PENNSYLVANIA

STATE

PA State Fire Academy
PSFA LOCAL LEVEL INSTRUCTOR
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

For Application Period October 1 — December 15, 2024

INSTRUCTIONS:

Thank you for expressing an interest in becoming a Pennsylvania Fire Service Local-

Level Instructor. Please refer to the document entitled Pennsylvania State Fire

Academy Instructor Policy . This policy sets the requirementsto become a

local-level instructor, details the instructor classification and credential

maintenance requirements, and defines the instructor Code of Professionalism.

Carefully follow all instructions and complete the application in its entirety. All
requirements for the level you are applying MUST be completed PRIOR to making

application.

Applications will only be accepted electronically through the
ACADIS system with the PSFA. Only permitted 1 application per year.
If rejected, you can re-apply during the next Instructor Application
Period which opens annually in October.
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Application Process

1.  All applications to become a PSFA Local Level Instructor will be made within the
ACADIS system.

2. ALL uploaded documents shall be in PDF format or it will not be accepted.

3. All prerequisites required by this directive must be fully completed and
uploaded before final submission.

4. All submitted applications must be 100% complete with all documentation
attached or the application will be rejected. An application may NOT be edited

once submitted.

5. Applications will ONLY be accepted from October 1 to December 15 of each

year.

6. The application review process will be completed by February 15, 2025, a
TEAMS meeting, and individual interview will be scheduled for approved

applicants.

7. A policy acknowledgement and Code of conduct signed and returned
(Electronically) will be collected via a webform after interview. This must be

completed before further processing will occur.

8. Applicants dissatisfied with their application determination may appeal to the Fire
Academy Administrator. Any such appeal shall be received in writing at the PSFA
within 30 days of the date of their notification of disposition. The appeal shall

detail the reasons for the appeal.
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Mandatory information:

You MUST have an active ACADIS account with the PSFA.

https://psfa.acadisonline.com/

(Please review your account information for accuracy.)
You must have a FEMA student identification number which must be acquired
prior to requesting an Acadis Portal Account

https://cdp.dhs.gov/femasid/
You must be 26 years old by October 1 of the application year.

You must upload a valid/active government issued ID Card (ie, driver license,

passport, ID card).
You must upload your proof of education. (G.E.D., High school or higher diploma)

You must upload your Completion certificate of an acceptable Educational
Methodology:

PA State Fire Academy Course Educational Methodology for Local Level
Instructors (EMLL).(Only in person delivery accepted currently)

PA Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Instructor Trainer Course
(30 hours — Sir Stanford Fleming College).

National Fire Academy Resident Course R — 114 Fire Service Course Design or
its predecessor Fire Service Instructional Methodology.

A formal post-secondary collegiate-level course in adult education
methodology awarding at least 1 college credit.

A formal course of instruction in adult educational methodology and instructing
adults of at least 30 hours duration conducted by another state’s fire training
system, the military services, state/federal agency, or other organization (i.e.,
PSP Instructor Development, DOC TST,MOPETC-General Instructor, WMD
Instructor Training-COBRA)

OR


https://psfa.acadisonline.com/
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Certification course certificate (not challenge examination or virtual delivery) as
a Fire Instructor | & Il by an entity accredited by the National Board on Fire
Service Professional Qualifications (NBFSPQ) or the International Fire Service
Accreditation Congress (IFSAC).

OR

Certification as public-school teacher by the Pennsylvania Department of
Education; secondary or post-secondary certification preferred.

OR

Certification as an Instructor by the Pennsylvania Department of Health.

e Prepare/upload a resume which indicates ALL fire, rescue, and/or emergency
medical training you have completed. Include military and college level training
accomplished during your time as an emergency service responder.

e List two references the State Fire Academy can expect to speak on your behalf,
one must be a current PSFA Local Level Instructor in good active standing, and
the second must be associated with emergency services having an Acadis portal
account.

All applicants must upload a Criminal Record Check and Child Abuse
History Clearance dated within 1 year of application receipt.

e Criminal History Check —

Use the following site to obtain criminal history check:

1) Web site: https://epatch.state.pa.us/



https://epatch.state.pa.us/

PENNSYLVANIA

FIRE ACADEMY

e PA Child Abuse History Clearance -

Call 1-877-343-0494 to request form and instructions

OR

go to: https://www.compass.state.pa.us/CWIS/Public/Home

For “Purpose of Clearance” check the “INDIVIDUAL” box.

Acceptance Flow Process:

Applicant is accredited as a Local Level Instructor in a Mentoring Status, either
suppression or non-suppression. (Assigned ISET class)

Applicant is allowed to submit no more than two “Course Upgrade Request”
webforms located on the Academy Resources webpage. Awarded levels will be
done so with a mentoring status. (Except Suppression)

If upgrades are reviewed and have the required prerequisite documentation the
upgrades are approved in a Mentoring Status

Initial Mentoring is completed, and the Local Level Status is changed to Active,
and the course Mentored is changed to Active.

Applicant may submit for another upgrade (Max of 2 courses in a
Mentoring Status, exception is initial ZFID class completion assignment)

An incomplete application will not be processed. All
requirements for the level of instructor you are applying must
be met PRIOR to making application.
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