# MINUTES STATE BOARD OF HIGHER EDUCATION Regular Meeting October 31, 2024

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting of the State Board of Higher Education (Board) was convened both in-person at 607 South Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17120, and virtually via MS Teams on Thursday, October 31, 2024. Public notice of the meeting was made in accordance with the Sunshine Act. The meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Dr. Cynthia Shapira, Chair.

#### II. ROLL CALL

Ms. Alaina Koltash, Deputy General Counsel, Governor's Office of General Counsel, performed the roll call. A quorum of members was present as follows:

Dr. Brenda Allen
Dr. Ann Bieber
Dr. Cynthia Shapira
Hon. Jay Costa
Ms. Andrea Shirk
Mr. Sean Eden
Dr. Michael Wade Smith
Dr. Dick Englert
Hon. Wayne Langerholc
Dr. Kara Laskowski
Hon. Peter Schweyer
Dr. Cynthia Shapira
Ms. Andrea Shirk
Dr. Michael Wade Smith
Hon. Jesse Topper
Hon. Nancy Walker
Mr. Michael Warfel

Mr. Kenneth LongMr. Kevin WashoDr. Cheryl McConnellMs. Skyler WrubleskiHon. Dr. Khalid MuminMs. Bobbi Jo Zapor

## **III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Hon. Pedro Rivera

A motion to approve the minutes of the September 26, 2024, meeting was made by Mr. Michael Warfel and seconded by the Hon. Jay Costa.

**VOTE**: All were in favor as indicated by unanimous voice vote.

### **IV. PUBLIC COMMENT**

The following individuals made public comments:

Deborah Cragle, Misericordia University, and Joanne Sullivan, Bryn Mawr College, spoke on Act 69 of 2024's amendment to Article XX-H of the Public School Code of 1949 regarding financial aid transparency and accountability.

#### V. REMARKS BY THE CHAIR

Dr. Shapira reported that since the September meeting, the Board has received training from the Board's Counsel and stated that the Board would meet frequently over the year in order to meet specific deadlines as outlined in Act 69 of 2024.

## **VI. UPDATE ON COMMITTEES**

Dr. Shapira reported that the four committees introduced at the September meeting have been seated and will begin their work. They are as follows:

# **Bylaws**

Chair: Mr. Kevin Washo

Members: Hon. Jay Costa, Hon. Wayne Langerholc, Hon. Peter Schweyer, Dr. Michael Wade Smith,

and Ms. Skyler Wrubleski. Ex Officio: Dr. Cynthia Shapira

# **Transition of Authority**

Chair: Dr. Ann Bieber

Members: Dr. Brenda Allen, Mr. Sean Eden, Hon. Dr. Khalid Mumin

Ex Officio: Dr. Cynthia Shapira

# Strategic Planning

Chair: Dr. Cynthia Shapira

Members: Dr. Richard Englert, Dr. Lara Laskowski, Hon. Pedro Rivera, Ms. Andrea Shirk, Hon.

Nancy Walker, and Ms. Bobbi Jo Zapor.

## **Postsecondary Data**

Chair: Mr. Kenneth Long

Members: Dr. Cheryl McConnell, Hon. Dr. Khalid Mumin, and Mr. Michael Warfel.

Ex Officio: Dr. Cynthia Shapira

Dr. Shapira added that the committees are tasked with developing recommendations for the Board's consideration. Once the bylaws have been approved, the current (and any additional) committees may be formalized.

#### VII. APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

A motion was made by Dr. Michael Wade Smith and seconded by Hon. Jay Costa to nominate Dr. Kate Shaw, Deputy Secretary and Commissioner of Higher Education, as the Board's executive director.

**VOTE**: The nomination passed with twenty board members indicating approval. Hon. Wayne Langerholc opposed.

The appointment of Dr. Shaw as executive director is effective immediately.

## **VIII. CLOSING REMARKS**

Dr. Shapira noted the Board met in Executive Session earlier in the day to discuss a personnel issue. Secretary Mumin confirmed that Dr. Shaw would no longer serve as his designee on Commonwealth boards.

Dr. Shapira asked that each Board committee meet and begin its work prior to the next Board meeting. She noted that PDE and the Executive Director will support the work of each committee as requested.

Dr. Shapira stated that the next meeting of the Board will be on Thursday, December 19<sup>th</sup>, at 1 pm. Mr. Warfel noted that the tentative full board meeting schedule through July 2025 was provided to the Board. Dr. Shapira indicated that the schedule would be posted for the public and that most meetings would include a remote and in-person option.

# **IX. ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 1:37 p.m.

**NEXT MEETING: December 19, 2024.**