, upon the request of the Commission.

(c) The certificate of title issued for every specially constructed boat and reconstructed boat, as defined in
this subchapter, shall clearly describe the boat by type as follows:
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(1) The certificate of title for every specially constructed boat shall describe the make of boat as
“‘specially constructed.””

(2) The certificate of title for every reconstructed boat shall describe the boat by its original make or
trade name but shall be coded to designate it as a reconstructed boat.

§ 93.107. Delivery of certificate of title.

The Commission will mail the original certificate of title to the first lienholder named therein, or if there is
none, to the owner named therein. The Commission will retain the data necessary to generate a copy of the
certificate of title.

8 93.108. Duplicate/replacement titles.

(a) Ifatitleis lost, stolen, mutilated, destroyed or becomes illegible, the lienholder in possession of the
title or, if there is none, the owner named on the title, as shown by the Commission’s records, may obtain a
duplicate/replacement by applying to the Commission. The applicant shall furnish information concerning
the original title and the circumstances of its loss, theft, mutilation or destruction. Applications for
replacement titles shall be filed within 30 days of the loss, theft, mutilation or destruction. Mutilated or
illegible titles shall be returned to the Commission with the application for a duplicate/replacement.

(b) The duplicate/replacement title shall be marked *“duplicate’” on its face and shall be mailed or
delivered to the applicant.

(c) Ifalostor stolen original title for which a duplicate/replacement has been issued is recovered, the
original shall be surrendered to the Commission for cancellation within 20 days of its recovery.

§ 93.109. Transfer or repossession of boat by operation of law.

(a) If ownership of a boat is transferred by operation of law, such as by inheritance, divorce, order in
bankruptcy, insolvency, replevin or executive sale, the transferee, within 30 days after acquiring the right to
possession of the boat by operation of law, shall mail or deliver to the Commission a court order or other
document evidencing the transfer by operation of law, together with the application for a new title and the
required fee.

(b) Ifalienholder repossesses a boat by operation of law and holds it for resale, the lienholder shall secure
a new title and shall pay the required fee.

(c) Issuance of a certificate of title does not constitute an adjudication of issues relating to ownership of
boats.

§ 93.110. Boats that are junked, destroyed, lost, stolen or abandoned.

(a) Reporting requirements. The destruction, loss, theft or abandonment of a boat titled under this
subchapter shall be reported to the Commission within 5 days. The recovery of a boat that is lost, stolen or
abandoned shall be reported to the Commission within 5 days of recovery.

(b) Acquiring title to boats abandoned on private property.

(1) Subject to the provisions of this subsection, a landowner, a lessee or an agent may acquire title to any
boat abandoned on his land or waters immediately adjacent to it. This subsection applies only to boats that
have been abandoned on the property of a person other than the owner of the boat for at least 3 months.

(2) A person desiring to obtain a certificate of title for an abandoned boat shall provide written notice to
the Commission of intent to obtain title to the boat. The notice shall, at a minimum, set forth the date and
place the boat was abandoned, a description of the boat, including the make, model and year, and, if
known, the Hull Identification Number, registration number, temporary decal number and other identifying
data.

(3) If aboat abandoned on a person’s lands or waters has a Hull Identification Number, registration
number, temporary decal number or other identifying indicia, the Commission will notify the boat’s owner
and lienholder, if any, that the boat has been abandoned and that the requester desires to acquire title to it.

(4) Upon receipt of the written request, the Commission will notify the owner and the lienholder by
certified mail that someone desires to acquire title to the boat and if ownership is not claimed and the boat
removed within 30 days, the Commission may, upon proper application and payment of fees, issue a
certificate of title in the name of the person desiring to acquire title. If the owner does not respond, the
Commission may notify the requester to proceed under paragraph (5). The Commission is not required to
send a letter if it cannot identify a boat’s owner or lienholder or ascertain an address. If the abandoned boat
has a registration number, temporary decal number or other identifying indicia, evidencing that the boat is
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registered in another state, the Commission will notify the other state and ask it to notify the boat’s owner
and lienholder by certified mail that someone desires to acquire title to the boat. The other state’s notice
shall provide that if ownership is not claimed and the boat removed within 30 days, the Commission may,
upon proper application and payment of fees, issue a certificate of title in the name of the person desiring to
acquire title. The other state is not required to send a letter if it cannot identify a boat’s owner or lienholder
or ascertain an address. When the other state notifies the owner and lienholder, if known, as provided in
this section and advises the Commission that the transfer of title to the requester is unobjectionable to the
other state, the Commission may notify the requester to proceed under paragraph (5).

(5) Regardless of whether the abandoned boat has a Hull Identification Number, registration number,
temporary decal number or other identifying indicia, the person desiring to acquire title shall place a notice
in a newspaper of general circulation published in the county where the boat is located for 3 consecutive
days, describing the boat, its location, the date it was abandoned and any identifying number. The person
shall state in the notice that if the boat is not claimed and removed within 30 days after publication in the
newspaper, he will apply for title to the boat in his name.

(6) After the notices described in paragraphs (4) and (5) have expired, but no earlier than 60 days after
the person desiring to obtain title has first notified the Commission, the person may apply to the
Commission for a certificate of title to the boat in his name as required by this subchapter and accompanied
by the following affidavits:

(i) A statement made under penalty of law that the boat has been abandoned for at least 3 months.

(if) Proof that the applicant provided notice as set forth in paragraphs (2)—(4).

(iii) Proof that a notice was published in a newspaper as required by paragraph (5).

(7) Incases involving boats registered in other states, the Commission may extend the 60-day period
described in paragraph (6) to 180 days.

(8) Upon receipt of the material required by this subsection and the payment of any fees required by law,
the Commission will issue a certificate of title to the boat to the applicant. Issuance of a certificate of title
divests any other person of any interest in the boat.

(c) Acquiring title to boats abandoned on public property or waters.

(1) A person finding a boat abandoned on public property or waters—that is, property or waters under
the ownership or control of the Commonwealth, its agencies or political subdivisions—shall notify the
Commission of the description and location of the found boat as well as the date on which it was found.

(2) The Commission may take possession of a boat abandoned on public property or waters or may
authorize a salvor to take possession if the salvor complies with this section, is a vehicle salvage dealer as
defined in 75 Pa.C.S. § 1337 (relating to use of miscellaneous motor vehicle business registration plates)
and holds a current, valid certificate of authorization issued by the Department of Transportation under 75
Pa.C.S. 8 7302 (relating to certification of authorization).

(3) A salvor taking possession of a boat under this section shall notify the Commission in writing within
48 hours after taking possession.

(4) The Commission, after taking possession of an abandoned boat or after receiving notice that a salvor
has taken possession of an abandoned boat, shall notify by certified mail, return receipt requested the last
known registered owner of the boat and all lienholders of record. The notice shall:

(i) Describe the make, model, HIN number and registration number of the boat.

(ii) State the location where the boat is being held.

(iii) Inform the owner and any lienholders of their right to reclaim the boat within 30 days after the
date of the notice upon payment of all towing and storage charges and all applicable title and registration
fees.

(iv) State that failure of the owner or lienholder to reclaim the boat is deemed consent to the
destruction, sale or other disposition of the abandoned boat with dissolution of all interests of the owner
and lienholders.

(5) If the identity of the last registered owner and all lienholders cannot be determined, the contents of
the notice described in paragraph (4) shall be published one time in a newspaper of general circulation in
the area where the boat was found abandoned. If the boat is in possession of a salvor, publication of the
notice shall be the responsibility of the salvor. If the boat is in possession of the Commission, publication
of the notice is the responsibility of the Commission. Publication of the notice shall have the same effect as
the notice sent by certified mail.
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(6) The Commission, after 45 days of the date of notice sent by certified mail described in paragraph (4)
or publication of the notice described in paragraph (5), may dispose of the boat if it is in its possession or
may authorize the salvor to dispose of the boat in its possession as provided in paragraph (7) or (8).

(7) The Commission, if in possession of the unclaimed abandoned boat, or the salvor, if in possession of
the unclaimed abandoned boat, may sell the boat at public auction if it has value. The purchaser may apply
to the Commission for a title, which shall be free and clear from all previous liens and claims of ownership.
From the proceeds of the sale of the abandoned boat, the Commission or the salvor, as applicable, shall be
reimbursed for the cost of towing, storage, notice, publication, mailing and costs of the auction. The
remainder of the proceeds of the sale shall be forwarded to the Commission, which shall hold them for 60
days from the date of sale for claim by the registered owner or lienholder. If the proceeds are not claimed,
they shall be deposited in the Boat Fund for use of the Commonwealth.

(8) If an unclaimed abandoned boat is valueless except for salvage, the salvor in possession shall apply
to the Commission for a salvor’s certificate of title, and, upon issuance of the same, the salvor may destroy,
dismantle, salvage or recycle the boat and retain any proceeds realized therefrom to offset the costs of
towing, storage, notice, publication and mailing. Issuance by the Commission of a salvor’s certificate of
title shall divest all rights, title and interest in the boat of the registered owner and all lienholders.

(9) The Commonwealth, its agencies and political subdivisions may acquire title to any boat abandoned
on areas under their ownership or control by proceeding in the manner set forth in subsection (b) or may
follow the procedure set forth in this subsection. The Federal government may acquire title to any boat
abandoned on areas under its ownership or control by proceeding in the manner set forth in subsection (b),
may follow the procedure set forth in this subsection or may follow applicable Federal laws or regulations.

§93.111. Voluntary titling of boats.

(a) Anowner of a boat may voluntarily apply for a certificate of title by applying at any time and paying
the fees required under section 5327 of the code (relating to fees). Once an owner voluntarily acquires a
certificate of title, titling for the boat is thereafter mandatory.

(b) A boat owner who voluntarily applies for a certificate of title shall certify under penalty of law that
there are no outstanding liens or encumbrances. See 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to
authorities).

8 93.112. Suspension, revocation or cancellation of certificate of title.

(a) The Commission will initiate an action to suspend or revoke a certificate of title by filing an order to
show cause under 1 Pa. Code § 35.14 (relating to orders to show cause), when authorized by statutory or
other authority, or if the Commission determines that the certificate of title was fraudulently procured.

(b) The Commission has the authority to cancel a certificate of title when the Commission determines that
one of the following applies:

(1) The certificate of title was erroneously issued.
(2) The boat was junked, destroyed, lost, stolen or abandoned.

(c) Suspension, revocation or cancellation of a certificate of title does not, in itself, affect the validity of a
security interest noted on it.

(d) When the Commission suspends, revokes or cancels a certificate of title, the owner or person in
possession of the certificate shall, upon receiving notice of the suspension, revocation or cancellation,
immediately mail or deliver the certificate of title to the Commission.

(e) The Commission may seize, in accordance with the law, a certificate of title that it has suspended,
revoked or canceled.

8 93.113. Creation and perfection of security interests in boats.
(a) When an owner creates a security interest in a boat:

(1) The owner shall, at the request of the secured party, immediately execute an application on a form
prescribed by the Commission including the name and address of the secured party. The owner shall tender
the existing certificate of title, if any, the application and the required fee to the Commission.

(2) The security interest is perfected at the time that the application, existing certificate of title and an
amount equal to or greater than the required fee are received by the Commission.

(3) Upon receipt of the title, application and the required filing fee, the Commission will endorse on the
existing title or on a new title that it then issues, the name and address of all secured parties, and mail or
deliver the title to the first secured party named on the certificate of title.
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(b) Except as provided in 13 Pa.C.S. 8§ 9311(d), 9315(c) and (d) and 9316(d) and (e) (relating to
perfection of security interests in property subject to certain statutes, regulations and treaties; secured
party’s rights on disposition of collateral and in proceeds; and continued perfection of security interest
following change in governing law), a security interest in a boat is not valid against creditors of the owner
or subsequent transferees or secured parties of the boat until perfected as provided by this subchapter.

§ 93.114. Assignments of security interests.

(a) A secured party may assign, absolutely or otherwise, all or part of his security interest in the boat to a
person other than the owner without affecting the interest of the owner or the validity of the security
interest.

(b) An assignee who desires to become the secured party of record shall deliver to the Commission the
title, if available, and an assignment by the secured party named in the title in the form the Commission
may prescribe, accompanied by the filing fee required by law.

(c) The provisions of this section are subject to 13 Pa.C.S. § 9308(c) (relating to when security interest or
agricultural lien is perfected; continuity of perfection).

8 93.115. Satisfaction of security interests.

(a) Unless otherwise agreed by the owner, within 20 days of the satisfaction of a security interest in a boat,
the secured party shall mail or deliver the title with the release to the owner and notify the Commission of
the release of security interest.

(b) Perfection of a security interest under this subchapter is effective for 10 years, dating from the time of
perfection as provided in 8§ 93.113 (relating to creation and perfection of security interests in boats) unless
renewed as provided in subsection (c).

(c) The effectiveness of perfection lapses on the expiration of the period specified in subsection (b) unless
a renewal form signed by the secured party of record is filed within the 6 months immediately preceding
expiration. Upon the timely filing of the renewal form and the tender of the required fee, the effectiveness
of perfection continues for 5 years from the date on which perfection would have become ineffective in the
absence of renewal. Perfection may be successively renewed.

§93.116. Exemptions.
The provisions of this subchapter relating to procedures for creating, perfecting, assigning and satisfying
security interests do not apply to the following:

(1) Alien given by statute or rule of law to a supplier of services or materials for the boat.

(2) Alien given by statute to the United States, the Commonwealth or a political subdivision of this
Commonwealth.

(3) Asecurity interest in a boat held by a manufacturer or a dealer as described in 13 Pa.C.S. § 9311(d)
(relating to perfection of security interests in property subject to certain statutes, regulations and treaties).

(4) Alien arising out of an attachment of a boat.

(5) A boat for which a title is not issued under this subchapter.

8 93.117. Recordkeeping, documentation and information verification regarding boats.
(@) The Commission will maintain a record of any title it issues.
(b) Upon written request specifically identifying a particular boat, the Commission will provide the
following information about a boat having a certificate of title:

(1) The name of the owner.

(2) The name and address of a lienholder.

(3) The date the certificate of title was issued.

(4) The make, model and year of the boat.
(c) The Commission will not release the home address of a title holder, except with the consent of the title
holder or upon court order or subpoena.
(d) The Commission will not release mailing lists or records of title holders, except to agencies of the
Federal, State and local government for official purposes.
(e) Nothing in this section affects the authority of the Commission and other agencies of Federal, State
and local government to use information contained in certificates of title for official purposes.

§93.118. Prohibited acts.
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(a) A person may not sell, assign or transfer a boat titled by the Commonwealth without delivering to the
purchaser or transferee a title with an assignment on it showing title in the purchaser or transferee.

(b) A person may not purchase or otherwise acquire a boat required to be titled by the Commonwealth
without obtaining a title for it in his name.

(c) A person may not obtain or attempt to obtain title to a boat under this subchapter through fraudulent
means or provide false or misleading information in connection with an application for a certificate of title.

§93.119. Forms.

(a) The Commission will provide suitable forms of applications, title, notice of security interests, and
other notices and forms necessary to carry out this subchapter.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, all forms and notices required in this subchapter shall
be forwarded to the Fish and Boat Commission, Licensing and Registration Section, Post Office 68900,
Harrisburg, Pennsylvanial7106-8900.
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