# MINUTES STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION

# 333 Market Street | 1st Floor Harrisburg, PA 17126

### March 16, 2022

The Council of Higher Education convened a joint working session with the Master Plan for Higher Education Advisory Committee. Public notice of the meeting was made in accordance with the Sunshine Meeting Act of 1986. The meeting was called to order by State Board of Education Chair Karen Farmer White at 8:40 a.m.

# **Attending:**

James Agras Reva Gandhi Eva Rankin

Carol Aichele Pamela Gunter Smith Karen Farmer White

Jamie Bracey-Green Sarah Jordan Lee Williams

Sandra Dungee Glenn Taiba Sultana Hon. Lindsey Williams

## Master Plan for Higher Education Advisory Committee

Dr. Brenda Allen Elizabeth McCloud Dr. Pedro Rivera Dr. Patrick Gallagher Sheila Ireland Dr. Donna Wilson

Dr. Tanya I. Garcia Aaron Schenk

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

The minutes of the January 13, 2022, meeting of the Council of Higher Education were approved on a **Hon. Lindsey Williams/Bracey-Green** motion.

# MASTER PLAN FOR HIGHER EDUCATION JOINT WORKING SESSION

The new Master Plan for Higher Education will be organized around five strategic priorities, and the March 16, 2022, joint working session of the Council and the Advisory Committee focused on *Strategic Priority 3: Increase College Affordability for All Pennsylvanians*. Dr. Tanya I. Garcia, Deputy Secretary and Commissioner for Postsecondary and Higher Education, kicked off the joint working session with a presentation that addressed the need for increasing college affordability and included information on the composition of today's postsecondary students, the percent of family income needed to attend college full-time, student debt in Pennsylvania, and other relevant data points.

The Council and the Advisory Committee also heard three panel discussion reflecting on increasing college affordability. The first panel was comprised of representatives of Pennsylvania institutions of higher education and included perspectives from the following panelists: Dr. Sydney Beeler, Vice President of Enrollment Management, Westmoreland County Community College; Sherman McLeod, President, Philadelphia Technician Training Institute;

Dr. Timothy Schlak, Associate Provost for Academic Alliances, Robert Morris University; and Dr. Aaron Walton, President, Cheyney University of Pennsylvania. The panel was moderated by Kaitlin Mulhere, Higher Education Editor, Money.com.

The second panel included national experts and peers from other states. Panelists included Justin Draeger, President and CEO, National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators; Sameer Gadkaraee, President and CEO, The Institute for College Access and Success; Dr. Kimberly McCurdy, Bureau Director, Postsecondary and Adult Education, Pennsylvania Department of Education; and Dr. Angel Perez, President and CEO, National Association for College Admission Counseling. The second panel was moderated by Dr. Carlo Salerno, Vice President for Research, CampusLogic.

Following the second panel, the Council and the Advisory Committee heard remarks from Dr. Amy Ellen Duke-Benfield, Senior Director for Policy and Advocacy, The Hope Center for College, Community, and Justice.

Finally, a third panel of Pennsylvania postsecondary students was comprised of Christina Hasaan of Temple University, Logan Goblesky of Westmoreland County Community College and Christopher Ciccarella of Robert Morris University. The panel was moderated by Hadass Sheffer, Special Consultant to the Deputy Secretary and Commissioner for Postsecondary and Higher Education, Pennsylvania Department of Education.

# <u>DISCUSSION ITEM</u> MASTER PLAN FOR HIGHER EDUCATION

Following the close of panel discussions, Council and Advisory Committee members engaged in reflection and open discussion on increasing college affordability for all Pennsylvanians.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There were no public comments.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

There were no announcements.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further items of business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:12 p.m. on a **Gunter-Smith/Dungee Glenn** motion.

Karen Molchanow

Kan Wolltanon

**Executive Director**