
Revenue Source Delaware Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Ohio Pennsylvania Virginia

Gas Tax  
(per gallon)

23¢ 36.49¢ 26.9¢ 37.2¢ 38.5¢ 57.6¢ 21.2¢

Diesel Tax (per gallon) 22¢ 37.24¢ 37.94¢ 39.3¢ 47¢ 74.1¢ 20.2¢

Driver’s License Fee (per year) $40 $6 $15 $9–$12.50 $6.13 $7.63 $4.00

Photo ID Fee (per year) $5 $0.20–$4.80 $5 $2.50 $2.50 $7.87 $2

Vehicle Registration Fee (per year) $40 $67.50–$93.50 $30 X $31.00 $38 $30.75–$35.75

Sales Tax X X X X X
Only under Act 44, 

with restrictions ✓
Alternative Fuel Taxes X X X ✓ X ✓ X

Aviation Fuel Tax X X X X X ✓ ✓
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax X ✓ X ✓ X X ✓
Corporate Income Tax Share X ✓ X X X X X

Grants – Capital X ✓ ✓ X X X* ✓
Grants – Operating X ✓ ✓ X X X* ✓
Investment Income ✓ ✓ ✓ X X ✓ ✓

Other States' Transportation Funding Choices
Compared to Pennsylvania, other states pay for transportation using a greater range of revenue sources and in some cases, higher fees. 
The table compares some of the revenue sources other states use that may be areas of opportunity for Pennsylvania.

updated 4/5/2021*PennDOT does not receive General Fund capital or operating grants from state sources.


