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Frequently Asked Questions for Producers in Pennsylvania Regarding 
Self-Service Storage Insurance: 

 

On October 24, 2018, Governor Wolf signed into law HB 504, which altered the self-service storage insurance 
market significantly. This bill created a number of new responsibilities for licensed producers, including new 
disclosures required for a sale and recordkeeping requirements; however, in addition to these added 
responsibilities for producers, the bill also significantly altered the requirements needed to sell self-service 
storage insurance. This law, known as Act 97, went into effect on December 24, 2018 and here’s what you need 
to know: 

1. Is there a new license that I will need to apply for once this law takes effect? 
a. Yes, under a limited lines license, this law created a new line of authority (“LOA”) known as 

“self-service storage.” Therefore, if you are attempting to become a licensed limited lines 
producer, in order to sell self-service storage insurance, you will need this specific license and 
LOA. 
 

2. Will there be the option to apply for a business entity license with this new LOA? 
a. No, there will be no business entity license with this LOA offered. This is because in 

Pennsylvania, if someone obtains a business entity license, they then have to designate an 
individual licensee (that individual would be required to obtain a limited lines producer license) 
to be responsible for an entity’s compliance with the insurance laws and regulations. In the 
instance of self-service storage, having these two licenses would be duplicative, because the 
individual license grants access to all of the new provisions contained in this legislation; 
therefore, obtaining the individual limited lines producer license is the only license needed to 
operate under this law.  
 

3. Are there new continuing education (CE) requirements that I need to take if I wish to obtain this 
license? 

a. No, the provisions in this law do not require any additional CE for producers obtaining a limited 
lines license with a self-service storage LOA.  
 

4. What is the cost of and renewal period for this license? 
a. This license costs the same as other limited lines licenses: $55 for residents and $110 for non-

residents.  
b. The renewal period for this license is also the same as other limited lines licenses: 2 years after 

you apply for the license (at the end of the producer’s birth month).  
 

5. Where can I access the resident application needed for this license? 
a. An online application process is available at www.sircon.com/pennsylvania or www.nipr.com.  

This online process is strongly recommended, but a limited lines insurance producer resident 
paper application is also available on our website which can be accessed by clicking here.   

https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/uconsCheck.cfm?yr=2018&sessInd=0&act=97
http://www.sircon.com/pennsylvania
http://www.nipr.com/
https://www.insurance.pa.gov/Regulations/Regulatory%20Actions/Documents/Producers/Producer%20Individual%20Web%20forms/Limited_Lines_Insurance_Producer_Application_Resident_Individual_CURRENT.pdf
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6. If I am a non-resident trying to operate in Pennsylvania, what do I need to know? 
a. If you have an individual limited lines license with a self-service storage LOA in your resident 

state, then you would be eligible to apply for a non-resident limited lines license in Pennsylvania 
under reciprocity. An online application process is available at www.sircon.com/pennsylvania or 
www.nipr.com.  If the individual is not licensed in their resident state, they will be able to apply 
for non-resident licensure via paper application only.  We currently accept the NAIC uniform 
application which can be obtained at www.nipr.com.  The application fee for non-residents is 
$110, payable to the Commonwealth of PA.  Since the individual is applying under non-
reciprocal provisions, they will be required to submit fingerprints. Ideally, the applicant should 
submit their fingerprints at an IdentoGO center in Pennsylvania using the following instructions: 
 
Register online via the IdentoGO website at https://uenroll.identogo.com or by telephone at 
844-321-2101 Monday through Friday, 8 A.M. to 6 P.M. EST. Following registration, the 
applicant will be provided with a registration number which they will take with them when they 
go to the IdentoGO site for fingerprinting. Applicants must be registered with IdentoGO prior to 
arriving at a fingerprinting site. When registering online an applicant must use the appropriate 
service code assigned to the Insurance Department, which is 1KG8Q3. Using the correct service 
code ensures the background check is processed for the correct agency and submitted for the 
correct purpose. 
 
If the applicant is located too far away to be fingerprinted at a Pennsylvania center, they can use 
the non-resident hard card process below: 
 
1. Obtain fingerprints on FBI (FD-258) fingerprint card (be sure that the ORI field is blank) and 
complete personal information fields on fingerprint card.  Be sure to write your SSN on the 
fingerprint card or your fingerprints will not be processed, and the packet will be 
returned.  Note: Any errors related to those fields that require a new fingerprint submission will 
require an additional paid pre-enrollment and new fingerprint card submission. 
2. Pre-enroll for cardscan submission at https://uenroll.identogo.com.  The service code specific 
to the Pennsylvania DOI is 1KG8Q3.  All processing fees will be collected during the pre-
enrollment process.  A pre-enrollment confirmation page will be provided once registration is 
complete.   
3. Print and sign the completed pre-enrollment confirmation page, which includes the barcode 
printed on the top right of the page.   
4. Mail the signed pre-enrollment confirmation page and the completed fingerprint card to:  
Identogo 
Cardscan Department 
6840 Carothers Pkwy Ste 650 
Franklin, TN 37067-9929 
 

7. Are there any additional pieces of information I will need to provide on my license application? 

http://www.sircon.com/pennsylvania
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.sircon.com/pennsylvania
http://www.nipr.com/
https://uenroll.identogo.com/
https://uenroll.identogo.com/


Updated: 2/25/2019 

3 
 

a. Yes, when applying for this license, as dictated by provisions in the law, you will need to specify 
all locations in Pennsylvania where you may conduct business under this license. 

b. You will also need to provide training, to be approved by the Insurance Commissioner, that will 
be used to train the authorized representatives selling under your license (for more information 
on the content of the training, please see Question #9). 

c. It is important to note that although you must provide all the locations operating under your 
license on the register, there does not need to be a licensed individual present at each location.  
 

8. What if there are changes to the locations operating under my license after the initial register has 
been submitted through the application process? 

a. If there are locations that commence business under the self-service storage producer’s license 
or cease doing business under the license after the initial register has been submitted by the 
licensee, then the producer must notify the department within 30 days after these locations 
begin or cease doing business in the Commonwealth.  

b. This notification will take place through the submission of a form to the department. That form 
can be accessed by clicking here. Additionally, there will be a $25 fee incurred for each form 
submission.  
 

9. What must the content of the training, submitted with the application, encompass? 
a.  The training, which will be used for authorized representatives, must include the following: 

i. General information about homeowners, renters, business and similar insurance that an 
occupant may have that may provide coverage for property stored at a self-service 
storage facility. 

ii. Information about the material terms of insurance coverage offered to occupants, 
including the prices, benefits, deductibles, exclusions and conditions of the insurance.  

iii. The disclosures required under the provisions of this law (see Question #10 for more 
information).  
 

10. What are the disclosures required under this law? 
a. Before a producer or authorized representative can offer or sell insurance under this law, the 

producer must make readily available to prospective occupants a brochure or other written 
material that: 

i. Summarizes the material terms of insurance coverage offered to occupants, including 
the identity of the insurer, price, benefits, deductibles, exclusions and conditions. 

ii. Discloses that the policies offered by the self-service storage producer may provide a 
duplication of coverage already provided by an occupant’s homeowner’s insurance 
policy, renter’s insurance policy, vehicle insurance policy, watercraft insurance policy or 
other source of property insurance coverage. This disclosure must by prominently 
displayed in the brochure or other written materials with at least 12-point bold type 
font. 

iii. States that the insurance prescribed in this section is primary coverage over any other 
coverage covering the same loss.  

https://www.insurance.pa.gov/Regulations/Regulatory%20Actions/Documents/Producers/Producer%20Individual%20Web%20forms/Add_or_Remove_Self-Service_Storage_Location.pdf


Updated: 2/25/2019 

4 
 

iv. States that if insurance is required as a condition of rental, the requirement may be 
satisfied by the occupant purchasing the insurance prescribed in this section or by 
presenting evidence of other applicable insurance coverage.  

v. States that the purchase of the insurance prescribed in this section is not required in 
order to rent storage space. The statement shall be prominently displayed in the 
brochure or other written materials with at least 12-point bold type font. 

vi. Describes the process for filing a claim. 
vii. Includes contact information for filing a complaint with the Insurance Commissioner. 

b. The producer must also state all costs related to the insurance in writing. 
c. The producer must also provide to every occupant who purchases coverage, evidence of 

coverage in a form approved by the insurer. 
d. The producer must also ensure that the insurance is provided by an insurer authorized to 

transact the applicable kinds of insurance in Pennsylvania, or by a surplus lines insurer.  
 

11. If I apply for this license with the self-service storage LOA, what new abilities do I have under the law?  
a. This license will allow for the selling of insurance offered in connection with and incidental to 

the rental of space at a self-storage facility. This insurance covers damage to personal property 
that occurs at the facility or while the personal property is in transit during the rental 
agreement.  

b. Furthermore, under the provisions of this law, obtaining this license will allow authorized 
representatives to sell self-service storage insurance under the authority of the producer’s 
license at various locations in the Commonwealth.   
 

12. If I already have an insurance producer license with property and casualty LOA, am I able to have 
multiple locations and authorized representatives sell under my license’s authority? 

a. With a producer license with property and casualty LOA, you will be able to continue to sell self-
service storage insurance under the authority of your license; however, with a producer license 
and P&C LOA, you will not be able to have multiple locations and authorized representatives sell 
self-storage insurance under your license. If you want to be able to operate under the structure 
of this law, with one license allowing for selling at multiple locations and with unlicensed 
individuals, you will need the limited lines license with self-service storage LOA.  
 

13. Who are authorized representatives? 
a. Authorized representatives, as outlined in this law, are employees of a self-service storage 

producer who may act on behalf of and under the supervision of the self-service storage 
producer in matters relating to the conduct of business under the license that is issued under 
this law.  

b. Under the provisions of this law, authorized representatives can offer or sell insurance in 
connection with and incidental to the rental of space at a self-storage facility.  
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14. What are authorized representatives not allowed to do under the provisions of this law? 
a. Authorized representatives are not allowed to offer or sell any other form of insurance, other 

than self-service storage insurance.  
b. Authorized representatives are also not allowed to advertise, represent, or otherwise portray 

themselves to be licensed insurers or insurance producers.  
 

15. As the licensed producer, what responsibilities do I have regarding the authorized representatives 
operating underneath my license? 

a. The licensed producer must maintain a register, on an approved form found here, of each 
employee or authorized representative of the self-service storage producer who offers the 
insurance prescribed in this law. This register must be made available to the Pennsylvania 
Insurance Department upon request.  

b. The licensed producer must also provide a training program, approved by the Commissioner, 
that gives employees and authorized representatives of the self-service storage producer basic 
instruction about the provisions of this section (a more detailed explanation of the training 
requirements can be found in Question #9). 

c. It is important to note that because the authorized representative is acting on behalf of the 
licensed producer, the department is statutorily allowed to hold the licensee responsible for the 
authorized representatives’ actions.  
 

16. Throughout the law, “owner” is mentioned with regard to the person getting the license, is there 
more clarity that can be provided on the definition of “owner” within the context of this law? 

a. For purposes of this law, “owner” is defined the same as in the Self-Service Storage Facility Act 
of 1982, which is, “the owner, operator, lessor or sublessor of a self-service storage facility, his 
agent or any person authorized by him to manage the facility or to receive rent from an 
occupant under a rental agreement or any of his employees.” 

b. This means that the actual owner of the property does not need to be the licensee, the “owner” 
can be anyone who the licensee delegates. 

 

 

https://www.insurance.pa.gov/Documents/Self-Service_Storage_Authorized_Representative_Form_Fillable.pdf

