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I. Roll Call 

The meeting was called to order by Chair Loren Lustig at 9:02 a.m.  The meeting consisted of in-
person participation in the Commission’s Harrisburg Headquarters as well as virtual participation via 
a webinar link.  Board members who attended in person include Steven Ketterer, Executive Director 
Timothy Schaeffer, and Director of Boating Laurel Anders.  Members who participated virtually 
include Chair Loren Lustig, Scott Ballantyne, Elizabeth Winand, and Ryan Dysinger.  A quorum was 
present.   

In addition to the members of the Board, the following staff were present in person: Brian Barner, 
Deputy Executive Director;  Bernard Matscavage, Director, Bureau of Administration;  Kathryn 
Brashear, Assistant Director, Bureau of Administration;  John Shero, Chief Information Officer, 
Bureau of Information Technology;  Vienna Vasquez, Assistant Counsel; Chad Whitaker, 
Administrative Officer;  Mark McLaughlin, Chief, Waterways and Marina Management; and Ryan 
Walt, Boating and Watercraft Safety Manager.  Commissioners William Gibney, John Mahn, and 
Richard Lewis participated virtually. 
 
II. Introduction of Guests 

Rick Taylor, U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) Auxiliary State Liaison Officer attended the meeting in-
person.   
 
III. Public Comment 
 
There was no public comment.  
 
IV. New Business 
 
A.  Amendments to 58 Pa. Code § 93.1 (Registration) and § 93.5 (Display of registration 
number and validation decal). 
 
Commentary: 

Act 28 of 2022, signed into law on June 27, 2022, amended Title 30 (Fish) of the 
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, § 5308 relating to registration and titling of boats.  The 
Act establishes a calendar-year boat registration cycle that is valid from January 1 through 
December 31. 

Act 28 requires the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) to promulgate 
final regulations to implement the amendment and publish them in the Pennsylvania Bulletin 
within 18 months of the effective date of the Act.  Commission staff have identified two 
relevant sections of Title 58 Pa. Code that require amendments to be consistent with the Act.  

Staff propose the following changes to § 93.1 and § 93.5: 
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§ 93.1. Registration. 
 
(a)  With the exception of a ‘‘Manufacturer/Dealer/Jobber’’ registration certificate, which is 
valid for 1 year, and a ‘‘State Owned’’ registration certificate, which is valid until the 
removal of the property from inventory, all other boat registration certificates issued under 
this chapter are valid for a period not exceeding 2 years.  The Commission will not issue 1-
year registration certificates except to ‘‘Manufacturer/Dealer/Jobbers.’’  The registration 
period expires on [March] December 31 of the second year following issuance. 
 

* * * * * 
 
§ 93.5. Display of registration number and validation decal. 
 

* * * * * 
 

(b)  A set of two color-coded validation decals will be issued for display with each 
registration number.  The decal shall be displayed within 6 inches of the registration number 
and on a level with the number.  The decals shall be approximately 3 inches by 3 inches and 
color-coded to indicate the registration period.  Registration numbers and validation decals 
shall be displayed in the following manner:  PA 12 AM  or  PA 12 AM.  A validation 
decal may be displayed prior to [April] January 1 of the period for which it is issued. 
 

* * * * * 
 

Briefer:  
 Laurel L. Anders, Director, Bureau of Boating 
 
Action:   

A motion was made by Scott Ballantyne and seconded by Rocco Ali to recommend this 
amendment to the Commission.  The motion carried. 
 
 

B.  Amendments to 58 Pa. Code § 93.3 (Application for boat registration). 

Commentary: 

Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission (Commission) regulations indicate the required 
documentation to support an application for boat registration.  For boats previously 
registered, the Commission requires the last registered owner to sign the REV-336 
Application for Pennsylvania Boat Registration and/or Boat Title.  A bill of sale, signed by 
the last registered owner, may be substituted for the required signature on the REV-336.  The 
Commission finds that a certificate of registration (also known as a boat registration card), 
signed by the last registered owner, is also sufficient documentation of ownership and 
consent to transfer registration to the purchaser of the boat.  The addition of this 
documentation to Commission regulations is intended to simplify the boat registration 
process and provide better customer service.  

Staff propose the following change to § 93.3: 
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 § 93.3. Application for boat registration. 
 

* * * * * 
 
(c)  Previously registered boats. Application for a certificate of registration for a boat 
previously registered in this Commonwealth shall conform with the following: 

(1)  Form REV-336 shall be completed by the purchaser and seller and signed by the last 
registered owner. 

(2)  A bill of sale or certificate of registration, signed by the last registered owner, may be 
substituted for the required signature on REV-336. 

(3)  If the registered owner of a boat to be transferred is deceased, the personal representative 
(executor/administrator) of the decedent shall sign Form REV-336 for the deceased owner.  
The personal representative shall indicate his capacity with his signature and shall provide 
documentation—an original death certificate and letters testamentary, letters of 
administration, original short certificate, court order filed under small estates procedures or 
Form PFBC-R1—certifying his capacity to act on behalf of the decedent’s estate.  An 
original death certificate is not required if Form PFBC-R1 is signed by the attending 
physician or funeral director.  If the boat registration is to be transferred from joint 
ownership, when one of the joint owners is deceased, the other joint owner shall present the 
original death certificate to effect the transfer. 

(4)  When an applicant seeks to register a boat having an expired registration and the last 
registered owner has not signed the REV-336 or bill of sale because the applicant is not the 
seller of the boat, the Commission will, prior to processing the application for registration, 
notify the last registered owner at his last known address that the applicant is seeking to 
register the boat.  If the last registered owner claims an ownership interest in the boat and 
objects to the transfer of the registration to the applicant, the Commission will defer further 
processing until the parties resolve the ownership issues through established civil processes.  
If the last registered owner does not object to the transfer or fails to respond to the notice 
after 30 days, the Commission may process the request for registration if it is otherwise 
satisfied that the applicant is the true and lawful owner of the boat and entitled to registration. 
 

* * * * * 
 

Briefer:  
Laurel L. Anders, Director, Bureau of Boating 

Action:   
A motion was made by Rocco Ali and seconded by Scott Ballantyne to recommend this 
amendment to the Commission.  The motion carried. 
 

V. Adjourn 

A motion to adjourn was made by Scott Ballantyne and seconded by Steve Ketterer. The motion 
carried and the meeting was adjourned at 9:19 a.m. 
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